We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful hotel”
Review of Royal On The Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal On The Park
Ranked #32 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

The Royal is really well located if you want to explore around the centre of Brisbane. It's a short walk to Southbank or up to the Roma St Parklands and it's just across the road from the botanic gardens. The room we stayed in was on the 10th floor looking towards the city. Not much of a view (just buildings across the road). Bed was very comfy and the room is quite elegantly decorated. The bathroom is small but serviceable. You might have trouble using it if you have any mobility issues. It's a big step up into the bath/shower. The tv has access to local stations, some foxtel and satellite stations and a movie rental service ($15.95 a movie). Annoyingly though the tv has a USB port it's been set up to not allow you to play back anything from your own USB drive. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We didn't try the food/room service so can't comment on that.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chadwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Chadwyn
I appreciate you spending the time to share your feedback following your recent stay. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed our convenient location on the fringe of the CBD with a short walk to Southbank. The city view rooms do look onto other buildings as the name suggests but with enough space in between to be able to see a lot of Margaret Street and beyond.
Our television offering has recently been upgraded to include all free to air digital channels as well as content from around the world and I'm glad you found this to your liking. We are currently working on USB accessibility to allow guests to be able to use their own content.
Kind Regards
Dale John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

A great location to spend with the family due it being so close to the Botanic Gardens. Restaurants close enough to walk. Room service a little expensive. Room neat and tidy and serviced daily. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
1  Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Jennifer P
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay. It was pleasing to read you found our location perfect for meeting your family and walking the Botanic Gardens. Looking forward to your next stay so the team can impress you once again.
Kind Regards
Dale John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I attended a wedding reception recently and this property left a fairly good impression during my short stay. Besides the location and the food, the staff must be commended for their attention to detail. The views of the Botanic Gardens and access some of the very nice joints make it a good option when you to go Brissy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kganeshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear kganeshk
I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed the service provided by the staff and the wedding held here. Our surroundings and décor combine to make a perfect ambience for a small or large wedding.
Kind Regards
Dale John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Lovely comfy beds and pillows, very clean and well maintained rooms and welcoming staff. Nicely positioned opposite the Botanical Gardens on the periphery of the CBD. I especially enjoyed the cocktail,Tobelrone as a nightcap.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarmaseaIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Karmasealrene
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent visit. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed our convenient location and the service provided by the staff. We have an extensive cocktail list in the Lounge Bar and the team are ready to accommodate any request.
Kind Regards
Dale John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed here for a conference held at the hotel. Loved it. The hotel has a really nice, elegant, luxurious, old fashioned feel that is very different from the modern minimalist glass and chrome look and feel of other offerings. However, it had all the modern facilities we needed, free WiFi with good reception everywhere, iPod docking station and really nice modern working areas in the room with accessible plugs for laptops etc. Beds were very comfortable - an important issue for me (sleep is a very valuable commodity). The bar was small but very comfortable, reminding me of some of the grand old bars in Hobart and Sydney complete with a baby grand piano. A great place to enjoy a nice single malt in the evening.

Location is excellent. Walk up Albert street for excellent coffee from Atomic Coffee (30 secs away), and great breakfast at Spoon cafe (3 mins away). Bottle shop and 7-eleven also on Albert street. Easy walk to restaurants at Eagle St. Pier, and 15 min walk through the botanical gardens over a bridge to Southbank. Lots of other cafes, sushi restaurants, Chinese, Korean, Indian, Greek etc on Albert St and side streets. About five min walk to the Queen St mall.

Lastly, the staff were excellent. Everyone I met was friendly and welcoming, and very helpful. I haven't experienced customer service like this in a hotel for a long time.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandhopper429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear islandhopper429
I appreciate you taking the time to share your review after your recent stay. I was so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and the excellent service provided by our staff. The building is 44 years old and we have maintained the traditional elegance of the façade whilst adding modern touches such as wifi and IPTV. The lounge bar has just released a new menu including tapas to compliment the extensive beverage list and single malt scotches.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we eagerly look forward to your next stay.
Kind Regards
Dale John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Rusty doors
It would be wrong to pick about this too much. The hotel has excellent willing staff. The breakfast interesting and well provisioned with all the food you could desire at a $25 per head, although for some reason unknown entirely to me they charged me double for this .
It certainly is not worth $50 but I think this is a mistake.
But back to the rusty door. The bathroom is adequate but by no means luxurious. Which brings me to the hinge on the door, it is rusty and this seems to have spread to a patch at the bottom of the door. Oh dear it does stand out on a white door.
The rooms are large. Be carful you choose one above the fourth floor to avoid the street noise. But I would still recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Above fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daveskiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear daveskiss
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, both positive and constructive. I apologise that the hinge on the bathroom door contained rust that had partially stained the door. Thank you for bringing it to my attention and Maintenance will be inspecting each hinge to repair and change where necessary. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay and the service provided by the staff. They always appreciate receiving recognition for their hard work.
Kind Regards
Dale John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Royal on the Park is all about location location & service with a smile. Right in the CBD, and so close to Eagle Street Pier & restaurants. Southbank is a short ferry ride away. The rooms are large, clean & quiet. The view to the Botanic Gardens is fantastic! My new favourite place to stay in Brisbane.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristinSpecialK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear KristinSpecialK
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay. It was pleasing to read how much you enjoyed your stay and the service provided by the staff. The view of the Botanic Gardens is indeed an inspirational way to start each morning before work or sightseeing.
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and for your next stay be sure to try the award winning food in the Walnut Restaurant and our complimentary wifi.
We are all looking forward to your next stay.
Kind Regards
Dale John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 168 in Brisbane
1,129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#11 of 168 in Brisbane
630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#33 of 168 in Brisbane
1,021 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#16 of 168 in Brisbane
1,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#12 of 168 in Brisbane
3,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Address: 152 Alice Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#31 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £58 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane
Park Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing