We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location but a bit tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Ranked #24 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Glenelg, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location but a bit tired”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I spent 5 days in Brisbane recently and was pleased with my choice of hotel as it was within easy walking distance of lots of cafes and sights. The hotel however is a bit dated and needs a renovation to bring it up to 5 star hotel standard. The staff were friendly and helpful, and there was a lot of choice in eating places nearby. The lighting in the pavilion bar could be improved-as a single person I always take a book or newspaper with me when eating out but it was dark I couldn't read it! This aside it is a great location as it is within easy walking distance of the ferries and only a short taxi ride to Southbank (which is also within walking distance if you want an extended stroll!) I would stay there again. And as usual with most hotels in Australia wifi access costs you an arm and a leg!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Glenelg,

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your 5 day stay with us. You are correct; our location is splendid for exploring Brisbane City and outlying areas. Edward St, where we are located has become known as Brisbane’s high street, with designer stores and International collections with the Queen St mall just a 5 minute walk away as well. The free City Hopper Ferry which docks just 300 meters from the hotel, is another great way of exploring some of the city’s surrounding suburbs along the river and is favourite for many of our guests.

Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding the lighting in the Pav Bar. The hotel is on a continuous upgrade program, retaining our heritage look and feel while striving to meet our guests’ needs for modern amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Brisbane.

Best Regards,
Nadine Saye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,209
    730
    274
    87
    56
See reviews for
254
1,290
99
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Best hotel in town :-)! Plenty of nice areas within the hotel just to sit and enjoy a drink and a relax.

Try a suite just adds to the experience. Breakfast by the river well worth a visit.

This was a wedding gift, I stayed the night before the wedding and my husband and I on the night of the wedding. Returned to our room to find a bottle of wine and a congratulations card on behalf of the hotel nice touch !

Room Tip: Room with a view of the Story Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Themis4962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Valued Brisbane Guest,

Congratulations on your Wedding! You are most welcome for the bottle of wine as we always enjoy helping our guests celebrate special occasions. Our Suites are a popular option for Wedding guests as the lounge area and the additional dressing room allows extra room when getting ready, something always appreciated by bridal parties when getting their hair and makeup done. Thank you for the wonderful photo of the Story Bridge, we are all looking forward to Riverfire coming up 27th September and the fireworks off the Story Bridge.
Thank you for your review and we hope we may welcome you back for many more celebrations to come… perhaps an anniversary visit?

Best Regards,
Nadine Saye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Location was exceptional being in a quieter part of the City (on the weekend), only a few blocks to Queen Street mall (busy), but located on the River.

Eagle Street Pier (with various bars and restaurants) and a good option for breakfast too was only a few minutes walk away. Having said that, the Hotel grounds had no shortage of options for a drink at a bar(s) and food.

Checkin, checkout and room was what I expected from a 5 star hotel and did not disappoint.

I requested a room with a view to the Story Bridge and was allocated one - the view did not disappoint.

This Hotel would be my first choice when returning.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view to the Story Bridge - Deluxe rooms are allocated towards top 6 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCME2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Top Contributor from Sydney,

We are thrilled to read we will be your first choice of hotel when returning to Brisbane! It looks like you stayed in one of our Deluxe rooms. These rooms are located between the 15th and 22nd floor, giving spectacular views of the Brisbane River with views of either the Story Bridge or Kangaroo Point Cliffs. For a $30 upgrade fee you receive added extras such as deluxe LÓccitane bathroom amenities, complimentary drink vouchers and internet. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Brisbane.

Best Regards,
Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
401 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had our first experience at a Stamford Hotel, over the weekend.

The service started with the Velet parking, which make the stay a lot easier than trying to find parking that does not cost you your right arm, we got the parking as part of the package.
The foyer and reception areas are quite opulent but feel comfortable.

Reception was busy but reasonably quick and staff were friendly and happy for a chat, apparently you can get someone to take your bags to your room but we couldn’t find anyone so carried them ourselves, when we got there the electronic keys didn’t work and after a phone cal to housekeeping it took a while for someone to come and let us in our room.

The room was wonderful, large and comfortable and had all that we needed including the shoe shine and a needle and thread (I had to use both) the view over the river was fabulous.
The bed was a king and very comfortable, and there was no noise from next door or the hallway.

Breakfast was also part of the package and was very good; there were three types of egg including an omelette and all the standard hot and cold foods; a very good fruit bar, cereal bar and patisserie. It was busy and the staff were a bit slow to remove the dirty dishes but otherwise a great place.

Overall: This is not a place I would normally stay as the price is well over what I budget for a hotel; HOWEVER this was a wonderful experience and am glad I paid the extra money to stay here.
Get the valet parking and breakfast package.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wizard60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Top Contributor from Brisbane,

We are delighted to read your first stay with us was wonderful. It looks like you booked on our Winter Warmer Package. With 15% in savings, this is a great value option starting from $243 per night including a sumptuous buffet breakfast as described in your review and valet parking. It is especially lovely sitting on the terrace enjoying your breakfast while watching the ferries and rowers share the river of a morning. Thank you for review and we hope we may welcome you back again soon – keep an eye out for specials on our website.

Best Regards,
Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Stamford Plaza for two nights recently. We were immediately impressed with the hotel's brilliant location, and the friendly welcome and excellent service we received on check in.

This hotel is ideally located a short walk to Eagle Street Pier (excellent selection of good restaurants and bars) and the CBD. Southbank is a short stroll over the river if you want to venture a little further. The hotel itself has no less than 2 bars / restaurants attached if you want to stay in.

The Plaza impresses as an elegant hotel inside, but to be honest our room could have really done with a freshen. The paint was peeling above the shower and the room and bathroom were fairly dated. The bed was soft and I ended up waking up sleeping in a ditch - I think the mattress was past it's useful life!

Unfortunately our room had an interconnecting door to the next room. This was not really soundproof and we quickly grew tired of the loud noises and screaming of the children next door. I'm not sure why hotels continue to persist with this setup, although I can see how it would he handy to larger families.

On the plus side, we did have a nice river view from our room, and it was otherwise quiet.

In summary, I would recommend the Stamford Plaza for those looking for a great location in Brisbane, but I wouldn't rate it 5 stars, it felt closer to 4.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Justyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Valued Sydney Guest,

Stamford Plaza Brisbane have 18 interconnecting rooms including our Diplomat and Stamford Suite. Adjoining rooms are still in demand, sometimes for security reasons for high profile guests as well as extended family groups, for weddings or other events held in the hotel or nearby Botanical Gardens. This past weekend several Brisbane marathon teams were delighted with the interconnecting arrangement. We appreciate your honest feedback and we would make a personal profile note attached to not allocate an adjoining room during your next visit. Please call me direct 07 32320211 and I will update this for you. We can also inspect the maintenance in your specific room to ensure that it is on the top of our preventative maintenance programme. The school holidays were a busy time especially with the winter offers we had in the market place.

All 252 rooms were given state of the art hospitality beds only last year, however they are fitted with plush mattress toppers and like all 5 star hotels we rotate the mattresses on a quarterly basis to ensure a good nights sleep.

We are very fortunate with our location as you mention. Both Eagle St Pier and Southbank are thriving with lots to see and do. Southbank has been full of activity over the last few weeks with Le Noir Cirque performances for the next 2 weeks and Lion King starting 21st September. Special 30 day advance booking discounts are available on our website.

Once again thank you for your feedback and please don’t hesitate to contact me with further information.

Kind regards,

Nadine Saye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have stayed at the Stamford a few times, and it is always an elegant stay, and very good value. We had an exec room with amazing views over the river, and a dinner and breakfast package will valet parking. Excellent value, and of course we will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vixster66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Valued Return Guest,

The Stamford Meal Deal Package is fantastic value as you mention, especially if you are staying Sunday night as we allow you to park your car all day Monday until 6pm. Great if you have a meeting in the city or want to do a little shopping…
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Nadine Saye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a luxurious stay at the Stamford Brisbane. The attention to detail was amazing. Clean, classy and comfortable. Beautiful views across the river to the Story Bridge. Perfect for a romantic getaway.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Riverview on a top level with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeddahRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your high recommendation as the perfect romantic getaway. Our hotel is a favourite for celebrations such as birthdays, anniversaries, weddings and engagements. For romantics we have our Romance and Seduction package with candles, champagne and romantic music as you enter the room. Next time you join us, please feel free to ask our reservations team about our packages which may add to your romantic night away.

Best Regards,
Nadine Saye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#28 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,964 reviews
1.4 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#25 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Property: Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Address: Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#22 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing