We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location for exploring Brisbane”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Albert Hotel
Ranked #15 of 158 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ideal location for exploring Brisbane”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a 4 night stay at the Royal Albert in late July. The Royal Albert is within easy walking distance of South Bank and Eagle Street Pier. Room was quiet even though we were near the lift. Room was spacious and comfortable. Key card was for our own floor only and when returning after 8pm was required to get into reception so we felt very safe. Car parking was, compared to other hotels in central Brisbane, reasonably priced. Small complaint is that we would have liked the option of a king sized bed. Would definitely recommend and would stay there again when next in Brisbane.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    210
    37
    11
    6
See reviews for
145
211
41
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

First time at the Royal Albert Hotel and very pleased we booked here. A huge room (60sq m) which was more like a unit with a seating area, a small kitchen and even a laundry. The location was superb just a few metres from city shopping and restaurants but the room was still very quiet. The Mondial restaurant is attached to the hotel and its outdoor dining area was quite Parisienne in nature with good food reasonably priced. A short walk away is the Brisbane Riverside complex with ferry connections and a great range of restaurants many with superb views. We love Brisbane as a week-end location, very much underrated and every bit as good as other capital cities. Congratulations Royal Albert on a great set up.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grovsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have stayed here once before as an overnight stay traveling south and were quite happy with the Deluxe room. This time, we needed a place to stay in Brisbane for 5 days that was central to everything, comfortable, and with self catering and car parking available. We decided to choose this hotel again as it had what we were looking for and was ideally located in the heart of the CBD.
This hotel has a long history, celebrating its centenary last year. It has much of the charm of yesteryear and has the feel and comfort of home. It may be old but kept reasonably well maintained.The service here is excellent with staff being attentive and friendly.
The one bedroom suite was well suited to our needs with separate bedroom, full kitchen, bathroom, lounge and dining area. Sound proofing was fairly good considering where the hotel is.
If you are chasing value for money, great location and home comforts then this is the place to stay. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenstownGroupy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A very central Hotel that has everything that you need. Well situated to restaurants, shopping and public transport. The laundry facilities are handy if you need them and the room size looks to be more then the average motel. It is lovely that they have kept the style of accommodation and not tried to modernise the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KurtB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed at the Royal Albert over the weekend on the recommendation of a friend who has stayed there several times.

My room - a deluxe - was enormous - the size of a studio apartment. Full laundry facilities, basic kitchenette and bathroom including a tub. My friend stayed in a one bedroom suite, also enormous and well appointed.

The Royal Albert is well located in Brisbane - right in the middle of the shops, close to the train line and about 10 minutes walk across the river to South Bank. A lovely old building, with all of the period features not only retained but enhanced.

My only criticism is that the rooms need a refresh - my room, like my friends, was spotlessly clean and well maintained but was quite dated and not to my personal taste. A bit of modernisation would turn the Royal Albert into a true "boutique hotel".

I will definitely stay there again if I visit Brisbane for a long stay, but perhaps for a short weekend away intended as a treat I would look for somewhere that looks & feels more modern & "boutique".

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank CePetitCochon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed for 5 nights for work in a one bedroom apartment. Apartments have two TVs with basic pay TV channels, kitchen (with full size fridge, stove and microwave) and laundry with washer / dryer.
Located right in the middle of town, secure and it has real character.
I recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Peter
Thank you for your great review. I am pleased you found our hotel in the middle of town to have real character.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed for one night, the hotel is Old World Elegance. The location is great, close to the Myer Centre and the Queen St Mall. The magazine's in the lobby on each floor are a great idea. Staff were friendly and excellent service. Would really recommend this hotel for someone who wants alittle difference and something with style.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Jill
As we celebrated our centenary last year we are proud of our Old Worlde Elegance albeit with modern amenities.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.1 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 158 in Brisbane
2,280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#12 of 158 in Brisbane
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 158 in Brisbane
2,228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#19 of 158 in Brisbane
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albert Hotel

Property: Royal Albert Hotel
Address: 167 Albert St | (cnr Elizabeth St), Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#12 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#15 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#16 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the double doors of Royal Albert sweep open, you realise this is no ordinary hotel. Gone is the hustle and bustle of city life. Gone are the fumes and noise of city traffic. Inside there is tranquillity. Inside there is space and old world charm. Inside there is a friendly greeting. Royal Albert Hotel - the heart and soul of Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albert Brisbane
Hotel Royal Albert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing