We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal On The Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal On The Park
Ranked #27 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Great location efficient staff the best pillows I have ever slept on and not too bad on the pocket We had a room that had two queen beds and a lovely view of the botanical gardens and the event we came up for was walking distance in the Eagle Street precinct It was also just a few blocks to Queen Street mall. They have done a refurbishment and looks pretty good. The only down side is the noise I heard the chap next door clanging his utensils on his plate at breakfast and got to hear what television stations he liked but other than that it was pretty good. Would I stay there again probably

Room Tip: Get one with the veiw to the botanical gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate101_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear Guest

We thank you for taking the time to share you experiences with other likeminded travellers.

I am pleased to see that you found our location perfect and enjoyed our new refurbished rooms. We certainly are surprised about how much feedback we received regarding our new pillows – they certainly are the new ‘stars’ of the hotel!

Please accept our apologies for any noise you overheard from other guests. Whilst we do make regular patrols of all corridors and public areas it is not always to ensure all guests are mindful of others.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future

Regards
Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    454
    139
    30
    19
See reviews for
242
449
75
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Good size room with all normal features. Liked the slightly retro feel and the location is perfect. The bottom line is would I stay again and the answer is definitely

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank En0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking some of your buys time to provide us with your feedback.

We appreciate your kind comments and certainly look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Apart from really enjoying our stay at the Royal On The Park I would like to thank the staff who were so helpful to me when I became ill so to the staff THANK YOU VERY MUCH. To whoever reads this review I highly recomend the Royal On The Park Brisbane

Alex Brodie

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexbrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

I am very happy to read that our team were able to be of assistance when you were taken ill, and certainly do hope that you are feeling much better now

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you in the future

Regards
Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

The Royal is a good hotel in a good location. staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are fairly basic but comfortable.

Good buffet breakfast albeit a little expensive.

I have not used the pool facilities but the certainly look nice.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing us! We are happy to read that you enjoyed our hotel and that our team were friendly and accommodating.

I will share your comments regarding our breakfast buffet prices to our Executive Chef and Food and Beverage manager for their review. Whilst we try to always offer an extensive choice with premium ingredients, we welcome feedback regarding the pricing structures in the Walnut Restaurant.

Thank you for your stay with us.

Kind regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

What a great place to stay. My niece had her wedding at the cathedral. The Royal on the Park was so close to it so the position was perfect.
The wedding was great, the venue great, food great, accommodation great and brekkie the next morning was great. But above all, the staff excelled in any area of the Hotel from check in at Reception right through to checkout.
I couldn't recommend this place any higher.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a view over the Botanical Gardens - really nice. The other thing we all lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeAL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location perfect for your needs.

Our reception team all work very hard to exceed your expectations and I will take pleasure in being able to share your feedback with them in recognition of a job well done.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future

Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

Don't stay here until you can be guarantee you won't be woken by a jack hammer doing major road works at the front of the hotel. Weren't told about it, even though we specified a quiet room on the park for which we paid extra. And after requesting a late checkout. Offered $20 compensation for 'Free Parking!'

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geoffonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback.

Whilst we do apologise for the inconvenience to you, unfortunately we have no ability to control the works of Brisbane City Council on the intersection of Alice and Albert Streets that were conducted last weekend.

We have previously contacted BCC in regards to some other work being conducted behind the hotel to request changes of work time to respect our guests requirement for peaceful enjoyment, however we understand that work conducted on the streets of the city is usually scheduled during down time on the weekends, either early morning or late at night as to not interrupt the flow of traffic during mid week peak hour. This is the only downside of our central city location.

I will again today contact BCC and request that when this work is being performed that the hotel receives advance notice as to ensure we can advise guests.

If you do wish to discuss the matter further with me, please do not hesitate to contact myself personally on 07 3221 3411

Kind Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingaroy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

I have stayed at the Royal on the Park on a number of occasions and have always been impressed with the professionalism of the staff. On my most recent occasion I fell ill with a very bad migraine and needed additional help from the staff. I would like to commend the service and help I received from staff expecially Dan. Dan was extremely helpful finding me a doctor /doctors appointment/directions and helping me with a delayed checkout. This was very much appreciated by my husband and myself and it made the situation a little more bearable.
It is always a pleasure to stay at the Royal and I must also mention that I am always well looked after even if I am not ill. Thank you very much.

Room Tip: Every room at the Royal is the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingaroyKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Danh is one of our long serving team members here at Royal on the Park and is one of many stars within Front Office. The service he provides still amazes even us and I will be delighted to share your feedback with him and the rest of our team.

I have now also nominated him for our Employee recognition program - he will receive a ‘Moment of Truth’ award and will go into the running to become Royal on the Parks Employee of the Year 2011 (which he actually won last year as well! – so the rest of the team were quite envious of his holiday prize!!)

Thank you very much again and we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon

Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#14 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#21 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#12 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#23 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.4 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#17 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Property: Royal On The Park
Address: Corner Alice & Albert Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#27 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane
Park Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing