We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“valet parking staff poor - hotel nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Ranked #25 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“valet parking staff poor - hotel nice”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We checked in for New Years - 31 Dec to a junior suite room 2101 on the 21st floor. Check in was easy and swift.
Lovely views on the 21st floor and quite. The decor is a bit dated but has been recovered with new fabrics and wall paper. French styled tables, classic sofas and large bathroom.

Two CD players in the room but no ipod charging station or speakers. The tech. is dated in that department. Room service was quick and the food was excellent on both occasions.
Aircon was horrible, I was hot all the time but the air con was set at the lowest setting. Old system it seems as it was all over the place during through out the night.

The views are of the bridge and river with lots of windows.Fireworks could not been seen from this location. The main fireworks are at Southbank (around the corner).

I had a broken leg and I was on crutches during my stay. We tried twice to phone the concierge but noone answered. The automated phone system just loops. very frustrating.
So we went down and asked for car to be brought around they took our ticket.
After 20 minutes of sitting right in front of the concierge desk my husband asks were the car is, The 5 staff get that were hanging around the desk, open the drawer and gives my husband the keys. no apology or nothing or farewell, Then getting into the car they didn't open the door or help us with the bags.The two men stood on the side talking to each other. I thought how unhelpful and I really needed assistance. So this was very disappointing and waste of our time. The manager running the show on the concierge desk needs a refresher course of why they are there and how to give basic customer service. Bad taste to overall good experience within the hotel.

Laslty, pay by cash when departing, Our bill came to $843. and they charge us $12.47 becasue we used our Visa card. Worse than the banks....so pay cash if you visit there.

Brisbane is starved for a good 5 star hotel with amazing new interiors, good customer service, food, and views. So this is about the best you can get in the CBD. I have stayed at them all.
Location is excellent and close to Southbank, sits next to a pretty park and has the best cafes in Brisbane around this location.

Room Tip: ask for the highest level as the DJ plays at the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Debra084

Thank you for taking the time to share comments from your recent visit with us; we certainly do appreciate and value all feedback provided.

It was wonderful to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, even more so considering that you are a seasoned traveller.

I was disappointed - and surprised - however, by the comments regarding our Concierge Team. They are considered to be a lovely group around the hotel, even opening doors for, and assisting staff as they would our guests. We would like to think that they would have offered extra assistance considering your situation. Please be assured that we have addressed your comments with the team and can guarantee that this won't reoccur.

With reference to settling your account via credit card, the additional incurred was a credit card surcharge which is quite common throughout hotels, and indeed restaurants now. I was actually charged 1.5% for an EFTPOS transaction just recently, which appears to be the way some establishments are heading.

We do hope you are on the mend and that 2012 will see you up and about as normal as soon as possible.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to having you with us again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,391
    842
    305
    101
    63
See reviews for
292
1,478
107
576
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I stayed here for business for 2 nites, but wish I could have spent more time at the hotel. It is very conveniently located in the CBD, good for conducting business meetings.Rooms are extremely comfortable and spacious, though do remember to bring along toothbrush,comb and shaving kit as they charge for these items.

The rooms have contemporary paintings and the river is just a stone's throw away, with excellent restaurants and botanical gardens.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajiv91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear rajiv91

It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very fortunate to be located so close to the city and the Botanical Gardens and happ that this suited your requirements.

We do hope you can stay a little longer next time and take full advantage of what the hotel has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

In a lovely area of Brisbane which is away from the majority of city bustle. We walked around the Botanic Gardens in the morning as they are adjacent to the hotel.

The room was large as was the bathroom, although dated. We had a room overlooking the pool which was nice.

When we walked in the hotel you could smell mould - I imagine this is from last years flooding but still wasn't very welcoming.

Breakfast was ok, no gluten free cereal and very unhelpful/minimal staff. However, once they got my coffee order right (on the 3rd attempt) the coffee was wonderful!!

I wouldn't stay here again as it is dated and the service was poor. However if you're looking for a quiet city location then this would be great.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 665kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear 665kate

I was disappointed to read of your experience regarding the service you received. That is certainly not the standard we expect of our team here at the hotel nor the impression we wish to leave on our guests. We will certainly action this to ensure it does not reoccur.

We apologise for the poor service you received and do hope that you will return in the future to experience the true Stamford service for which we are known.

I was very surprised by your comment regarding the "smell of mould". This is the first comment of this kind we have received since re-opening in April 2011. We will, however, look in to it to ensure that the situation is addressed.

Thank you once again for your time and we wish you all the best for 2012.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I again Chose the Stamford plaza as a way to celebrate our Birthdays as mine and my Partners are only a week apart,as this 5* hotel was exceptional the last time we visited, This time it was to celebrate, so i booked us in and i decided to take up the recommendation of the Teppanyaki Restaurant the Kabuki, when i made the hotel booking i was transferred to the restaurant and was informed that the teppanyaki was not available as it was fully booked but he recommended the La Carte, which i took so booked for that, a short time later i was talking to a friend about the surprise birthday gift for my partner,and asked him and his wife to join us for the dinner which he accepted he than rang back an said they too were going to take up the accommodation offer and booked in as well.

I checked my emails and found i had missed an offer to upgrade to a junior suite for another amount of money and it was with in budget so when i got to the Hotel, the concierge took my car and bags and we went in to book in and asked f the upgrade was still available the clerk was excellent and soon had us in a fantastic corner suite 1001 with stunning views up and down the river, the suite was great the settee and bed were so comfortable you could sit on them for hours,the furniture was good the coffee table was battled scared so to speak you could see that the stain had been polished away but to me it added character to the room not as a bad thing as the hotel is not a young lady but a gracefully aged dear.

I forgot to mention the restaurant manger contacted me a few days before we were due to book in and gave me an a offer i could not refuse a 6pm sitting for the 4 of us at the Teppanyaki meal sitting so i being the shy type took it up with great delight as this would be the crowning on the cake for my birthday surprise. The meal was as expected not only cooked to perfection but also the Chef (sadly i was so enthralled with him and the way he cooked i forgot to get his name) was fantastic had a good sense of humour and kept us entertained no end.

Breakfast was again a delight I would recommend that if you do go for the breakfast you either go very early or like us at 9am there was some delays in some foods being brought back out but when u wait for a good thing it is worth the wait, again hats off to both the service staff an the chefs.

Would i stay again well hmm we have decided that when we stay in town we will make this OUR hotel of choice, and if anybody is visiting my Fair city then i would say look here as it is in walking distance of th CBD and the beautiful Botanic gardens is only a matter of a few feet from the front door.

So Hats off to a first class hotel,
Stewart

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room be it a suite or standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slavetothis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Stewart (slavetothis)

This time last year, the hotel was 6 days away from being flooded, causing damage that would set us back for months.

Today, we have the pleasure of reading feedback such as yours which, in absolute honesty, makes the efforts of the last 12 months wonderfully worthwhile.

The majority of our current team was with us during the floods and next Wednesday, 12 months to the day, we are holding a "thank you" function for our team. Feedback such as yours will be shared with the team to congratulate them on their hard work and dedication to the hotel and even more so, to our guests.

We are so happy and proud that we were able to make your visit both enjoyable and memorable, and that we can provide this experience for all your visits so far. We wish you both a Happy Birthday and Happy New Year and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I'd love to give the Stamford 5 stars but there were just a couple of things lacking. That said, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and would stay there again.

We stayed one night in early December and took advantage of the Fabulous Friday offer, which included breakfast, a bottle of sparkling wine and high river views. The room was large and felt quite grand, but was extremely comfortable and instantly relaxing. We had a good view down the river. The mini-bar had seen better days but seemed well stocked.

The bathroom was superb with a separate bath and shower (with 2 shower heads!). The towels let it down though and were grey, threadbare and rather too exfoliating. We had two lovely thick robes but no slippers.

We thought the selection and quality of the food at breakfast were excellent. It was extremely busy that morning but the staff were helpful and efficient. We sat on the terrace outside which had a slightly strange holiday camp vibe, with lots of square tables crammed quite close together. It was nice to sit out by the river though.

Check-in and out were quick and efficient (although why do hotels no longer ask if you've had a nice stay? In this instance the only response we got when we asked to check out was a 'yep, done'!)

Overall, the Stamford's in a great location and would make a good choice for a city break.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Dear Mighty_Blade

It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The points you mentioned regarding the linen and the checkout experience have been raised with our Housekeeping and Front Office Managers who have already taken steps for improvement as a result ie making contact with our linen supplier and refining our guests' check out experience.

We are in the throes of a wonderfully busy Festive weekend (we have 527 coming for lunch tomorrow!), so from the Management and Staff here at the Stamford Plaza Brisbane, we wish you a safe and happy Christmas and New Year and we look forward to welcoming you back in 2012.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and absolutely loved it. We wanted a romantic get-away as a stop over to the Sunshine Coast. We upgraded to a junior suite and the views from the room were AMAZING! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I think it was the little touches that made it special - complimentary paper each morning, complimentary bottled water, sparkling wine on arrival and fantastic front desk staff made our stay a very comfortable indeed. The buffet breakfast each morning was delicious and we enjoyed the gym and swimming pool facilities after a very filling breaky. We can't wait to come back for another romantic stay in the next couple of months. Thank you to all the wonderful members of the Stamford Plaza family!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Dear Sonia K

Many thanks to you for your wonderful and positive feedback! I have passed your comments on to all our team members here at the hotel and it has certainly spread some Christmas Cheer!

It has been a somewhat challenging year for the hotel so it is certainly lovely to read that our team here are still "wowing" our guests.

We do thank you once again for taking the time out to share your comments with us, and we wish you and your family and safe and happy Christmas.

We look forward to having you with us again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We were lucky enough to have the restaurants at the stanford hotel recommended to us. We took this advice to heart and decided to have a meal one evening. We had an excellent meal and the evening was a night to be remembered. Full marks to their executive chef who took the time to speak to personally and we will return regularly.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank densmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear densmi

Thank you for the wonderful restaurant review! I will certainly ensure our Chef, Daniel Smith, receives a copy of your comments. He will be chuffed!

We are very fortunate to have a Chef that will always take the time to catch up with our guests and is always very eager to receive feedback, whatever the nature of it.

We've had a wonderfully busy November, and December seems to be on the same track. We are "all systems go" with Christmas parties, Christmas Day and other events at the moment. What I would like to mention, though, is that you can now order Christmas Fare on line - turkey, ham, roast vegeatables, plum pudding and all the trimmings - cooked fresh and can be collected on Christmas Day. It's proving very popular!

Once again, thanks for choosing the Stamford Plaza for your night out! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#22 of 160 in Brisbane
2,368 reviews
1.4 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 160 in Brisbane
1,160 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#28 of 160 in Brisbane
4,109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#23 of 160 in Brisbane
1,600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#27 of 160 in Brisbane
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Property: Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Address: Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#22 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#25 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stamford Plaza Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing