We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot recommend this Hotel.......Terrible experience!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Albert Hotel
Ranked #15 of 158 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingen, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cannot recommend this Hotel.......Terrible experience!!!”
Reviewed 12 November 2010

It is disappointing to be in a position to write a poor review a hotel that is rated so highly on trip advisor.
I have travelled to many countries & stayed in many hotels but this is the first time I have been compelled to write a review to warn people of such a below average hotel.
Starting upon arrival the staff were not helpful, impolite & showed a lacklustre demeanour of staff that just did not want to be working at all.
The level of cleanliness was appalling form the entry to the elevators to the room itself. Even the cleaning staff commented that the place had inadequate management & service levels.
The icing on the cake was that we online booked the room for 2 nights only to be told when we arrived that we only had a reservation for one night even though the one night price we ended up paying for clearly was at the 2 night rate.
A good experience in a hotel for me is quite simple really, excellent professional service, cleanliness, location & walking away totally satisfied. Alas this hotel did not tick any of those criterias.
In summary ............stay elsewhere travellers there are so many better options.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shaolinkahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B0ndJamesB0nd, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2010
We are disappointed that this guest had an unpleasant experience at Royal Albert Hotel. We are interested in feedback (whether positive or negative) as long as it is honest.
We pride ourselves on our personable service and cleanliness. Whilst we are a heritage listed hotel, we have modern facilities and state of the art electronics having undertaken a refurbishment two years ago.
We sent an email which confirmed the details for this booking including the check-in and check-out dates for a 1 night stay. On Check-in we confirmed the check-out date as per our procedures. The next day the guest asked to extend and we advised that we had only a sub-penthouse available which we offered at a substantial discount, although still higher than their previous rate in a suite.
This guest then advised that they would write a bad review about this on Trip Advisor if we didn't extend their stay in the same room.
Our housekeeping staff work very hard, are loyal and have worked here a long time. We receive many favourable comments about our housekeeping standards and receive very few complaints.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    210
    37
    11
    6
See reviews for
145
211
41
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

This place is just beatiful
A real hidden gem.
While it is set right in the shopping district of Brisbane (Queen St Mall) behind closed doors this property offers a real haven.
We stayed in a suite & while our view wasn't the best our room was.
Very spacious with a fully equipped kitchen, lounge & dining area on the lower floor & our room, laundry & bathroom on the second we were very happy with our stay here & we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSCBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We are a family of 5, with 3 young children (ages 6, 4, and 1). I researched Brisbane extensively, wanting a 2 bedroom apt in the city. I finally chose Royal Albert based on the past reviews and it's location. Basically, it was okay, but that's all. Staff were friendly (thanks Ricky), but not overly welcoming. Excellent location, especially with 3 tired young kids, but the rooms are tired and the appliances are old. The room was clean, the carpets were in fact still damp from having been cleaned. Abit uncomfortable, but it dried out by the evening. The shower over bath was old and the sliding doors were not working properly. The kitchen was small but serviceable for a 2 night stay.

We stayed in an apartment on the 4th floor, one queen room, one single room (which had 1 single bed and the cot), and sofa bed in the lounge. The sofabed, like most sofabeds, was very uncomfortable, and even when we put the mattress on the floor and padded it with bedspreads, you could still feel the springs. My husband ended up sleeping on it, as he wanted to watch the rugby on a big screen (the tv in the master bedroom was small and high up on the wall). I believe that they would appeal more to families like mine if they put 2 single beds in the single bedroom (they would fit), and I will be suggesting that to them.

Again the location is unbeatable, right across from the Myer Centre, and even though we were there Fri-Sat, noise wasn't a problem. But I wouldn't stay here again as I would prefer somewhere more modern, and in a proper 2 bedroom apartment with proper beds for everyone. Also, I would be willing to walk a few more blocks for that luxury.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

The staff were really helpful and friendly, the prices were really good esp compared to Sydney, the rooms were beautiful, but just a couple small things like the bedroom remote not working and some dings in the walls kept it from being perfect, but not a big deal. We loved the location, near the botanical gardens...We loved everything.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

When you walk in it looks really dated, but the rooms are so big and well appointed and very charming. The Queen Street mall in 50 metres away, so shopping is right on your doorstep, as is the casino. There is a greek restaurant downstairs which has amazing food and very friendly, efficient staff. They do a great breakfast and wonderful dinner. Have stayed there three times and will be going back.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanga147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

The service was good. Reception was very helpful. Rooms were clean and an good order. Location of the hotel is excellent, right in the middle of the City and a block from the Queen St Mall. We loved the old world decore. Parking was $18/night and the car was always ready to go when we needed it.


We did not notice until after we left we were charged for minibar we did not use. We were verbally told the cost of the bill which sounded OK, but not given a copy of the bill until after we had paid so we did not get a chance to look at it. The over charging was only a few dollars, but shows you you need to be careful.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnpalmer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2009

We stayed in a recently refurbished deluxe hotel room and for the price we got, the room and service was outstanding. The room had a "Gossip Girl/Upper East Side" feel through the high ceilings, mahogany furniture and mini staircase which made it seem a bit like an apartment loft. The furniture is very simple but still elegant and positioned nicely so that there was alot of space within the room. It is very central but still has that element of seclusiveness that makes it feel as if it is a tucked away residential building. Would definately stay there again for a nice couples weekend in the CBD.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ItsMazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.1 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 158 in Brisbane
2,280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#12 of 158 in Brisbane
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 158 in Brisbane
2,227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#19 of 158 in Brisbane
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albert Hotel

Property: Royal Albert Hotel
Address: 167 Albert St | (cnr Elizabeth St), Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#12 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#15 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#16 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the double doors of Royal Albert sweep open, you realise this is no ordinary hotel. Gone is the hustle and bustle of city life. Gone are the fumes and noise of city traffic. Inside there is tranquillity. Inside there is space and old world charm. Inside there is a friendly greeting. Royal Albert Hotel - the heart and soul of Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albert Brisbane
Hotel Royal Albert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing