We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand stay at the Stamford”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Ranked #28 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Booked a night in Brisbane city to celebrate 21st wedding anniversary and chose the Stamford. Arrived early and checked baggage with concierge and was contacted later to say room was ready; upgraded to deluxe with bags waiting in room. Bottle of complimentary sparkly awaited us on our return from evening on the town. Room and service was fantastic; this was our third stay and will be returning.

Room Tip: Rooms near elevators can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Jeff S

Thank you for choosing our hotel for such a special occasion! And I'm so glad to read that we made a bit of a fuss of you too!

Once again, congratulations and Happy Anniversary! We hope to see you here for the next one (if no before!)

Best wishes

Charmaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,538 - 2,544 of 2,900 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 24th and 25th December 2012. It was chosen as a special treat for Christmas. Our room was on the 21st floor (and there are only 22). The room was decorated with style and immediately we felt right at home. The bathroom was decorated in lush marble and well appointed. Lovely views from our room over the Brisbane River to Kangaroo Point. The hotel is just across from the botanic gardens and is easy walking distance to the CBD and riverfront restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms above about level 7 have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frangi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear frangi55

It was great to read you enjoyed your first stay with us!

We are very fortunate in terms of location and have fantastic views from our rooms - especially on Riverfire Night; that is a great night to be at the hotel.

When you next visit Brisbane I hope you choose to stay with us again.

Safe travels and we hope to see you soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Stayed here after a business dinner nearby, location is excellent, all the rooms have great views of the brisbane river, ask for a room away from the lifts as ours was next to them and the persistent "ding" as teh lifts arrived meant that i was up earlier than we would have liked.
Bathrom is big and bed was very comfortable airconditioning controls did not work and temperature varied quite a bit.

Breakfast buffet was below par for a hotel of this calibre, quality just wasnt there in all of the items i ate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Dear Anthony T

I was disappointed that you did not get the restful night's sleep that you were hoping for - or that we would have liked you to have received. When you do stay with us in the future, by all means, advise us of any room requests that you may have and we will do our utmost to assist.

I have mentioned your comments regarding the air conditioning to our Chief Engineer. Without knowing the room number, it is difficult for us to check, however he has made a note of it and we will fix the problem once we have narrowed down the room.

I have also spoken with our Executive Chef regarding the breakfast buffet. He will change his own roster and that of our other senior kitchen staff so that they can better monitor the buffet from day to day.

Overall it seems you did enjoy your stay with us, which is wonderful. We wish you safe travels in 2013 and hope to have you with us again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Spent 3 night here, room was nice very large bathroom with separate tub and shower. Wished the shower was a bit cleaner, had mould in the grout. Plus they did not replenish the toiletries, had to call down and didn't get any until the next morning. Kind of shocking since I paid a fraction of the cost at the Meriton on Campbell in Sydney and they replenished everyday, even when I didn't need it. The bed was kind of soft, had lower back pain after sleeping here. Anyways, the location was close to all the attractions, so at least that was a plus. Didn't eat breakfast here, went to Woolworths and picked up some items for breakfast and stored it in the fridge.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ylc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Dear ylc25

It was great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our location.

I was disappointed by your comments regarding the shower, however it is important to note that we are in the process of regrouting all our showers, floor by floor, which will certainly rectify that problem.

I was sorry to read that you did not receive the toiletires until the following day, even after requested; as a norm a staff member would deliver these to your room straight away. I will chase this up with or Executive Housekeeper to ensure that such guests requests are met promptly.

We hope that when next you visit you have time to experience the breakfast or seafood buffet in the Brasserie on the River, or a fun night out at Kabuki, our Japanese teppanyaki restaurant.

In the meantime, we wish you safe travels and hope to you have you with us again in the future.

Best wishes

Charmaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Being a very regular business traveller to Brisbane (about 130 nights a year) I've tried a few Brisbane hotels. I decided to move on from my regular hotel and give the Stamford Plaza a try. The location is very good being easy walking distance from Central station (down Edward St) and close to Botanic gardens and the River cat ferry. I had a King room on the 3rd floor overlooking the river. Room size might be considered a little small, but taking the size of the very large bathroom into account, the overall room size is good. I really appreciated the extra space in the bathroom....a welcome change from many other hotels. The room decor is getting a little tired, but holding up (just). The tv was one of the usual hotel movie channel types that start to drive you mad after a few days as it returns to the hotel promo channel everytime you turn it off. The picture quality was average on most channels and poor on a few. The bed was comfortable and view good. A good hotel, but not great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reckless_abandon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Dear reckless_abandon8

We are certainly fortunate in terms of location and it sounds like you were able to take advantage of that during your stay with us.

All guests look for that little something in a hotel room that will make them feel comfortable, and it appears that on this occasion the larger bathroom was the preference for you; it's great to see that we were able to provide that for you.

We are in the process of replacing our televisions, which is a big job and is something we are keen to do. Quite often we can fix poor tv reception / chanel quality straight away. Should you stay with us again and have the same concerns, please advise one of the team so that can assist in rectifying the situation straight away.

We wish you safe travels for 2013 and look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Best wishes

Charmaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

The Stamford Plaza delivers on the comfort, elegance and the athmosphere of a 5 star hotel but on this occasion there were a few small things that could have been better. After a wonderful dinner at Kabuki restaurant we decided to have a drink at the Pav bar before going our on the town. We ordered a Mojito and to our amazement we were told they could not make one as they had no Lime. Question is how can a 5 star hotel with a many restaurants not have some Lime? All in all our stay was fantastic but these little things just take the shine off it

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eqirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Eqirish

Your question regarding the lack of limes is a very good one. I myself cannot explain that, however rest assured I have spoken with our Food & Beverage team regarding this, to ensure their mis en place is 100% at the start of their shift; that they have all their "tools" ready, fridges stocked and menu items available. I will chase this personally to ensure it does not reoccur.

I do hope the remainder of your visit was issue free and that you enjoyed your night out on the town, and a late & lazy breakfast the next day. I will also let the Kabuki team know you enjoyed your meal that night; they work very hard in that restaurant to ensure all our guests have a great time, each and every time they come.

Safe travels in 2013 and we look forward to having you with us again soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed in a King Deluxe room with breakfast and valet parking included. The hotel looked nice enough and the foyer and reception were tastefully done. Overall the hotel was quite good however it was the little things that were lacking to give it an exceptional rating. For example when we went to breakfast on the terrace (which was amazing) there were two wine glasses and a beer bottle sitting in a planter box right near the coffee stand. We also saw the remnants of someone night next to a planter box in front of the antique shop that is part of the entrance walk way into the hotel and this was still there are 10:30. So to me it was these things which should be taken care of at a 5star hotel that were left wanting. The rooms again were nice enough but nothing to rave about. I will say the location is really beautiful if you like a walk through the botanical gardens or along the foreshore. The staff at reception were lovely however the waitstaff seemed to busy to answer any questions.

Room Tip: If you can wait until the last minute as deals for better rooms become available for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyTravellerQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear FamilyTravellerQld

I was disappointed to see that it was a few little things that let you - and us - down during your recent visit. With regards to the bottles and glasses you have found, we have now amended our opening and closing procedures to include a very specific check of the gardens and pot plants around the food & beverage outlets and Concierge to ensure we don't miss these kinds of items.

I will also touch base with our Food & Beverage manager regarding the attentiveness of the restaurant team to ensure that their focus is where it should be.

Overall, it does appear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the breakfast which is fantastic. We hope the little things do not deter you from staying with us in the future.

We wish you safe travels and hope to have you with us again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#22 of 169 in Brisbane
2,464 reviews
1.4 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 169 in Brisbane
1,206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#31 of 169 in Brisbane
4,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#26 of 169 in Brisbane
1,669 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane
0.8 mi away
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Spicers Balfour Hotel
#6 of 169 in Brisbane
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Address: Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#23 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#28 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £107 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stamford Plaza Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing