We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK - could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Ranked #24 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“OK - could be better”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I stay at the Stamford primarily because of its location. It is very close to the business and legal part of the CBD and therefore ideally located for the business traveller. In addition, it is right on the river and next to the Botanical gardens, where it is lovely to go for an early morning run or walk.
The hotel itself needs to lift its game in relation to customer service in some areas. Check in is perfunctory, with no warm greeting forthcoming. Concierge was great - arranging a hairdressing appointment for me which was really appreciated. Parts of the hotel are very dated, ie the corridors outside the rooms, but the rooms themselves are very comfortable and spacious as is the bathroom. Room service was delicious, and it is great there is a good selection of asian food options.
On my last stay my ordered room service breakfast did not arrive until 25 minutes after the time I had asked for it to be delivered, meaning I send it back as my car for the airport was leaving in 5 minutes. At checkout I discusses this with the staff member who removed the charge from the bill - I waited for an apology and I did eventually get one, but was left with the impression he didnt really care.
Overall, I feel the Stamford is OK - but could be great if it paid a bit more attention to customer service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear CassGeorge

We are certainly fortunate in terms of location and it's a pleasure to read that our guests have been able to take advantage of that during their stay.

We are currently recruiting and training new staff, and re-training existing staff, especially in the area of customer service. I have brought your comments to the attention of both our Front Office Manager and our Executive Chef who will certainly address your concerns to ensure such incidents do not reoccur.

It does appear that overall you did enjoy your stay with us, which is wonderful. We do hope that the service issues that you experience will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,345
    812
    298
    95
    61
See reviews for
279
1,429
107
554
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Good sized hotel rooms, great views of the Brisbane River and Storey Bridge. One of the better 5 star hotels in Brisbane. Great value for money utilising their Sunday Stay package.

Room Tip: Worthwhile getting a higher floor room for the extra view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daz076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Daz076

Thank you so much for a great review! Though short and sweet, it certainly gave enough of an indication that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have several accommodation packages which are good value; including meals, show tickets, parking and even those with a touch of romance.

Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

it doesn't really need a huge write up. It's practically faultless......
~ excepting the fact that the WC is not private from the rest of the lovely big bathroom!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jqqls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Jqqls

It is such a wonderful feeling, to read the words "pratically faultless". We do aim to exceed the expectations of all our guests and it seems that we have done so on this occasion.

I have placed a copy of your comments on the staff noticeboard for all to see - no matter who we are, such positive comments do go a long way.

Many thanks for such a lovely review and we do hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I was here on business and the room was a fabulous size. I enjoyed the view from my room and it felt like home away from home, the bathroom was large which was great. Some hotels have quie small rooms but this one is a must to stay at. Breakfast was good too.
We utilised the conference rooms which were a great size. The Manager, Conference and Events was fabulous, he really went out of his way to ensure that our conference was a success in all ways. Thank You.
The only bad comment I could say is that the receptionist wasnt very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bijou_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Bijou_8

It is great to read a review which has been clearly written by a conference guest; as quite often it is difficult for us to tell.

I have sent a copy of your comments to our Conference and Events Manager, Jayson, for his reference. Jayson is a very dedicated member of our team who goes to great efforts to ensure each event is a success and that each guest at each event enjoys their time with us.

We are currently recruiting and training new staff, and retraining existing staff, to ensure service issues are not experienced by any of our guests. It doesn't seem that it had a detrimental affect to your stay, which is wonderful.

Thank you for taking the time to share yoru comments with us and we look forward to having you with us again, as either a conference or a leisure guest.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stamford hotels are pretty similar, dark heavy furniture, lush furnishings, somewhat dated. Maybe not ideal for hot climates, but still upmarket.

Breakfast spread is good if a expensive. Gym ok and pool functional rather than resort.

Brillant location if you want to walk, run or bike. Right on bike path and rentails in park opposite.

Moda restaurant opposite hotel is really great. Outdoors, mediteranian food.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoogesMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear MoogesMate

It was lovely to see that enjoyed your stay with us and it seems you were able to take advtange of our location, which is great.

We are currently refurbishing our gym and replacing the equipment, so when you next visit, there will a fantastic new gym available to you.

We wish you safe travels and look forward to having you with us again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed on a Sunday night deal which was apparently a good bit cheaper than their mid-week rate as this is a 'corporate' hotel and is very popular with business travellers. The Sunday night was lovely because it was very quiet. Room was spotless and nicely appointed and although others have complained that the decor was tired, our room was in lovely condition. Bathroom was large and L'occitane bath/shower products were an added bonus. Hubby and I both love our coffee and it was nice to find a plunger with comp ground coffee provided rather than the instant sachets normally supplied. Brekky on the river under the marquee was very nice... again, the full service coffee supplied was a lovely bonus. Stamford Plaza is in a great position and we were able to wander along the riverbank boardwalk down to the Eagle St Pier restaurants where we had our choice of dinner venues. I'd recommend this hotel and we'll definitely take advantage of their Sunday night deals again. Great value and a very lovely experience!

Room Tip: Higher floors provide a better view of the river, although I think most of the rooms have lovely vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wils0ncm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear wilsoncm65

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your coffee during your stay! I am also a coffee fan and understand that a good coffee, just like "the little things", can go a long way.

We are very fortunate in terms of location and it was lovely to read that you were able to take full advantage of that. We often run accommodation specials here at the hotel - there's currently a $169 package available over the Easter weekend if you were thinking of visiting again soon!

Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

A time warp - rooms remind me of something out of the 80s. Comfortable, however the dreaded twin beds pretending to be a queen drive me crazy.... Bathroom large and well equipped, room a good size with great views. This is a nice hotel however certainly not worth the $400 a night charged.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Rowie1

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us concernig your last visit here at the Hotel.

I was little surprised by your comments regarding the room decor; that is the first time I have seen them described as such. However, in saying that, we certainly do value all feedback so your comments will be taken in to account for when next we refurbish our rooms.

I was disappointed to read your sleep was disturbed by the bed. When next you visit, we do hope that we can assist in meeting your bedding requirements to ensure a better night's sleep.

Overall, it does seem you enjoyed your stay. We often run excellent accommodation packages, such as $169 per night for the Easter Weekend, so hopefully we can assist with one of those deals for a future stay.

Safe travels and best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 159 in Brisbane
2,337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#27 of 159 in Brisbane
4,081 reviews
1.4 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 159 in Brisbane
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#23 of 159 in Brisbane
1,585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#28 of 159 in Brisbane
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Property: Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Address: Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#22 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stamford Plaza Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing