We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Albert Hotel
Ranked #10 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Service, room size & location were superb. We were very happy with the attention given to us upon arrival given the tight car parking. Rooms were very comfortable and closeness to Queen St mall is great.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CastellCoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Dear Castell
“Location Spaciousness Service”. That’s one of our marketing phrases right there!
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    208
    37
    10
    5
See reviews for
139
209
41
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

A work stay, went back because the last time a few years ago was good. Still the same; small, good quality, well presented, well staffed, and in a great location. Now the but. The wifi is available but extra and the cable TV is very limited. Didn't notice that the last time I was there but now I have my work smartphone, my personal smartphone, and the IPAD and used to just getting to the hotel, login the three devices in and getting on with whatever needs to be done not having to pay extra. And the limited TV gets old very quickly. Still, it is pleasant and if you don't mind paying extra for the wifi and don't watch TV it would be great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gonefishingx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Dear Gonefishing
Thank you for your return visit and review from a seasoned reviewer. We have 8 Foxtel channels including 2 movie channels. Whilst some hotels have a greater movie selection they are generally a pay per view system. Whilst there is a charge for wifi, we have complimentary newspapers, movies and fresh milk.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Been staying on and off here for a few year's and still can't complain, Great location, big rooms and comfortable bed and cheap parking rate.
Oh and the coffee shop out the front is very handy for that fix !

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Dear Duncan
Thank you for your great review, but more importantly your continued custom.
See you again soon.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great Value here had 2 bedroom apartment on 7th floor and it was huge and beds very comfy.
Two gripes. One the parking arrived into what can only be described as an alley way next to hotel for "valet" parking sat in car in pouring rain wondering if we were even in the right place as no real obvious signage. Valet finally came out and told us we had to park elsewhere as we were driving a land cruiser and it was too heavy for their car park. so off we go around the block then back to hotel on foot in driving rain. Not hotels fault as they use car lifts I think to park cars but a nuisance none the less. Other complaint was the noise. I had read that after a refurb that you couldn't hear the noise outside, wrong,. It was Saturday night and we were in room 703 on seventh floor and we could hear traffic, sirens, party revellers all night long. Hardly got any sleep. Would come back but only if we could be assured of a quiet room. Location can not be beat right in the middle of the city opposite Myer Centre

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pakaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location. A block back back from the city mall. There are lots of restaurants and places to eat. We had a number of meals at the restaurant affiliated with the hotel and they were excellent.
The entrance to the hotel is not altogether obvious and quite small. The suite that we had was very tired. Chipped tap ware, grouting missing around bath, mould on exhaust fan in bathroom.
The remote control for the T.V. didn't work and the hair dryer glowed red in use!
However, the room was spacious and clean. The kitchen was well equipped and great to have ironing facilities.
The bed and pillows were very comfortable too.
There is no free Wi-Fi, which I was amazed at!
The room faced the street on level 4 and was very quiet as the windows were double glazed.
Taxi rank directly across the road was very handy.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Congrats to the staff of the Royal Albert. Reception staff are efficient and friendly. No corporate false smiles here or fake interest in your 'day'. Just pleasant conversation and good service. The room I had was a standard room, four steps from a short foyer into a drawing room type lounge with very high ceilings. Bed was very comfortable, all furniture in the room suits the period of the hotel. TV was annoying, had to go through every channel to get the one I wanted. There is a DVD player in the room. Bathroom is fine and clean, but very 1970's, next renovation please get rid of the shower over bath. But, on the plus side, I was stunned by the shower. Generation Y, if you want to know what a real shower used to be like before we went 'green', try the showers here. Mine was thunderous! Room service good. Room had a small laundry and 2 hotplates with fridge and mini bar. Café Mondial is on the ground floor of the hotel and is a great place to eat. Myer Centre with cinema complex is right across the road. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kramax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The entrance can be a little difficult to find, especially if you're driving, but once inside it's like a little haven amongst the madness of the city outside. Very comfortable and clean. In room breakfast was fantastic.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom suite which had a huge living space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.2 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#17 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#13 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albert Hotel

Property: Royal Albert Hotel
Address: 167 Albert St | (cnr Elizabeth St), Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#10 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#12 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#16 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the double doors of Royal Albert sweep open, you realise this is no ordinary hotel. Gone is the hustle and bustle of city life. Gone are the fumes and noise of city traffic. Inside there is tranquillity. Inside there is space and old world charm. Inside there is a friendly greeting. Royal Albert Hotel - the heart and soul of Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Royal Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albert Brisbane
Hotel Royal Albert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing