We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Ranked #24 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our second time at this lovely hotel, it may well become our annual treat. Being local doesn't mean you can't spoil yourself with a stay.
Everything about this hotel was spot on. Our room, a standard king, was tastefully decorated in a traditional style and had a fantastic view of the Story Bridge, the lights are beautiful after sunset, and a comfy bed. The bathroom is huge with separate bath & shower. The hotel is marvellously quiet, no slamming doors and no noise from adjoining rooms.
We enjoyed a pre dinner drink in the bar before strolling up to the nearby restaurants along the river and a leisurely breakfast on the hotel terrace over looking the river. The breakfast buffet was generous and had a great range of choices; including a separate area offering gluten free options for those who need to be careful.
The hotel is just a short walk from the CBD and the restaurants along the river. The Botanic Gardens are right next door for a relaxing stroll or your morning jog.
All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Sue K,

Thank you for returning to stay with us. A night in the city is often a great way to remind ourselves what a fantastic city we live in and enjoy some of the events on offer. From Opera in the Reservoir to NRL games or the Riverside Markets on a Sunday there is something for everyone to enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next city break.

Best Regards,
Nadine Saye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,209
    730
    275
    87
    56
See reviews for
254
1,291
99
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed one night and were delighted with the friendly and accommodating service, generous upgrade, lovely views, decor with style, satisfying breakfast and competitive price. I won't hesitate to come back at the very next opportunity!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 58anna58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Valued Brisbane Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you loved your stay with us and enjoyed the uninterrupted views of the Brisbane River from your room. We do have some fantastic deals and packages and we encourage you to check out website for your next booking. Our 30 day advanced booking rates are also a great option. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Nadine Saye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This a wonderful hotel to stay at. The rooms are large and comfortable, the bed especially so. Good views from the rooms of the city or the river.

Excellent facilities with a heated pool, plus the hotel has several eating options and a nice bar. We enjoyed the daily buffet breakfast, plus had a buffet seafood dinner one night, opting to eat from The Pav another night.

Service from the staff was excellent.

The hotel is well located, it is only 4 blocks from the Queen St Mall and lots of major shopping spots (handy for the girls).

The only gripe (as such) which others have also noted is this rubbish of being charged for Wi Fi. If its good enough for overseas hotels to provide free Wi Fi then Australian hotels should be doing the same. The prices being charged are simply a rip off, better to bring your own wi fi device with you.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a room up high to enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Massai7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Valued Top Contributor,

We are pleased to read you were able to take advantage of our various dining options and facilities we have on offer. The spa pool can be just the ticket after a hard days shopping – a great place to relax and watch the comings and goings on the Brisbane River. We are lucky to be located on Edward St – considered Brisbane’s “High St”of fashion as well as a short walk to the Queen St Mall as you mention. We do offer half and hour complimentary wifi access to our in house guests in our lobby and are sorry to read you were not advised of this. We thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Nadine Saye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
224 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed there for 5 nights on a business trip and really enjoyed the hotel. It looks a bit old fashioned, but in a nice way. Staff were very friendly and efficient, both at check in and check out. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. My room was good, clean, with excellent view.

The location of the hotel is ideal. Many restaurants and shops are within easy walking distance. If you cross the street you are in the botanical garden, great for relaxing. I usually started the day with a walk through the garden along the river.

I would certainly choose this hotel again on my next visit to Brisbane.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest from The Netherlands,

We are pleased to read you were able to take advantage of our fantastic location. A walk in the Botanic Gardens is a wonderful way to start the day. The path through the middle of the gardens then back along the river allows you to enjoy the wonderful greenery of the gardens as well as the calming water views of the Brisbane River. Stamford Plaza Brisbane is fronted by the historic Port Office Building and we acknowledge that with the many fine antiques, rugs, furniture and art work; our hotel has a charm and style of another time. We are delighted to read we are now your hotel of choice in Brisbane and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Brisbane.

Safe travels,

Nadine Saye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Second stay here, service was amazing. From the valet who organised our rental car to be returned, to the early check in, to the chef who organised a take home box of our fav dessert. Room had a great view, bed was comfy, seafood buffet super delicious and breakfast buffet nice. Will stay again

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chillyolanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Valued Return Guest,

We are thrilled to read you had an amazing second stay with us. The chefs will be pleased to receive your feedback on the Seafood Buffet as they work hard to provide a large selection to cater to all tastes, from Oysters, prawns, mussels to traditional roast meats, curries and abundant salads and vegetable offerings as well. We thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back for your third stay in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Nadine Saye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

What a great experience. We had Hi Tea, Breakfast, both so yum with such a choice, excellent. Such a lovely room. Excellent views. Fantastic service. Car parked for us. List goes on.
Only issue, no free wifi, we've stayed in a few nice hotels now & I can't believe they still need revenue from wifi? Our nightly fee should cover this.
All the same, if u can afford it. Stay here.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Valued Senior Contributor,

We are delighted to read we wowed you during your stay. We are well known in Brisbane for being the home of high teas, so we are pleased you enjoyed one of these during your stay. Our Chocolate High Tea Buffets held in the Brasserie overlooking the Brisbane River is always a favourite for chocolate lovers. Alternatively our Lobby High Tea or Morning High Teas offer a more traditional style with delicate sandwiches, scones and beautiful sweets all served on a 3 tiered stand. We do offer half and hour complimentary wifi access in our lobby and are sorry to read you were not advised of this. Thank you for your recommendation to fellow travellers, we most certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Nadine Saye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Stamford in early August while in Brisbane to catch up with family. Location is great. Right on the Brisbane River our room had a view. Our room was a good size, bed was comfortable. Bathroom was large. There are certain aspects of the room including bathroom that need updating but nothing that would deter me from staying again. Service was good. We had breakfast at the hotel on the first morning as we had to pick up a rental car at 9.30am so really didn't have time to linger over a leisurely breakfast. While choice on buffet breakfast was wide and varied I only had fruit and toast so I am not sure how they justify charging $42pp for breakfast. We did get the weekend deal of $35pp but even so! Day 2 we wandered along to the Riverbar restaurant and sat outside and enjoyed a cooked breakfast coffees and juice for half the price. Having said that, that really is my only gripe. I would stay at the Stamford again just not eat breakfast there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine S, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Valued Tasmanian Guest,

We are sorry to hear of the miscommunication that has taken place regarding the charging of your breakfast, as you should have only been charged for a continental breakfast. Please feel free to contact me directly regarding this on 07 3232 0211.

We are pleased to advise we are in the process of developing an a la carte breakfast menu for guests who prefer something smaller and lighter than a full buffet selection as well.
Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,
Nadine Saye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#28 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,965 reviews
1.4 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#25 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Property: Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Address: Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#22 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing