We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting.”
Review of Abbey On Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abbey On Roma
Ranked #126 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Booked a room at this place a few weeks back expecting a nice clean room for $209 for the night.

This was not to be. I have tried to contact them but have heard nothing back from them.

To be frank, the cleanest thing was the sheets that were laundered. It was a hovel for the money.

Dirty drinking glasses, still some excrement and pubic hair in and on the toilet, fridge and seals dirty with pieces of food in them, entire place was not vacuumed, detergent and gunk still in washing machine, cup stains on table, marks on floors.

Don't do it, just don't book this place.

Maybe I just got a bad room, who knows....

Room Tip: Best to choose another place that's clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

Was here for an overnight business trip. Its not a comforting feeling when the first thing they tell you at check in is to make sure you open the windows when you are having a shower because if there is build up of smoke in the room it will trigger the smoke alarm and you'll be a feww hundred dollars out of pocket. I think rather than threatening guests, they can install exhaust fans in the bathrooms to eliminate that problem!
The room was supposed to have free internet but could not get i to work. Even after I contacted reception, they said they will call me back which they didn't. Eventually, walked outside and found a cafe with free wifi to do my work.
I probably wouldn't stay here again if I had the choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sporthead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at Abbey Apartments, and never again will I do so! Upon checking into the room (approx 4pm), i was greeted by a nice looking room. This standard was not upheld. Behind the front door, paint is beginning to peel off all over the carpet. Outside on the balcony, there is a ratty, old looking chair. Entering the bedroom, I found two condom packets under the bed from previous occupants. Approximately 20mins after settling into the room housekeeping knocked; they needed to change the pillowcases (bearing in mind this is well and truly after 4pm!). The bathroom all looked to be in order until you tried to use the shower. The showerhead was not tight enough and was practically useless.

I was able to look the other way last time I stayed, but this is simply horrendous! Housekeeping and the owners of Abbey Apartments should be ashamed to let people stay in these rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I chose to stay here based on 2 reasons. Price & free car parking. Staff at reception were professional & very pleasant. I booked a 1 bedroom apartment for the weekend so we could go to a show at QPAC. The location of Abbey is central to everything in the CBD. It was only a 20 minute walk to QPAC. Brisbane Transit Centre is directly opposite so if your coming to Brisbane by train or bus it would be a handy place to stopover for the night. The apartment itself was less than average for the price $283.00 for 2 nights. The bed was comfortable & kitchenette was convenient but the housekeeping left a lot to be desired. Carpet throughout was so badly stained & dirty I wouldn't take my shoes off ! I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemGoldCoastOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I Stayed here over night on the weekend, the location was great right next to the roma transit station 5 min walk to Queen street mall, 5 min walk to the casino 15 min walk to southbank what more could you asked for!

Room was Excellent nothing like what other people say in the review, staff was helpful and they love to chat!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingfisherSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Dis-Appointed..
Re: Abbey Apartments on Roma.

After having been booked for some months and looking forward to this trip, I encouraged a colleague to come from WA, to visit & stay with us at the Abbey Apartments to enjoy Brisbane..

Then the disappointment set-in, Check-in was very ordinary, not to friendly, the main explanation was about setting off the fire-alarm and how much it will cost You..
We proceeded to our floor only to find the lift and especially the carpet in the hall not vacuumed with paper wrapping laying around, now that was Monday.. The same rubbish was there Friday’ going to check-out.

On entering the unit, all seemed ok, towels on the bed, bathroom clean, then my wife opened the ‘laundry chute’.. .. Dirty / wet Towels, A bit musty..!
She then went to plug in her phone charge, as we all do, but behind the bedside table was a Remote Control for the Radio.. Obviously no one checks this are as it was also very dusty and dirty.. Of course then you could pick up at a lot of things, but well left alone.

It is unfortunate as they do have a great location, but the service and cleanliness certainly lets the whole place down, especially in this modern time and the Guests expectations.

I am in hospitality and certainly know how to present a property, the staffing, the cleanliness, the marketing and the ‘Customer Satisfaction. Now this is by No means being over critical, this is fact’ this ‘Abbey’ property certainly needs to improve and lift their game.. Sure people will keep coming, but – ‘will they come back’..!
I will have to think seriously about it..

‘A True Believer’

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My husband and I travelling with my 84yr old mother arrived at the apartments at 11:00pm. No one at the desk you have to phone and get keys out of the safe. Once in our room only one double bed was made up. The manager would not do anything. We were forced to leave and find another hotel to stay in. Don't ever book anything through Agoda their system is atrocious.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wom6at69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Regis North Quay Hotel
0.2 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#63 of 169 in Brisbane
1,651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Hotel
#85 of 169 in Brisbane
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
0.2 mi away
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Hotel Urban Brisbane
#51 of 169 in Brisbane
819 reviews
0.2 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#73 of 169 in Brisbane
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey On Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey On Roma

Address: 160 Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Abbey Apartments)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £53 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey On Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Apartments are located in the hub of the Brisbane CBD directly opposite the Brisbane Transit Centre. Only a short walk to the Brisbane Convention Centre, Suncorp Stadium, Queen Street Mall and Roma Street Parklands. The Apartments are fully furnished and self contained with an open plan design with a separate bedroom. Enjoy the convenience of apartment style accommodation with a range of recreational facilities such as the swimming pool, spa and sauna. The Abbey Apartments are the ideal location from which to base yourself while on business or pleasure in Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Abbey On Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Apartments Brisbane
Abbey Apartments Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing