We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a face lift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Ranked #24 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Needs a face lift”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stay there once or twice a year for business but now I felt it is getting too tired. It needs a good facelift. This applies to rooms, facilities, garden (but pool and reception areas are still nice). Even the hot water could be hotter. Good points: location, service, breakfast.

Room Tip: Fantastic river views so ask for that side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niv T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Valued Senior Reviewer,

Stamford Plaza Brisbane is fronted by the Victorian splendour of the Port Office Building, built in 1880. The old world charm and elegance of this era is still portrayed inside the hotel to this day with many heritage features and antiques. As we run on such high occupancy we are reviewing the opportunity to refresh during a quieter period. We are currently replanting the gardens so we hope you will enjoy these on your next visit.

For future reference, our rooms are fitted with a safety device in the showers to ensure people do not burn themselves. The water is set to a maximum of 38 degrees, however if you do require hotter water, you need to push the little red button on the tap.

Thank you for your review and we hope we may welcome you back again on your next visit to Brisbane.

Best Regards,

Nadine Saye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,349
    817
    299
    96
    61
See reviews for
280
1,435
107
556
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

My wife & I stayed here for one night as a bit of a splurge in a nice hotel sort of weekend. It certainly didn't disappoint and the service & attention to detail was as you would expect from a five star hotel. A nice touch was the guy who bought our Moët to the room (we stayed on the Moët & breakfast deal) who went to a lot of trouble to suggest opening the curtains right up and positioning our chairs to take advantage of the setting sun light over the river. The hotel is ideally located especially if you are heading out for dinner with most of Brisbanes finest eateries located within a five minute stroll.

The bed was really comfy with an accompanying pillow menu (again as you would expect in a five star). The room was very quiet and we had a nice sleep in & awoke to read the Sunday paper from our chairs still looking at the river.

My only criticism would be the hot food in the buffet breakfast. I thought the bacon was under cooked and the scrambled eggs a bit watery but all in all I would thoroughly recommend staying here for a nice couples weekend

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brisvegas_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Valued Brisbane Guest,

Mini breaks are such a great way to unwind and recharge the batteries and our staff love making our guests’ stay memorable. It is very relaxing watching the river of a night time with a glass of Moet in hand.

Thank you for your feedback on the bacon and scrambled eggs. Your comments have been forwarded to the chef for review. Please feel free to ask for eggs and bacon cooked to order as our chefs are always more than happy to oblige to ensure your preferences are met.

We hope we may welcome you back in the not too distant future to enjoy another break away.

Best Regards,
Nadine Saye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyne Island, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed for two nights at the Stamford Plaza Brisbane while attending a theatre show and couldn't have been more than happy with the accommodation and service, we had complimentary Wine and delicious sweets because there had been a very minor oversight in our booking. Very impressed with the Hotel & staff

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Brisbane River
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very fortunate to have some wonderful shows at Queensland Performing Arts Centre (QPAC) at the moment. Both Queensland Ballets’s, Florish and Le Noir – The Dark Side of Cirque are proving very popular at the moment and we are of course very excited about The Lion King starting in September. Thank you for your lovely review and photos. The Wheel of Brisbane offers spectacular 360 degree panoramic views of Brisbane. Located next to QPAC in the Southbank Parklands it is a great option to do before or after the shows.

We trust you had a safe trip home and hope we may welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Nadine Saye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenelg, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I spent 5 days in Brisbane recently and was pleased with my choice of hotel as it was within easy walking distance of lots of cafes and sights. The hotel however is a bit dated and needs a renovation to bring it up to 5 star hotel standard. The staff were friendly and helpful, and there was a lot of choice in eating places nearby. The lighting in the pavilion bar could be improved-as a single person I always take a book or newspaper with me when eating out but it was dark I couldn't read it! This aside it is a great location as it is within easy walking distance of the ferries and only a short taxi ride to Southbank (which is also within walking distance if you want an extended stroll!) I would stay there again. And as usual with most hotels in Australia wifi access costs you an arm and a leg!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Glenelg,

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your 5 day stay with us. You are correct; our location is splendid for exploring Brisbane City and outlying areas. Edward St, where we are located has become known as Brisbane’s high street, with designer stores and International collections with the Queen St mall just a 5 minute walk away as well. The free City Hopper Ferry which docks just 300 meters from the hotel, is another great way of exploring some of the city’s surrounding suburbs along the river and is favourite for many of our guests.

Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding the lighting in the Pav Bar. The hotel is on a continuous upgrade program, retaining our heritage look and feel while striving to meet our guests’ needs for modern amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Brisbane.

Best Regards,
Nadine Saye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Best hotel in town :-)! Plenty of nice areas within the hotel just to sit and enjoy a drink and a relax.

Try a suite just adds to the experience. Breakfast by the river well worth a visit.

This was a wedding gift, I stayed the night before the wedding and my husband and I on the night of the wedding. Returned to our room to find a bottle of wine and a congratulations card on behalf of the hotel nice touch !

Room Tip: Room with a view of the Story Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Themis4962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Valued Brisbane Guest,

Congratulations on your Wedding! You are most welcome for the bottle of wine as we always enjoy helping our guests celebrate special occasions. Our Suites are a popular option for Wedding guests as the lounge area and the additional dressing room allows extra room when getting ready, something always appreciated by bridal parties when getting their hair and makeup done. Thank you for the wonderful photo of the Story Bridge, we are all looking forward to Riverfire coming up 27th September and the fireworks off the Story Bridge.
Thank you for your review and we hope we may welcome you back for many more celebrations to come… perhaps an anniversary visit?

Best Regards,
Nadine Saye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Location was exceptional being in a quieter part of the City (on the weekend), only a few blocks to Queen Street mall (busy), but located on the River.

Eagle Street Pier (with various bars and restaurants) and a good option for breakfast too was only a few minutes walk away. Having said that, the Hotel grounds had no shortage of options for a drink at a bar(s) and food.

Checkin, checkout and room was what I expected from a 5 star hotel and did not disappoint.

I requested a room with a view to the Story Bridge and was allocated one - the view did not disappoint.

This Hotel would be my first choice when returning.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view to the Story Bridge - Deluxe rooms are allocated towards top 6 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCME2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Top Contributor from Sydney,

We are thrilled to read we will be your first choice of hotel when returning to Brisbane! It looks like you stayed in one of our Deluxe rooms. These rooms are located between the 15th and 22nd floor, giving spectacular views of the Brisbane River with views of either the Story Bridge or Kangaroo Point Cliffs. For a $30 upgrade fee you receive added extras such as deluxe LÓccitane bathroom amenities, complimentary drink vouchers and internet. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Brisbane.

Best Regards,
Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had our first experience at a Stamford Hotel, over the weekend.

The service started with the Velet parking, which make the stay a lot easier than trying to find parking that does not cost you your right arm, we got the parking as part of the package.
The foyer and reception areas are quite opulent but feel comfortable.

Reception was busy but reasonably quick and staff were friendly and happy for a chat, apparently you can get someone to take your bags to your room but we couldn’t find anyone so carried them ourselves, when we got there the electronic keys didn’t work and after a phone cal to housekeeping it took a while for someone to come and let us in our room.

The room was wonderful, large and comfortable and had all that we needed including the shoe shine and a needle and thread (I had to use both) the view over the river was fabulous.
The bed was a king and very comfortable, and there was no noise from next door or the hallway.

Breakfast was also part of the package and was very good; there were three types of egg including an omelette and all the standard hot and cold foods; a very good fruit bar, cereal bar and patisserie. It was busy and the staff were a bit slow to remove the dirty dishes but otherwise a great place.

Overall: This is not a place I would normally stay as the price is well over what I budget for a hotel; HOWEVER this was a wonderful experience and am glad I paid the extra money to stay here.
Get the valet parking and breakfast package.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wizard60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Top Contributor from Brisbane,

We are delighted to read your first stay with us was wonderful. It looks like you booked on our Winter Warmer Package. With 15% in savings, this is a great value option starting from $243 per night including a sumptuous buffet breakfast as described in your review and valet parking. It is especially lovely sitting on the terrace enjoying your breakfast while watching the ferries and rowers share the river of a morning. Thank you for review and we hope we may welcome you back again soon – keep an eye out for specials on our website.

Best Regards,
Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#22 of 159 in Brisbane
2,338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#28 of 159 in Brisbane
4,084 reviews
1.4 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 159 in Brisbane
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#23 of 159 in Brisbane
1,586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 159 in Brisbane
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Property: Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Address: Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#22 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stamford Plaza Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing