We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal On The Park - Brisbane, Australia”
Review of Royal On The Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal On The Park
Ranked #29 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Royal On The Park - Brisbane, Australia”
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Best location in Brisbane just over from the beautiful Gardens and a nice walk to South Bank.
Park side rooms are a bit loud from traffic. Staff is very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keydet61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    457
    143
    30
    20
See reviews for
248
452
76
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yandina, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We've stayed at the Royal at least once every 6 months for the last seven years. It's an oldie but a goodie. Recently we stayed in one of the refurbished King Spa suites, simply brillant. As usual the food was excellent - dinner and breakfast, the chef is very good. And the views accross the park are always lovely. The hotel has an old world charm and warmth.
We have also spent Xmas day here, it was one of the nicest Xmas lunches I've had.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNM2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Stayed overnight in a basic room. Check in was efficient and friendly and everything was explained to us which was great because we had no idea what to do! When we got up to the room it was nice, but thought it was a bit strange to have the toilet pretty much coming out from underneath the vanity! Not very hygienic at all.
Room was clean and enough for a one night stay. The bar is fantastic, feels very upper class and same would be said about the breakfast. Awesome breakfast with alot of choice and everything including drinks were included.
Checkout wasn't very friendly and upon departing the Hotel and going to buy something on the way home we realised they had swiped our credit card for $100 security as well as the accommodation and made us pay for the accommodation on top of this on departure. Upon calling the Resort enquiring about this, an argumentative man on the other end didn't help at all and was quite rude. The accommodation should be taken out of the pre-authorisation not taken again on the card as it inconveniences guests and guests also should be told about this money being held on their card, it's called Customer Service.
Other than the above issue, it was a very nice place to stay, straight across from the Botanical Gardens and in a quiet spot.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schnukkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Rivers
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2010

I have stayed 4 times in 3 years at this charming 1970's-but-done-up hotel. It's the extraordinary location that grabs you at first - directly opposite the beautiful Botanical Gardens, but 5 minutes walk from the hub of town. This is only the beginning.

The Walnut Restaurant has dramatically improved in the past years - excellent service, flexibility for special diets, a good range of wines, great prices. We stayed for less than $AU200 including parking, a double queen room overlooking the park - quiet, high views - we used the gym which was clean and orderly with great gear. We swam in the outdoor pool. We were valet parked, assisted with our mottley luggage AND we got 2 buffet breakfasts FOR HOURS.

My improvements list: the main one - (which is still very common in all 4+ star hotels in Brisbane) - is that wifi internet is not included in rooms, which for wifi nuts like us it's a real inconvenience (almost impossible) to get online (our MacBook airs do not have ethernet connection) and when we do (hopping) there's a very limited broadband allowance. Some of the furniture has little chips on it these days, but the beds are really comfortable - the aircon does not hum, the bar fridge whispers not rumbles and you can't hear anything in the outside corridor at night ...we were very high up on the 9th floor, which might explain why no traffic noise bothered us.

My booking hadn't transferred properly across the internet (made last minute) but I could not have been more beautifully welcomed and given a great room. THIS IS BRISBANE'S BEST HOTEL FOR THE PRICE. We needed our car several times and we were always treated with unobtrusive but warm, calm, professional service. The bathrooms are not huge but they are clean in all rooms. We haven't enjoyed the top suites yet, but that's what we will try next time we visit hot, steamy Brisbane.

The new chef is doing an excellent job and I encourage everyone to give it a go. We enjoyed the best perfectly cooked (rare and medium rare) quickly served rib eye steaks with glistening green vegetables and an all-you-can-drink wine buffet, plus desert for two for under $110 with comfortable chairs, late night dining and glorious location. Our fussy dietary requirements for the buffet breakfast the next day were not an issue with many options to assist us. My partner remained long after checkout in the comfortable leather lounged foyer waiting for my business meeting to end, and was treated respectfully.

There were older patrons, but also families, business guests, and a good mix of people. This was ALL DURING AUSTRALIA DAY a public holiday - one cute family was setting off for school that morning (their own home's renovations were not quite ready for them) and the school kids were kept busy but not noisy in all public areas.

It's true what they write on their website - Plush but not Stuffy - something like that. And the "royal" branding doesn't mean that eccentric republicists are not welcome.

WE LOVED IT.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janefootprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We booked royal on the park as we found it to be the best in terms of value for money and we didn't want anything below 4 stars. The hotel deal was great (we booked on their website) and when we checked in we were given a park-view facing room, which was just fantastic. We woke up to a morning vista of lush green landscapes and the echoes of the natural resonance from the nearby river. The location simply was fantastic. Walk a couple meters down the hotel and you end up on the riverside. Aside, the rooms were also incredibly luxurious and the bedding, including the pillows, were amazingly comfortable. The breakfast buffet, although understated, was sufficient but not lavish. Whilst this hotel is a favourite with older clientele, we would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silkcashmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

Royal on the Park is a hotel built in the early 1970's that has undergone renovations over the years. It still retains the classic freeform 70's exterior and a large in- ground pool reminiscent of a time when hotels were for holidays. The staff are friendly and helpful and despite the age of the building the rooms are still pleasant to be in, the Parkview rooms overlook the gloriously lush Botanical Gardens and Brisbane River, and the City view rooms look at the pool area and the large office towers that make up the Brisbane CBD.
This is my third stay at the Royal, and although it is not as grand as some of the other CBD hotels, it has a friendly ambience that makes for a relaxing stay. It is only 7 minutes walk to the Queen St shopping mall,the Crown casino, and a easy stroll to the Rivercat ferry services on the Brisbane River, which is worth doing as the $5.20 fare gives you an all day fare to explore up and down the city sections of the river. You can get on and off at leisure, visit Southbank and swim in the lagoon, or just see how the locals live perched in some of the magnifcient houses along the riverbanks or have a meal or a drink in one of the many fine riverside dining precincts.
The hotel offers some good value holiday deals that include free parking and a delicious buffet breakfast with hot and cold menu options.
At the end of your stay (if you have a car or feel like paying for a taxi) I suggest you take the Coronation Drive to Milton Road and follow the signs to Mt Cootha lookout (about 20mins). You will be rewarded with the most magnificient view looking over Brisbane and can even see the Royal peeping out amongst the CBD office towers.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussiesX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

I really enjoyed my stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful so the service is great. The room service meals were well prepared and presented. The main areas are getting a little tired but I'll stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunkerbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#28 of 157 in Brisbane
977 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#12 of 157 in Brisbane
928 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
#63 of 157 in Brisbane
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#9 of 157 in Brisbane
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 157 in Brisbane
2,533 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Property: Royal On The Park
Address: 152 Alice Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#29 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane
Park Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing