We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great !”
Review of Royal Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Albert Hotel
Ranked #8 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always Great !”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Been staying on and off here for a few year's and still can't complain, Great location, big rooms and comfortable bed and cheap parking rate.
Oh and the coffee shop out the front is very handy for that fix !

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Dear Duncan
Thank you for your great review, but more importantly your continued custom.
See you again soon.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    215
    40
    11
    6
See reviews for
155
221
42
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great Value here had 2 bedroom apartment on 7th floor and it was huge and beds very comfy.
Two gripes. One the parking arrived into what can only be described as an alley way next to hotel for "valet" parking sat in car in pouring rain wondering if we were even in the right place as no real obvious signage. Valet finally came out and told us we had to park elsewhere as we were driving a land cruiser and it was too heavy for their car park. so off we go around the block then back to hotel on foot in driving rain. Not hotels fault as they use car lifts I think to park cars but a nuisance none the less. Other complaint was the noise. I had read that after a refurb that you couldn't hear the noise outside, wrong,. It was Saturday night and we were in room 703 on seventh floor and we could hear traffic, sirens, party revellers all night long. Hardly got any sleep. Would come back but only if we could be assured of a quiet room. Location can not be beat right in the middle of the city opposite Myer Centre

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pakaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location. A block back back from the city mall. There are lots of restaurants and places to eat. We had a number of meals at the restaurant affiliated with the hotel and they were excellent.
The entrance to the hotel is not altogether obvious and quite small. The suite that we had was very tired. Chipped tap ware, grouting missing around bath, mould on exhaust fan in bathroom.
The remote control for the T.V. didn't work and the hair dryer glowed red in use!
However, the room was spacious and clean. The kitchen was well equipped and great to have ironing facilities.
The bed and pillows were very comfortable too.
There is no free Wi-Fi, which I was amazed at!
The room faced the street on level 4 and was very quiet as the windows were double glazed.
Taxi rank directly across the road was very handy.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Congrats to the staff of the Royal Albert. Reception staff are efficient and friendly. No corporate false smiles here or fake interest in your 'day'. Just pleasant conversation and good service. The room I had was a standard room, four steps from a short foyer into a drawing room type lounge with very high ceilings. Bed was very comfortable, all furniture in the room suits the period of the hotel. TV was annoying, had to go through every channel to get the one I wanted. There is a DVD player in the room. Bathroom is fine and clean, but very 1970's, next renovation please get rid of the shower over bath. But, on the plus side, I was stunned by the shower. Generation Y, if you want to know what a real shower used to be like before we went 'green', try the showers here. Mine was thunderous! Room service good. Room had a small laundry and 2 hotplates with fridge and mini bar. Café Mondial is on the ground floor of the hotel and is a great place to eat. Myer Centre with cinema complex is right across the road. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kramax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The entrance can be a little difficult to find, especially if you're driving, but once inside it's like a little haven amongst the madness of the city outside. Very comfortable and clean. In room breakfast was fantastic.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom suite which had a huge living space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townsville australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The location is fantastic being one block behind the city mall and an easy walking distance from Central Station if you were catch the train from the airport. There is a taxi rank across the road and a popular side walk café/restaurant downstairs. The rooms are spacious and self contained with kitchenette, washing machine and clothes dryer. There is no free Wi-Fi however you can use Starbucks for free across the road I have been a repeat customer for many years.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor are split level with four steps separating the bathroom and laundry from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss Vale, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great Hotel, big rooms perfect downtown location and very reasonably priced. Small kitchenette with cooktop and microwave, toaster etc, washing machine, dryer and Iron. Lounge suite dining table, great location and pretty quiet

Room Tip: Big Rooms with Kitchenette, laundry etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lyle1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.1 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#11 of 159 in Brisbane
2,920 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#14 of 159 in Brisbane
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#22 of 159 in Brisbane
2,368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#17 of 159 in Brisbane
401 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albert Hotel

Property: Royal Albert Hotel
Address: 167 Albert St | (cnr Elizabeth St), Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#10 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#12 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#16 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the double doors of Royal Albert sweep open, you realise this is no ordinary hotel. Gone is the hustle and bustle of city life. Gone are the fumes and noise of city traffic. Inside there is tranquillity. Inside there is space and old world charm. Inside there is a friendly greeting. Royal Albert Hotel - the heart and soul of Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albert Brisbane
Hotel Royal Albert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing