We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional but well run”
Review of Royal On The Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal On The Park
Ranked #30 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

With wooden panelled lifts and regal carpet I found the Royal on the Park to be traditional in its decor and it's service. The slightly, now how do I say this with out being ageist .... more experienced staff where very professional and on their game. Now look I am a little fussy but service so imagine my surprise when they actually looked at me when you walked up to the reception counter. OMG Service!

The rooms were well maintained and clean. You have to check out the heated mirror! It took me a minute to work out why my face felt flush before I realised it was the radiant heat from a mirror that was almost to hot to touch.

I was only on the fourth floor so the trees blocked the views but a great location, a real 15-20 nice walk down the river from the Convention Center and close to a number of restaurants and shops.

I would stay there again

Room Tip: Aim high. 4th floor was to low to see over the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Brian R
I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the service provided by the entire team as we strive to make each interaction personal and memorable. We have many team members with years of experience and service to the Royal and they share that experience with each guest to enhance their stay.
Kind Regards
Dale John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

696 - 702 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a perfect conference venue. All the staff are great, friendly but professional and nothing was too much trouble.. Great staff combined with great food make for a great conference and the food here was second to none. The venue is well laid out, there was plenty of room for 100+ delegates without feeling squashed in. I was lucky enough to stay in an Executive Spa Suite and all I can say is wow! Beds were very comfortable and supplemented by a pillow menu to ensure a perfect night's sleep. Good location within 5 minutes walk to the city centre and opposite the park, I had lovely views from my 10th floor room.

Room Tip: Executive Spa Suites are great. Very spacious with a separate lounge/dining area, king size bed, la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Tammy A
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent conference. The conference and your guests were our pleasure to host during the 4 days you were with us. The Executive Spa Suite is a fantastic room, offering a separate lounge and dining area to the bedroom. The spa bath in the ensuite and floor to ceiling windows offer uninterrupted views of the Botanic Gardens, Kangaroo Point and beyond. We look forward to hosting the conference again next year.
Kind Regards
Dale John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms and an excellent lounge bar and restaurant. Good location with everything within walking distance. My partner and I enjoyed our stay thoroughly and will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lozzyb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Lozzyb6
Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent visit. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and made use of all the hotel's facilities. We are introducing an updated menu this week to reflect the changing of the season. Be sure to try the new dishes when you next stay.
Kind Regards
Dale John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent two nights at the Royal and it was absolutely gorgeous. The beds were heavenly, the view across the gardens stunning and all within walking distance of the riverside and city. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It's a wonderfully elegant hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jilbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Jilbies
I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your 2 night stay. The view from the hotel of the Botanic Gardens as the suns breaks through the canopy is an inspiring start to your day and all staff strive to make each interaction personal and memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Dale John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great Location, friendly and efficient staff, extremely good value for money, lovely bedroom, comfortable bed. Can't fault it. Yes it may be a little tired in spots but 4.5* for only $134 per night per room! I can live with that. I'll be up again to Brisbane with the family next time and this will be the first hotel I look at.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaky91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Shaky91
Thank you for sharing your review after your recent stay. I was pleased to share with the entire team how much you enjoyed your stay, particularly our great location and the service provided by the staff. I am glad that Royal on the Park was your hotel of choice for your first visit to our wonderful city. We look forward to your return with your family very soon.
Kind Regards
Dale John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at royal on the park while on holiday in Brisbane. I can't recommend it enough. The service is second to none, a beautiful clean comfortable room and so well located to the city. Just a 5 min walk to the main shopping restraints etc. Very good value for money.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank donnmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear donnmac
Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent stay at the hotel. I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay, particularly our location and the service provided by the team. We are currently painting the exterior of the building to enhance the façade whilst maintaining the classic design of the building.
Kind Regards
Dale John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Booked through hotels.com- after studying latest reviews we decided to book this beautiful old hotel- we were amazed at the financial deal we did - rooms with king size bed, city view were advertised in May for $270 per night- after a discount or two, pre booking 3 months in advance and looking at Web Jet, we paid $520.80 for 4 nights- we were amazed at the quality of large room with king size bed- so comfortable with many choices of right pillows, clean, free 24 hour Wi fi- even room service meals were terrific- staff first class- walking distance to queens Street Mall- really a top class old style hotel with everything anyone could need- probably has the quietest lifts and rooms in the Southbank area- would definitely come back and highly recommend to everybody visiting Brisbane

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwindow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear dwindow
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and received true value for money. Our location opposite the Botanic Gardens offers a central base to explore Brisbane and an inspiring view at any time of day. We offer all guests complimentary wifi with no download limits and we strive to improve our customer service in each interaction.
Kind Regards
Dale John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 170 in Brisbane
2,519 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 170 in Brisbane
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#7 of 170 in Brisbane
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#18 of 170 in Brisbane
3,627 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#31 of 170 in Brisbane
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Address: 152 Alice St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#28 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £68 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane
Park Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing