We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a Pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Ranked #28 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

3,964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,023
    1,254
    473
    139
    75
See reviews for
565
1,788
311
974
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed a few days in Brisbane after a 28 hour flight and the beauty of this hotel is its excellent location in the centre of Brisbane and ease of access off the airport train. Entrance into the hotel i just of the main concourse and another great help are the station staff who took us through the ticket barriers and showed us theventrance. A great welcome to Australia.
The Sofitel staff were excellent and very welcoming. From the start to our leaving I felt they were really helpful and were so friendly.
The room was standard but well maintained, clean and oh the bed and pillows after such a long flight were so comfortable! The only gripe was a continuing problem with the tv and some up grade is probably needed. Any large hotel is always going to show some signs of wear and tear but overall it's in a good state.
Breakfast is vast and worth at least one sitting. Possibly a little on the expensive side but compares well to other similar hotels in major cities. Close by are plenty of good breakfast places and it's good to get out and watch the world go by.
It was good value for our stay and the staff and room comfort made a great start to our holiday.
If you are using the airport train and have a paper ticket there is only one exit you can use at Brisbane Central. Best to look lost like us and someone will help.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geofflp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear geofflp

Thank you for taking the time to write such a review on your recent stay with us whilst visiting from the UK. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel’s central location so convenient. I did note your comments regarding problems with the TV in your room and apologize for any inconvenience caused.

I trust you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Australia and hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel should you visit Brisbane again.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dannevirke, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My partner stayed at the Sofitel for two nights on a recent visit to Brisbane. We booked a Junior Suite and the experience was as we expected. Terrific staff and amenities. Room was large and faultless. Everything we expected was there. Ordered room service on our first night and were given a time of thirty minutes. Meal arrived before the time limit and was well presented and hot.

We booked a spa at Stephanies Day Spa and weren't disappointed.

We would recommend this Hotel to everyone and will certainly stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Probably the room on the upper floor overlooking ANZAC Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Rich L

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Brisbane. It was pleasing to read that we met your expectations across so many levels and I will share your feedback with our ambassadors.

Thanks again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Brisbane.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Short trip to Brisbane for concert and shopping in mall and trip to Southbank Markets, staff were very helpful the closeness to the mall a bonus no need for transport. The only negative was at Harlequin bar had steak for evening meal no steak knife supplied.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Diane M

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent trip to Brisbane. I did note your comments regarding the missing cutlery in Harlequin Jack and apologize for this oversight. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel’s central location and that our staff were so helpful.

Thank you again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I booked this hotel using my accor advantage complimentary night and I'm glad I didn't pay full price for it. I chose the sofitel for its proximity to Central as I was staying with my mother who has mobility issues. The only positives were that we were able to check in about 1 1/2 hours early, the deserts at lunch and comfortable beds.

We were given a room on the 12 floor and our view was of a rooftop. While the beds were comfortable (2doubles) I was surprised at how small the room was. The bathroom was adequate but was surprised at the amount of dust behind the containers that held the toiletries on the countertop. We were provided with one each of shampoo, conditioner, soap, body lotion, body wash and various others eg cotton tips, sanitary bags, nail files. Was surprised not to see toothbrush set or shaving kit.

After unpacking we went downstairs to the thyme restaurant for lunch. It was buffet style. The only positive were that the deserts where stunning both in looks and taste. We started with seafood - prawns pale pink and very small - certainly not tiger prawns, oysters no bigger than a 10 cent piece. We then had hot food which was Italian or meditteranian based - slow cooked meat had stewed for too long, I had turkey and my mum had roast beef - both were very dry. Although as I've said the deserts were divine and a highlight! Sadly we were not told about the fact that lunch is $73 a head when we arrived (thank god for my accor card!) as sadly our lunch was not worth $73. Also at no point were we offered wine as apparently it was included in the $73. We were offered either tap water or sparkling and then had to pay $9 for a bottle of water that was hardly drunk! It might have helped if the waitress was able to speak fluent English (and yes I have travelled to many different countries where English is a second and third language but I had trouble understanding her!)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rnrjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Mrjay

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. Whilst we do value the gift of feedback I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay and in particular your dining experience in Thyme2 restaurant. I will discuss the issues you have raised with the relevant department heads and I apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Thank you for your honest and constructive review and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back should you visit Brisbane again.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,355 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.4 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#25 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Brisbane Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Brisbane Central

Property: Sofitel Brisbane Central
Address: 249 Turbot St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#5 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#11 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#28 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Brisbane Central 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned in the heart of Brisbane, you will discover a hotel of sophisticated luxury and personalised service. Renowned for its inspiring arrival experience via the alluring lobby, the wide choice of food and beverage outlets and breathtaking views of the city and surrounds, the hotel's reputation as the leading choice in luxury accommodation and conferencing is truly deserved.The property boasts 433 elegantly appointed rooms and suites featuring delicate touches of contemporary sophistication creating a unique sense of luxury. The rooms and suites exude an artistic feel that links the progressive design of the new world with refined French Elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Brisbane Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Brisbane Central Hotel Brisbane
Accor Brisbane Central
Brisbane Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing