We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday in Brisbane”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Albert Hotel
Ranked #15 of 158 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great holiday in Brisbane”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The apartment we had was out of the ordinary. Huge living space with plenty of room to relax just like been at home. I will stay there again without a doubt. The people at the reception was most helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gangadharan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Gangadharan
I am delighted to hear that your apartment was extraordinary and that our staff were most helpful!
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    210
    37
    11
    6
See reviews for
145
211
41
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

excellent service at the royal albert hotel fittness centre not to good on my perspective but over all 9/10 the rooms were preety clean just a few specks here and there food service is awesome i got it 24/7 the staff there was soooooo polite cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharney d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Sharney
Thank you for your kind review. I will pass on your comments regarding our service and staff.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I would highly recommend the Royal Albert Hotel to anyone looking for a weekend away or work trip to Brisbane. The location was great and the restaurant downstairs was delicious for breakfast or dinner and we had fantastic service. The room was lovely, comfortable, and enormous - most unlike many inner city hotels. Thank you Royal Albert, we will be back again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor and cannot recall hearing any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Sarah
Thank you for your great review. I am pleased you enjoyed your weekend away in our “lovely, comfortable and enormous rooms.” I hope you will be able to have many more weekends away.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Staff are always welcoming and our rooms a standard that we've come to expect from this Brisbane Boutique Hotel. Close to best eating places not to mention Cafe Mondial at our doorstep, shopping in the CBD our stay is always relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BundyYouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Bundy Youth
Thank you for your succinct comments about our service, location and facilities!
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Royal Albert for three nights on a "spur of the moment" decision to have a weekend in Brisbane.

Booking was done online and after reading various reviews of Brisbane Hotels on Tripadvisor. Having never stayed at the Royal Albert previously I did rely on the ratings and reviews on Tripadvisor a lot.

The hotel well and truly exceeded all our expectations. My wife arrived early and was allowed access to the room from 10am which was really appreciated as she had flown overnight.
The room was huge, well appointed, quiet and clean. The hotel is a lovely old building and obviously a lot of thought has gone into the decor and fittings throughout. It just feels good.

Of course what really makes the hotel is it's location. We just wanted somewhere central in Brisbane and I do not believe that there is any hotel more central than here. Across the road and you are at the Myer shopping centre and the Queen Street mall. There are hundreds of restaurants, coffee shops and the like within a 5 or so minute walk. As another reviewer mentioned it is so convenient to drop bags of shopping back before you go shopping again!

In summary, a great hotel in a great location and on the booking that I had great value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrAustralasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Mr Australasia!
We are honoured to receive many positive reviews but I am overwhelmed by the quality and thoughtful comments from you particularly as you are such a seasoned traveller and reviewer!
Yes a lot of thought has gone into the décor and fittings throughout and I have to say this is never ending! Bathrooms are next.
At just 120 paces from the epicentre, our location is ideal.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I love staying at the Royal Albert for so many reasons. From the moment you walk through the entrance way it feels like you are in a special place in time. Everything is classy, old world and indulgent! I have been lucky enough to stay in one of the sub penthouses on numerous occasions and have lapped up they luxury. Literally across the road from the Myer Centre, you are in the middle of town - surrounded by shops and cafes, making it the perfect weekend getaway for the girls. Also, the perfect 'home base' for family trips as the river, botanic gardens and Roma St parklands are an easy walk away. I have also stayed in the suites for work purposes, and again found the location so convenient. I personally haven't found a nicer, more well-appointed place to hang out when in Brissy.

Room Tip: Go for the sub penthouse (Room 804) - gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Lissa
Thank you for such a well written review.
As we just celebrated our Centenary in 2013, it is important to keep our heritage style albeit with modern amenities and furnishings. With our foyer and lifts we have tried to go for a classic New York style.
A number of our Sub-penthouse apartments attract followings and I see that Apartment 804’s is growing.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for a girls weekend. It's a fabulous location. Everything on your doorstep. Very close to Queen street mall so you can drop off your bags if you do go on a shopping spree!
We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment and it was so spacious with a luxurious big lounge and dining table and fully equipped kitchen. I could live there!
Reception staff always accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble.
Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Amanda
Thank you for your great review.
With our location, girls and shopping and Royal Albert go hand in hand!
Being across the road from the mall can only mean one thing – less time walking and more time shopping!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.1 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 158 in Brisbane
2,281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#12 of 158 in Brisbane
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 158 in Brisbane
2,228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#19 of 158 in Brisbane
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albert Hotel

Property: Royal Albert Hotel
Address: 167 Albert St | (cnr Elizabeth St), Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#12 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#15 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#16 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the double doors of Royal Albert sweep open, you realise this is no ordinary hotel. Gone is the hustle and bustle of city life. Gone are the fumes and noise of city traffic. Inside there is tranquillity. Inside there is space and old world charm. Inside there is a friendly greeting. Royal Albert Hotel - the heart and soul of Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albert Brisbane
Hotel Royal Albert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing