We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and service”
Review of Royal On The Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal On The Park
Ranked #30 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Our room overloookig the Botanical Gardens was clean and quiet, a bonus given the excellent central location of the hotel. All the satff were warm and friendly and were particularly helpful over organising the birthday cake for our father's 90th birthday. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Brisbane

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moffa34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location of the hotel excellent.

Our team work very hard to ensure that all our guests are comfortable and treated like they are at home. It is great for them to see feedback such as your.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Royal on the Park in the future.

Kind Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,120 - 1,126 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2011

I booked a mystery deal online for a twin room when I arrived we were upgraded for free. The room was really clean and beds were so comfortable. Only problem I had was the air conditioner wasn't working properly so it was a little bit warm when sleeping other then that the hotel was perfect I will defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Dear Guest

We thank you for taking your time to review us on TripAdvisor.

I will be sharing your comments about your room cleanliness with our Executive Housekeeper - our entire housekeeping team work very hard to ensure high standards of cleanliness and feedback from guests recognising this is always appreciated.

I do apologise for the problems you experienced with your air conditioning system and would be keen to learn your room number so that I can have the unit checked by our engineers. Please do not hesitate to contact myself or the hotel Assistant Manager 24 hours per day if you are able to provide these details

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

It would be nice to have a few more rewards for people who stay regularly. I know I would stay more often if I could afford it. For me staying at the Royal allows me to safely access city shopping and weekend markets. I much prefer to stay at the Royal over many of the city hotels I have tried.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I recently stayed at Royal on the Park for a conference. It has an excellent location, a short walk to food/shops (Queen St Mall). The food in the hotel is somewhat expensive but that can be expected.

The rooms are a little small, as is the bathroom but it's fine for 1 or 2 people for a short stay. The beds were extremely comfortable and sleep quality was great.

The only things I could fault the hotel on was the pre-authorisation of my credit card for the bill when checking in, but after querying this with the staff, they explained they they had placed a hold on the money and it shouldn't already have come out of my account. I was even showed the receipt that the money wasn't authorised to come out as yet. Also, be prepared to pay $20 a night for parking.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay for tourists (as the reception desk is 24 hours) and business people.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caseymelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I stayed at Royal on the park for a conference and loved it. The foyer is open 24 hours, (yes when you come back at 3am there are actual people standing at reception) which I think is fantastic customer service. The foyer is very nice as well.
The appartment we stayed at had two queen sized beds, they are super comfortable to sleep on, the pillows are good too. We didn't order the buffet breakfast which is $20 per morning, the food is a little expensive, but its a hotel and all food and room service is expensive.
I didn't have time to check out the pool, or any of the other facilities so unfortunately I can't really comment on that. The only bad thing for my weekend was that parking is $20 per night.
This is a relatively cheap place to stay and is a very nice place for that matter. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d_bell_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our Refreshed, Renewed and Refurbished hotel. We have received so many compliments regarding our new bedding, in particular the pillows – which is great to see because at the end of the day, a high quality bed is what all travelers crave.

With regards to your comment about our parking rates, most Brisbane CBD hotels do add a surcharge for parking – and recently upon completion of a survey of similar hotels we found ours to be the second cheapest in Brisbane.

I’m very happy to share your review with our team so they can be assured that their efforts in providing exception service do not go unnoticed.

Thank you once again for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Service from front of house, dining, room service and bar was good, polite and friendly. Room comfortable, beds a little soft (for me) and with enough pillows, cushions, bolsters and comforters to open a small shop. Drawback was the connecting door to the next room and the usual level of ambient noise from any hotel and city. Even though the connecting door was not able to be opened next door's conversation level came straight through (they were not loud nor did they go to bed late, I could just hear every thing they did). Easy walk to town, restraunts, parks, transport.

Best thing: service, Wost thing: noisy (to me - others may think it's fine and it's certainly not the noisiest place I've been)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcg64_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We are very happy to read about your enjoyments.

Please accept my apologies for any noise you experiences coming from the interconnecting doors. We always try to avoid using those rooms for non-families, however, given how popular our new product has been that’s not always possible. If you so wish, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly and I can update your guest profile to ensure in future you don’t receive an interconnecting room.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review us and we certainly do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Nick
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

This is my first time staying here and it has some distinctive old world charm. The front desk and room service are excellent and the food and wine was first rate. The bed was very comfortable and sumptuous, but I wish they had spent less on the leather desk chair that I type this review on and more on the tv.

The NEC 81cm tv is at least 5 years old and is poor quality for a hotel that just had a refurbishment. The channel selection was attrocious for a $155 per night hotel ( and this apparently is the discounted rate.) Also the room did have a certain mustiness to it, which may be just due to the age of the hotel, but it could do with some fresh air. Also the bathroom facilities were ordinary and the soaps and shampoo were what I expect at a 3 star motel.

Overall a good experience but the $20 charge for parking is a nasty sting and should be included in the room rate. I would say if you what a hotel a bit different and want great food, then check out this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fussyandhonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2011

Dear Guest

We thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your experiences with other travelers.

I will be certain to share your comments with our entire service staff – they absolutely love reading appreciative comments such as yours and it shows them that the effort they put into providing exception service doesn’t go unnoticed. I will also be sure to pass on your feedback regarding our bathrooms and amenities to our Executive Housekeeper for her review as well.

With regards to your TV, about 70% of the hotel was fitted with brand new larger flat screen TV’s during the recent refurbishment, however some of the older flat screen NEC models are still in the hotel – If you wish I’m more than happy for you to contact myself personally and I can ensure your guest profile is updated for your next stay to ensure you receive a room with a new TV. We have already started reviewing our current TV channel and movie system with the aim to being able to provide more variety for our guests.

Finally – it’s great to see that you noted our exceptional food. We are so proud of our multi-award winning Executive Chef and his team who create some unbelievable culinary delights in our eyes.

Thank you once again and if I can be of any further service please do not hesitate to contact myself directly.

Regards,
Nick
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 170 in Brisbane
2,519 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 170 in Brisbane
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#7 of 170 in Brisbane
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#18 of 170 in Brisbane
3,627 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#31 of 170 in Brisbane
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Address: 152 Alice St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#28 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £68 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane
Park Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing