We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night's stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Brisbane Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Ranked #26 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

3,914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,002
    1,238
    463
    137
    74
See reviews for
557
1,765
309
963
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Honestly, I have never heard of Sofitel until the DSK incident in NYC. Decided to give it a go during a family trip to Brisbane and was truly impressed by their level of service and would easily stay again at this hotel on a future visit.

We arrived at the hotel really early (around 9-10am) but was immediately checked into our already ready room without a fuss. The room was pretty basic, with a French theme to emphasize Sofitel's origins. As we booked a club room, we had access to their club lounge for breakfast and drinks. The hotel does give an option to "upgrade" by having breakfast at the restaurant on the lobby instead for an extra charge. However, since we have an 18 month old baby with us, we were allowed to have breakfast at the restaurant for no extra charge which I thought was a very nice touch. With the greater variety of food available and the more casual atmosphere, we were definitely more comfortable having our breakfast at the restaurant.

Throughout our stay, the staff were friendly and were always helpful with our enquiries. The concierge also gave a comprehensive reply to all our questions.The hotel has its own car park just an escalator away from the lobby and it was very convenient for us since we rented a car. The hotel had a pool but we didn't manage to use it.

We couldn't give the hotel five dots for two reasons. First, housekeeping needs to do a better job with cleaning of the rooms. It was extremely dusty under the bed and we were worried that it might have an effect on our baby, Second, we stayed at the hotel for five nights and breakfast was exactly the same every single morning. I think it would be nice if they could vary the dishes they serve.

Apart from that, we truly enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel and we will definitely come back should our travel take us back to Brisbane.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Publius28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Publius28

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review following your family’s recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that your first stay with Sofitel was so impressive and that our staff looked after your family so well.

I did note your comments regarding the cleanliness of the room and also the breakfast menu and will address with the relevant department managers.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Brisbane.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Absolutely STUNNING!!! Stayed here for the night before heading to Morten Island. Was defiantly worth it!!! Pretty expensive but wow if you have the money definitely worth it. Views from the rooms were phenomenal!!!!! Service was fantastic! Reception was flawless. Purchased a Wotif Mystery room for the best we could get and when arrived the upgraded us AGAIN!!! Wholely HELL this place is amazing!!!! I cannot recommend this more. I don't usually give 5 outta 5s but this 102.43243532525325235% gets 5 outta 5!!!! The bed was AMAAZING ASWELL!!!!!

Stunning!

Room Tip: Anything is amazing! Entry level rooms right through to the top of the line!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ammonpearce11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear ammonpearce11111

I was delighted to read your review following your stay in Brisbane on your way to Morton Island.
I will share your comments with all of our staff as I am sure they too will be delighted to read your wonderful comments on the hotel and its staff.

Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

If you aren't paying for accommodation your self this hotel is fine otherwise it is over priced and staff saying 'Bonjour' don't make up for its failings.
I stayed there in October and the hotel was hot. The Level 22 room I stayed in was hot the corridors were hot the foyer was hot. Being there for a conference so stuck in the hotel for four days made it a bit unpleasant. The room was not impresive and frankly quite basic for the price.
The staff were good and the events/conference staff were excelent.
The breakfast buffet was fine for a hotel wanting to be 5 star but nothing special.
The Sofitel Brisbane is over priced for what you get there are other Brisbane CBD hotels that would be just as good but cheaper and less pretentious.

Room Tip: the higher the room the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Detin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Detin

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the hotel for a conference.

Whilst we do value the gift of feedback it was disappointing to read that your stay did not meet your expectations and that you had issues with the air-conditioning during your stay.

The hotel is part of a French owned chain and as such we embrace the French culture from our greetings and uniforms through to our restaurant menus, and regularly get positive comments on this but I do understand and appreciate that this is not for everyone.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#23 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#1 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.4 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#28 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Brisbane Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Brisbane Central

Property: Sofitel Brisbane Central
Address: 249 Turbot St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#5 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#11 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#26 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Brisbane Central 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned in the heart of Brisbane, you will discover a hotel of sophisticated luxury and personalised service. Renowned for its inspiring arrival experience via the alluring lobby, the wide choice of food and beverage outlets and breathtaking views of the city and surrounds, the hotel's reputation as the leading choice in luxury accommodation and conferencing is truly deserved.The property boasts 433 elegantly appointed rooms and suites featuring delicate touches of contemporary sophistication creating a unique sense of luxury. The rooms and suites exude an artistic feel that links the progressive design of the new world with refined French Elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Sofitel Brisbane Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Brisbane Central Hotel Brisbane
Accor Brisbane Central
Brisbane Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing