We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff so helpful - wonderful hotel”
Review of Royal Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Albert Hotel
Ranked #11 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2010

When you walk in it looks really dated, but the rooms are so big and well appointed and very charming. The Queen Street mall in 50 metres away, so shopping is right on your doorstep, as is the casino. There is a greek restaurant downstairs which has amazing food and very friendly, efficient staff. They do a great breakfast and wonderful dinner. Have stayed there three times and will be going back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanga147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2010

The service was good. Reception was very helpful. Rooms were clean and an good order. Location of the hotel is excellent, right in the middle of the City and a block from the Queen St Mall. We loved the old world decore. Parking was $18/night and the car was always ready to go when we needed it.


We did not notice until after we left we were charged for minibar we did not use. We were verbally told the cost of the bill which sounded OK, but not given a copy of the bill until after we had paid so we did not get a chance to look at it. The over charging was only a few dollars, but shows you you need to be careful.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnpalmer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

We stayed in a recently refurbished deluxe hotel room and for the price we got, the room and service was outstanding. The room had a "Gossip Girl/Upper East Side" feel through the high ceilings, mahogany furniture and mini staircase which made it seem a bit like an apartment loft. The furniture is very simple but still elegant and positioned nicely so that there was alot of space within the room. It is very central but still has that element of seclusiveness that makes it feel as if it is a tucked away residential building. Would definately stay there again for a nice couples weekend in the CBD.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ItsMazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

It was really nice – an place right downtown. Our room was large and had a kitchen area and also for the 1st time ever we had a washer and dryer in the room! Too bad we didn’t need it. We walked around. The hotel was in a section with pedestrian streets lined with shops and eateries. It was packed with nicely dressed young people. The only negative is the parking is difficut to find if you are not familiar with the interaction of one-way streets and pedestrian Mall blockage. But the location to the pedestrian area is worth the learning curve. Get directions before arriving

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

I liked this place so much I stayed there twice in 2 weeks. The rooms aren't really hotel rooms, more like apartments. I stayed in a studio room ( thanks to a previous review I knew which side of the building to ask for) & had a full kitchen minus an oven & HEAPS of room. Its so close to everything & the parking was the cheapest I could find at $22 a day e.g. the Hilton is $46 a day. I had medical appointments on Wickham Tce which was a $6 cab ride. would have cost me at least triple that to park my car up there. Everything you could want is literally right outside the front door.
Don't get me wrong, it's not the Four Seasons but furnishings are tasteful & all match - bedding, desk, lounge, coffee table, dining table & chairs. There are ipod docks. Really couldn't be happier with the price. for those who don't know of it, lastminute.com.au will give you the best price.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homeopathmichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

My wife and I had disagreement in our judgement about this hotel. The appartments were spacey and I liked them cause it still had some grandeur, with the high ceilings and the old hallways, allthough the rooms were stripped down to the bare essentials which gave them an empty atmosphere. My wife did not like that, I on the other hand did not mind it so much. We both agree that Brisbane was a delightful city and we both thoroughly enjoyed walking on the South Bank. I did not really like the fact that the reception closed up at 8pm and the staff could be more friendly, but all in all, I can recommend this hotel, at least the location could not be better.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willem_ter_Haar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

Funky little boutique apartment hotel. We actually stayed there in 2001, but the drop-down menu here only allowed as far back as 2006. Our suite had a private bedroom, full kitchen, living room, dining area and laundry room. Personal service to no end, and a funky little parking garage that worked like a gumball machine designed by Rube Goldberg - only the valets are allowed to park your car in the garage!

Stayed: March 2006, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Justady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.1 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#13 of 168 in Brisbane
3,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 168 in Brisbane
2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 168 in Brisbane
1,127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#17 of 168 in Brisbane
1,055 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albert Hotel

Address: 167 Albert St | (cnr Elizabeth St), Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#11 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#16 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £85 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the double doors of Royal Albert sweep open, you realise this is no ordinary hotel. Gone is the hustle and bustle of city life. Gone are the fumes and noise of city traffic. Inside there is tranquillity. Inside there is space and old world charm. Inside there is a friendly greeting. Royal Albert Hotel - the heart and soul of Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albert Brisbane
Hotel Royal Albert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing