We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Wedding 14.2.13”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Ranked #23 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Wedding 14.2.13”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

To Andy & Team!

Me and My wife planed our wedding at a short notice (which is not a norm, as it takes years of planning and execution) and on the Valentine’s Day (to be romantic and also to top up our worries. You would know if you are in hospitality business).
In spite of all these perceived hurdles, I and my wife decided to go ahead and make it happen. As you all know, bride and groom are important for a wedding, at the same time lot of other components need to be brought together for this to happen. Here came ANDY & TEAM at Stamford plaza to our rescue. Nothing was a bother to this gentleman and for the hotel.
As we were in such pressure for time and trying to decided and confirm things as early as possible as our wedding is on valentine’s day, Andy pulled his years of experience and his personal contacts in making this all happen.
We can go on and on writing praises, particularly for this individual, at the same time we also have to acknowledge that the hotel would have given him this freedom to create such magical moments in one’s life a reality and more beautiful than once imagination.
We personally would like to thank each and every individual directly or indirectly involve with our wedding through Andy, as he was the one who made all this happen. THANK YOU AGAIN TO STAMFORD AND ANDY IN PERTICULAR.

Manoj & In Young (Kate)
Wedding day - 14.2.13

Room Tip: A bit lower floor and story bridge view (9th and 10th floor are awesome)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manoj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear Manoj R

What a great day your wedding was! A few of us took the time out to check on your day - not that we needed to, as Andy had everything covered as usual. You both looked like you and your guests were having a great time.

Valentine's Day certainly is a busy period, as you know, and though we had several things going on, a wedding is always a little more exciting for us!

It was a pleasure to have you with us on this special day and we thank you for your wonderful comments.

Congratulations once again and I'm sure we will see you again soon

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,209
    730
    275
    87
    56
See reviews for
254
1,291
99
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

On arranging a pre-Christmas get-together with relatives in Brisbane, we booked our accommodation into Stamford Plaza Brisbane. GOOD CHOICE! Upon our late arrival from Perth, reception staff greeted us warmly, followed by a very comfortable room overlooking the river. Buffet breakfast was included in our package and we must say it was superb. Sitting on the terrace, leisurely enjoying an array of delights provided by Stamford Plaza, is something everyone should experience at least once in their life. Not to mention the seafood buffet night and afternoon high tea, they were also a real treat. The location was ideal, short walk into the city centre alternatively transport was just at the front door. The staff and atmosphere at this hotel is something we will definately be indulging in again.

Room Tip: Riverview rooms are a treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willtravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear Willtravel12

It was lovely to read that you were able to indulge during your stay with us!

I have done the flight to Perth on a couple of occasions and it is a long one! It sounds like we could check you straight in to your room, which is great.

I have just spoken with one of our pastry Chefs, Grant, who is busy fussing over lunch and high tea at the moment. A couple of guests just mentioned to him how much they are enjoying their day. I aslo passed on your comments to him and I think you have now made his day! Our food & beverage team works very hard and it's great to pass on some positive feedback, so thankyou.

We hope to see you over this side again in the future (and early Merry Christmas to you!)

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We booked a room for Saturday night which was on the 15th level overlooking the river .The tarrif included breakfast and valet parking .We thought it was good value.The room was comfortable ,beds very good and for a large hotel which we were informed fully booked very quiete allowing for an uninterrupted nights sleep.Bathroom and appointments very good.Lifts fast with little to no wait.Staff very helpful and friendly.
Hotel is easy walk to a wide choice of restuarants,city cat ferries.
We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Pete056

It was lovely to read that we were able to tick a few boxes for you!

We do offer some great packages - the most popular being those which include parking and breakfast. We do some great show packages as well, so keep an eye out for those.

Location is certainly key and we do hope you were able to take in the sights during your visit.

We wish you safe travels in 2013 and look forward to having you with us again soon

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

There is not one bad thing i could say about this pleace. i loved staying there. rooms- very clean with house keeping cleaning the rooms daily, Breakfast was beautiful. we had a great view of the river. If you want somewhere nice and upper class to stay i recommend to stay here.
And try all there Restaurants. THEY ARE AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Renae L

What a great review! So happy to read that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel!

I hope you had time for a cocktail in the bar, some teppanyaki action in Kabuki and a lazy breakfast in the Brasserie - that's what I try to recommend!

Thanks for choosing the Stamford for your visit to Brisbane. We hope to see you again when next you're in town!

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

My husband and I stay at Stamford Plaza Brisbane quite often, but we may never go back to this place after my bad experience having High tea over there with my girl friends.

There were a multiple wedding ceremonies, so lobby was really crowded. High tea was served at the lobby, but it was noisy and crowded. Food was quite average, and some of F&B staff were not friendly, and we also were asked to pay half an hour before it finish. One of friends who supposed to come couldn't be there because of harsh weather condition, however we were asked to pay for the person who did not turn up although I was never informed this.

Overall, I think I will find another hotel to spend my special occasions. Very disappointed..

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Jay L

We were very disappointed to hear of your High Tea experience. This is certainly the experience we aim to deliver.

On the day of your high tea, we had a number of functions at the hotel and, due to the poor weather, needed to move a number of them to different locations to accommodate. We see this did impact your high tea and for this we apologise.

I know that since your visit you have spoken with our Food & Beverage Manager and sent a separate review via the hotel website, which we have responded to. As you are aware, a gift voucher is on its way to you so that you can dine at the hotel one again and experience it the way it's meant to be.

We look forward to having you with us again soon

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed here on 16 February for one night. We are locals, and it was the first time we had stayed here. Nice hotel in a really good location, but a little tired though. Definitely needs a paint and a clean on the outside, especially around the pool. Our room on the 16th floor had a great view of the river and southern suburbs. The room was clean and comfortable, the bed was very comfy, the bathroom huge, with good toiletries. We had breakfast in the hotel's brasserie. Nice food, but the ambience of the area is a little tired. Still surprised after all these years they still have their outside area under a removable roof with plastic drop walls - I think that's a little shabby for a high end hotel. But the view from the outside area is very nice. Overall, a really nice stay, and would recommend it to anyone who likes to be able to stroll to bars and restaurants. There's a good walk along the river too, and it's in close proximity to the Queen St mall shopping precinct.

Room Tip: Higher floors have good views, especially if you can get a room that looks towards the Story Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nvios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Nvios

It was great to read that we had a local visiting us for the night!

We have quite a number of works on our list at the moment, one being a refurbishment of the Brasserie Restaurant and marquee, and of course the general upkeep of the hotel.

We are certainly fortunate in terms of location and I do hope you were able to get out and about during your stay.

We thank you for choosing us for a night out in the city and we hope to have you with us again in the future

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in a delux room with stunning views overlooking the Storey Bridge. We found the location to be excellent within walking distance of most of the sights of the city. Yhe bathroom was lovely, the bedroom a little on the small side for a delux room but nonetheless nicely appointed and serviced.
We had the buffet breakfast which was quite good. We also ate in the Brassiere on the River which was also good. My only complaint was that on one of the night only the japanese restaurant and the Pav Bar were serving food. I don't like japanese food and the Pav Bar had some sort of event in progress. We were therefore told we could eat in the Hotel lobby whilst ordering in the Pav Bar. Our food took forever to come and the only way to speak to anybody was go back in the Bar, wait to be served, then the bar tender went in the kitchen to relay the message. I saw my food go out of the kitchen through the lobby into the bar for the bar tender to bring it me when he was free by which time it was cold and the cycle repeated. I was not the only diner in the bar to experience this. In a 5 star hotel if you are going to close the restaurant for a night and serve food in the lobby then have dedicated serving staff in the lobby. Apart from this we really enjoyed our stay in Brisbane.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertino2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmaine_SPB, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear robertino2012

I was a little disappointed by your comments regarding our Lobby Dinner service. From what I can recall, that may have been the first night that we had opened that area as a restaurant which, I imagine, is why the service was not at the level it should be.

We actually opened the area again last night for dinner, with designated service staff, and from all accounts it ran very well. Please do not feel your experience is the norm here at the hotel, as we do continually strive to improve all our service experiences across the board and our evening lobby service is one of those we are currently focusing in.

It was great to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that when you next visit that you will also enjoying the evening dining experience.

We wish you safe travels and look forward to having you with us again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#28 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,967 reviews
1.4 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#17 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,293 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#25 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Property: Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Address: Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#22 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#23 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing