We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Ranked #27 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“City Escape”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Hotel is connected to the Central Station, thus very convenient if you take a train from the airport and it's location is perfect to explore the city. Staffs are friendly and helpful. Room was almost perfect, while the pillow menu was a very nice touch, an addition of bathroom scale would be great!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2002yahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear 2002yahoo

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to Brisbane. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and rated the hotel so highly. Thank you for your review and I hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Brisbane.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,073
    1,284
    487
    142
    75
See reviews for
582
1,827
322
996
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Griffith, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We booked in for 4 nights with the self drive breakfast package with our 9yo son. It is worth noting we regularly stay at 5 star hotels (Grand Hyatt Melbourne and The Westin in Sydney). The Sofitel in Brisbane however just doesnt compare in terms of rating and value for money (in our opinion) just isn't there. It didnt tick all the boxes.
We were given 2 doubles as there were 3 of us which was inconvenient as we had to both take turns sleeping with our son, the double not being comfortable for 2 adults. A rollaway bed for our son was going to be an extra $80 a night (we have never had to pay for this before at a 5 star establishment), this would not have solved the problem at any rate as there was no way a rollaway bed was fitting in the room comfortably with the 3 of us and our luggage.
The bathroom was also tiny to say the least (NOT 5 star, 3 at best and you couldnt swing a cat in it). The bath and shower were combined and small so you had to awkwardly step in and out.
When we escalated our concerns to management (night mgr to start) we were told differing stories in regards to pricing and what our $395 a night included - at one point a staff member advised us that as it was low season and they werent busy our room type was selling for considerably less than what we paid.
First we were offered to move to a room with a king bed and a rollaway at no charge. The room was just down the hall. The key wouldnt work in fact the door was malfunctioning and maintenance had to come up. At this point (after 10pm) at night and having been up since 5am travelling, our son was overtired and cranky and we all just needed to get to bed. We were offered an upgrade to a suite for an extra $150 (as it was we were paying over $1500 for our 4 night stay). We were told that our breakfast component alone was $39 a head each, to which we advised forget breakfast, put it towards the upgrade suite and we'll then pay the approx $30 a night difference. The story again changed and even though breakfast is usually $39 each as part of our package all of a sudden it was of lesser value. Needless to say we declined the $150 extra a night upgrade to the suite.
The next morning we spoke to Carol in guest relations and outlined our issues, she was sympathetic and listened, she had Tom the day manager call - which was a waste of time as at the end of the day nothing was resolved as we anticipated. The hotel were not prepared to do anything for us.
Tom at least was polite and courteous to deal with unlike the night mgr and he advised we had the best package to meet our needs. Interestingly Tom spoke of the supply and demand that drives the rates and actually advised that contrary to what we were told the night before the hotel was actually very busy and pretty much booked (hmmm so who was telling the truth there, one of our biggest issues was the different 'stories' we were told by different staff, in fact it just felt like we were being lied to so they didnt have to do anything for us!).
We were given 3 complimentary tickets to GOMA (the Sofitel were sponsoring the exhibition we went to see and tickets were $15 adult and Iam sure cheaper for children), complimentary water (2 bottles) were then put in to our room daily (which I might add when staying at The Westin or Hyatt you get complimentary anyway and if there are 3 guests in the room you get 3 bottles not 2). As a one off we were also given the upgraded bathroom products.
All in all while seemingly nice guestures it really didnt amount to much.
Our room wasnt made up until after 5pm the day after we arrived, another day the room was made up but no towels were replaced in the bathroom (even though the old towels had been removed) - and we had to call housekeeping to request more towels.
On 3 occassions the lift took you to your floor and the doors did not open, the first time this happened I panicked as I was in the lift by myself and after 5 minutes standing there with nothing happening I hit "open door" and luckily they did. At another point our room keys just stopped working and they had to be rekeyed ... It was a constant comedy of errors, the little things and big things you expect when staying at a 5 star hotel just weren't there.
I will seriously be looking around for another establishment before staying at the Sofitel in Brisbane again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone at this point!
Things may have been different if it was just my husband and myself in a king room - who's to know.
At the end of the day we were very disappointed in our stay and couldn't wait to leave.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Michelle V

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your honest and constructive feedback following your recent stay with us. Whilst we do value the gift of feedback it was disappointing to read of the issues you experienced during your stay with us. I have addressed all the issues from your stay with our Management team and sincerely apologize that your experience did not live up to your expectations.

I certainly do understand your frustrations and disappointment although I assure you that your experience is certainly not typical of the high standards the hotel prides itself on. Sofitel Brisbane Central is committed to providing a high level of service to our guests and we will endeavour to work even harder to regain your trust and confidence in us.

Thank you again for your review.


Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed a few days in Brisbane after a 28 hour flight and the beauty of this hotel is its excellent location in the centre of Brisbane and ease of access off the airport train. Entrance into the hotel i just of the main concourse and another great help are the station staff who took us through the ticket barriers and showed us theventrance. A great welcome to Australia.
The Sofitel staff were excellent and very welcoming. From the start to our leaving I felt they were really helpful and were so friendly.
The room was standard but well maintained, clean and oh the bed and pillows after such a long flight were so comfortable! The only gripe was a continuing problem with the tv and some up grade is probably needed. Any large hotel is always going to show some signs of wear and tear but overall it's in a good state.
Breakfast is vast and worth at least one sitting. Possibly a little on the expensive side but compares well to other similar hotels in major cities. Close by are plenty of good breakfast places and it's good to get out and watch the world go by.
It was good value for our stay and the staff and room comfort made a great start to our holiday.
If you are using the airport train and have a paper ticket there is only one exit you can use at Brisbane Central. Best to look lost like us and someone will help.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geofflp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear geofflp

Thank you for taking the time to write such a review on your recent stay with us whilst visiting from the UK. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel’s central location so convenient. I did note your comments regarding problems with the TV in your room and apologize for any inconvenience caused.

I trust you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Australia and hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel should you visit Brisbane again.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dannevirke, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My partner stayed at the Sofitel for two nights on a recent visit to Brisbane. We booked a Junior Suite and the experience was as we expected. Terrific staff and amenities. Room was large and faultless. Everything we expected was there. Ordered room service on our first night and were given a time of thirty minutes. Meal arrived before the time limit and was well presented and hot.

We booked a spa at Stephanies Day Spa and weren't disappointed.

We would recommend this Hotel to everyone and will certainly stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Probably the room on the upper floor overlooking ANZAC Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Rich L

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Brisbane. It was pleasing to read that we met your expectations across so many levels and I will share your feedback with our ambassadors.

Thanks again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Brisbane.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 157 in Brisbane
2,304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 157 in Brisbane
2,541 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
1,142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#22 of 157 in Brisbane
1,565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Brisbane Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Brisbane Central

Property: Sofitel Brisbane Central
Address: 249 Turbot St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#5 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#11 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#27 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Brisbane Central 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned in the heart of Brisbane, you will discover a hotel of sophisticated luxury and personalised service. Renowned for its inspiring arrival experience via the alluring lobby, the wide choice of food and beverage outlets and breathtaking views of the city and surrounds, the hotel's reputation as the leading choice in luxury accommodation and conferencing is truly deserved.The property boasts 433 elegantly appointed rooms and suites featuring delicate touches of contemporary sophistication creating a unique sense of luxury. The rooms and suites exude an artistic feel that links the progressive design of the new world with refined French Elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Brisbane Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Brisbane Central Hotel Brisbane
Accor Brisbane Central
Brisbane Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing