We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Ranked #28 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

3,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,024
    1,255
    473
    140
    75
See reviews for
565
1,790
311
974
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Arriving at Brisbane Airport - the air train takes you almost directly to the Sofitel above the central station, a short walk & a few escalators and you are there: location perfect. Also close to most attractions - walking distance (although this is a hill when returning) to the pier, fabulous restaurants and shopping plaza. The hotel foyer is open plan, large and impressive.
Check in - efficient, we were early & this was not a problem, our club room was available:very high floor, corner position, spacious, quiet, city view, comfy king bed, bathroom included a bath. Room service was very good, only issue forgot to replenish milk in the minibar. Complimentary water was provided with the turn down service. Cost of items in the minibar was little pricey but with access to the shops literally 5 minutes away it was not a problem. Lounge access was excellent offering a wide array of choices to suit most tastes. The pool and spa were fabulous after a hot day exploring the sights. The french inspired Hotel restaurant offered several buffet options through out the day, we indulged in the dessert buffet which was delicious.
The concierge service was good, providing a map and different options of things to do in air-conditioned places. The hotel stored our luggage following check out until our flight late in the afternoon. If back in Brisbane we would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: request a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear nobley

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us whilst visiting Brisbane. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel’s central location and that you were well looked after during your stay. I did note your comments regarding the mini bar not being replenished and will follow up; please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you visit Brisbane.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

You would never know that it is built immediately above the Brisbane Central railway station. No train noise even at ground level.
This deserves its rating. We even had a choice of 5 different types of pillow for our extra large bed. The food was good and the service likewise.
Although we ate a la carte in the main restaurant for our first night we subsequently ate in the Bistro bar. This is designed for gambling. Decent food at decent prices, which were reduced as we were classified as ‘members’ for staying in the hotel. However, if you want to eat out try 'Jimmy's on the Mall' in Queen Street. It's different.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hatmanBanstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear hatmanBanstead

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay with us. It was pleasing to learn that we met your expectations and you enjoyed our central location above the train station.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you visit Brisbane.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed at the Sofitel in March 2014 for business. The room is great, very clean and spacious. The location is walking distance to The river attractions. But if they are trying to attract and retain business travellers they need to make some changes. Some small, others not so small.

First of all, there is no free WiFi in the rooms, even if you are staying on the executive club levels. You can access free wifi in the club lounge, but have to request a unique ID each time, and its only good for a few hours. This is just odd. If they are handing out free WiFi, why not just let you do it in your room, instead of only in the lounge? It seems needlessly cumbersome.

Next, the offerings for breKfast and dinner in the lounge are, in a word, just really not of very good quality. Breakfast had some very unappealing items. Dinnerwas worse, with what could barely be termed light hors d'oeuvres. The spread could be much better.

Lastly, there are no ice machines on the floor. You have to call room service to get a bucket of ice. Again, seems kind of cumbersome.

It is ok, but just really could be quite a bit better with a teensy bit of effort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Punkeelarousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Punkeelarousse

Thank you very much for providing us with such detailed feedback after your stay with us. Your constructive comments are appreciated and well taken and I will address with the management team. I apologize if these issues kept you from having a flawless visit and will work on them with our team here and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#23 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
0.4 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#17 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#25 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Brisbane Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Brisbane Central

Property: Sofitel Brisbane Central
Address: 249 Turbot St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#5 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#11 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#28 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Brisbane Central 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned in the heart of Brisbane, you will discover a hotel of sophisticated luxury and personalised service. Renowned for its inspiring arrival experience via the alluring lobby, the wide choice of food and beverage outlets and breathtaking views of the city and surrounds, the hotel's reputation as the leading choice in luxury accommodation and conferencing is truly deserved.The property boasts 433 elegantly appointed rooms and suites featuring delicate touches of contemporary sophistication creating a unique sense of luxury. The rooms and suites exude an artistic feel that links the progressive design of the new world with refined French Elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Brisbane Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Brisbane Central Hotel Brisbane
Accor Brisbane Central
Brisbane Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing