We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Royal on the Park Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal On The Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal On The Park
Ranked #26 of 158 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Royal on the Park Hotel”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Royal on the Park Hotel, Brisbane

We stayed overnight at the Royal on the Park so that we could attend a wedding nearby.
Reception was welcoming and helpful. Our baggage was collected from the car and delivered to our room.
The room was large with a great view over the park. All facilities that we could wish for were present including free WiFi. The bed was comfortable and spacious.
The hotel’s location near the centre of Brisbane is a plus with the Old Botanic Gardens opposite a relaxing area to walk.

We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel for a long or short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LapunMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear LapunMan
Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent stay. I was pleased to read how well the Front Office team looked after you during your stay to ensure a hassle free preparation before the wedding. The hotel and Botanic Gardens are provide elegant and subtle surroundings for a wedding and the team are eager to cater to any last minute request.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    453
    139
    30
    19
See reviews for
242
447
75
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel offers the same, if not more then other properties. It provides all guests with free wifi, cheaper parking then its competitors and a nice breakfast that is not overdone.

I recently stayed here and wasnt impressed when I drove in but from check in to checkout everything went smoothly. The was no real hidden costs (tray charges etc). The location was great as well, right across the street from the Botanical gardens and only around 5 minute walk to Queen Street.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Ralph H
I appreciate you taking the time to share your review after your recent visit. I was thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and the service provided by the team. Our location opposite the Botanic Gardens provides a great view to start your day but is convenient to the CBD and Southbank. Our wifi is free and very fast with no download limits which compliments our upgrade to the television system.
The façade of the building is quite different to most Brisbane hotels as the building is 44 years old. We have maintained the traditional appearance whilst adding modern technology to create a contemporary ambiance.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I had the choice to stay her or the Stamford nearby I choose the royal because I didn't want to stay at a larger hotel.

The royal is clean quiet comfortable and provides everything you need including free wifi

The breakfast buffet is tasty.

One thing I didn't like was the foyer but that can be forgiven as I wasn't spending any time there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dees99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear dees99
I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay. It was pleasing to read that you chose to stay with us over our competitors and I'm glad we did not disappoint. A great location, clean and comfortable rooms, efficient and friendly staff as well as incredibly fast complimentary wifi are all great reasons to return. When making your next reservation be sure to ask about Royal Rewards, Royal on the Park's loyalty program, giving you access to exclusive member only benefits.

Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INVERELL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

To be fair our stay was in late December 2012. We liked the hotel, it's in a great location and the room, whilst small, was adequate for our needs. We had a view over the park which was nice. If we could have opened the window instead of using the air conditioner, our stay would have been more comfortable. We ate at the restaurant for dinner on one night and breakfast for 4 mornings. All the food was fabulous, I loved the full, hot buffet selection for breakfast, best I have ever had. My wife's steak at dinner was the best she has ever eaten. The staff at the restaurant were very friendly and efficient. The front desk staff are another matter. They weren't friendly and when we were overcharged at checkout, they didn't apologise for their error. The concierge did not speak to us during our entire stay, or help us during check in or check out, which was very disappointing. Like we have said, our stay was a while ago now but we would never stay again because they didn't have digital television. This would have been ok if the Royal had full pay TV, but it didn't. From the recent reviews we have read, this is still the case. We were expecting digital television as the Royal advertised that they had flat screen televisions, which one would assume would display digital stations.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HonestCountryCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear HonestCountryCouple
Thank you for sharing your feedback, both positive and constructive. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed our convenient location as well as the food and service you received in the Walnut Restaurant. I apologise for the lack of service from the Front Office team, this is most out of character and can spoil an otherwise enjoyable stay.
Since your stay with us I'm glad to inform you that our television offering has been upgraded to include IPTV channels. We now have the full range of digital free to air channels as well as a selection of Foxtel channels. We also have a selection of channels sourced from international television stations and radio channels interstate as well as regional Queensland. Our menus in all our food and beverage outlets have been changed to reflect the changing seasons and use fresh, local ingredients.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I am not sure if I got a bad room, but I slept badly here. The airconditioning was so noisy I had to use earplugs, and of course none of the windows would open, the pillow was bad.
I found the rooms worn (although they claim to be refurbished).

I must say the burger I had from room service was outstanding.

The hotel is pretty well located, has views of the park.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear David S
Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent stay. I apologise that the noise from the air conditioning disturbed your sleep and the Maintenance team have inspected each room to ensure this problem is resolved. The hotel has been refurbished in the last 2 years and a refresh will be conducted next year to protect against wear and tear. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your in room dining meal and passed your compliments to the chef.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gin Gin, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I may be biased but we only stay at the Royal because we have never been let down. Great rooms, fantastic location and a pleasant restraurant. All this with great staff who are always pleasnt and go out of their way to be on assistance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Mike B
I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay. The team love to hear such positive feedback from repeat guests as we strive for new ways to impress you.
We have recently changed our menus to reflect seasonal ingredients and tastes, be sure to make a reservation during your next stay.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here for one night while awaiting an international flight the following day. The location of the hotel is perfect, it is right across the street from the park and a stones throw from the river. Just a short walk away are many restaurants that overlook the fabulous river. I utilized the gym at 3 AM (thanks to jet lag) and everything there seemed to work just fine. I didn't pay for an expensive room so we found ourselves on the second floor. It was surprisingly quite, we didn't hear any other guests or noise from the streets. The lobby was fine and the front desk staff were polite. I didn't have any problems with this hotel and would likely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Tracy C
I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful location opposite the Botanic Gardens. I'm glad that you were able to use the gym in the small hours of the morning to work off some jet lag.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#15 of 158 in Brisbane
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#22 of 158 in Brisbane
948 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#12 of 158 in Brisbane
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 158 in Brisbane
2,348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#19 of 158 in Brisbane
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 158 in Brisbane
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Property: Royal On The Park
Address: Corner Alice & Albert Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#26 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane
Park Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing