We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Albert a hidden gem”
Review of Royal Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Albert Hotel
Ranked #8 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Royal Albert a hidden gem”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I discovered the Royal Albert via word-of-mouth. It is a lovel boutique hotel in a great location. The rooms are well appointed and a generous size, and definitely great value for money. Worth checking out for a weekend Brisbane getaway!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Dear Lauren
I am pleased you discovered our hidden gem and found our lovely boutique hotel to be great value for money.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    214
    38
    11
    6
See reviews for
151
220
42
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Witta, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I felt like I was in Downton Abbey. The rooms are huge and you have all the facilities required. Reception was very helpful. The location is excellent. I went to see a movie one night and it literally took me three minutes to get there. It is directly across the road from the Queen St Mall. I had use my car several times and the hotel was very easy to drive in and out of.

Room Tip: All rooms are large and quiet but some do have steps in them. You have to request a room without st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LouieLoua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Dear LouieLoua
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in “Downtown Abbey”. Being just 30 paces from the Myer Centre and 120 paces from the epicentre we are very central.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

stayed four nights , great location over road from Meyer centre , absolutely no noise even though right in the heart of the city//Beautiful old building , lovely and clean , couldn't have wished for better place in Brisbane , will stay again next visit for sure

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Dear Dennis
Thank you for your rave review about our boutique hotel in the heart of the city. As we just celebrated our Centenary in 2013, it is important to keep our heritage style albeit with modern amenities and furnishings.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mudgee, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Awesome location, had a wonderful stay, room is very spacious had a small kitchenette, it was very clean & quite. Beautiful hotel with Old World Charm. Enjoyed all the shopping as the Myer Centre is just across the road & Entertainment, museums & art galleries are within walking distance. Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Dear Marta
I am pleased you had a wonderful stay in our beautiful hotel with Old World Charm.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Loved our stay hear. We had a Queen Deluxe and the room was very spacious and included a sink, single hotplate, fridge etc. not that we made any food for ourselves. With all the choices that the city has to offer we weren't going to waste a chance to try a different place to eat for each meal. We had a breakfast at the hotel restaurant which was great. Furnishings are beautiful although there is no balcony, which didn't worry us at all as it was a wet weekend. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank NellSunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Dear Nell
It is good to see you experienced several of the local restaurants nearby and that you had a great weekend despite the wet weather!
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

What a fantastic Hotel to stay in Brisbane. 100yr old character Hotel in the best location for visiting all city tourist stops - dining on South bank; shopping; river ferry cruises. Plus the staff are so helpful. We will definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Dear Stephanie
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in our 100 year old character hotel. South bank is definitely worth a visit for restaurants, a show or just a stroll along the river as I did last night after seeing The Lion King.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

The staff are great. Very friendly and helpful. Rooms are great. Only complaint is car parking should be included in room price not an extra.if going to Brisbane I would highly recommend the royal Albert. Really convenient to Myer center and queen street mall. Short walk to call the clubs and casino.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Dear Shane
Thank you for your great review. It is always delightful to hear that our staff are friendly and helpful. At $22 per day for car parking we compare favourably to commercial car parks some of which are $20 for the first hour.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#13 of 159 in Brisbane
973 reviews
0.1 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#9 of 159 in Brisbane
2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 159 in Brisbane
2,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#16 of 159 in Brisbane
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#29 of 159 in Brisbane
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albert Hotel

Property: Royal Albert Hotel
Address: 167 Albert St | (cnr Elizabeth St), Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#10 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#12 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#16 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the double doors of Royal Albert sweep open, you realise this is no ordinary hotel. Gone is the hustle and bustle of city life. Gone are the fumes and noise of city traffic. Inside there is tranquillity. Inside there is space and old world charm. Inside there is a friendly greeting. Royal Albert Hotel - the heart and soul of Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albert Brisbane
Hotel Royal Albert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing