We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“basic but ok if the price is right”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sebel Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Brisbane
Ranked #21 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney
Level Contributor
121 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“basic but ok if the price is right”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

On the upside the hotel is well positioned if you need to be in central Brisbane but it is a no frills hotel. On the down side the check in can be very slow with reception also seeming to double for any external phone enquiry. The rooms are on the small side for this town and somehow mixed in with owner occupied apartments so there are rules, at least in theory, about how many guests you can have and when. There are few on site facilities and only one cafe/bar facility but in fact there is no bar, certainly not the type i would take a client to. Price may be what makes you stay, it is certainly much cheaper than the Hilton around the corner and unless you have access to the Hilton lounge is difficult to justify the price of the latter if all need is somewhere to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Dear Bunehop,

Thanks for your review and balanced commentary. We're sorry to hear there was a delay with your check-in on this occasion. This is not normally the case, though we will certainly share your remarks with our team to ensure they focus on this important service. Maximum occupancy for each room type follows the normal rules imposed in all hotels, apartment-style or otherwise, so I would be keen to learn more about the cause of this feedback. If you would be so kind as to contact me directly, I would be more than happy to clarify this. Thank you once again for letting us know about your stay.

Kind regards

Tom Bloomfield
General Manager

DDI: 07 3224 3510
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    404
    132
    23
    13
See reviews for
202
298
66
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We went to Sebel to stay for our wedding anniversary and found it an excellently located and central hotel to stay at. All amenties were in good condition and rooms were a great size.
Definately stay there again..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank NathanCase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Dear NathanCase,

Many thanks for your review and happy anniversary! We're glad we were able to complement your occasion with a great hotel stay. We also appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience.

Kind regards

Tom Bloomfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We have stayed at The Sebel Suites before and this was the second time since the rooms were renovated. On our last visit the room was well furnished,but the unusual shape ruined the functionality. We chose The Sebel because it is an all suite hotel.
This time we had a room on the 28th floor which had a great view and was very quiet. The room was well furnished and spacious, much bigger than most hotel suites.the bathroom was small but functional. The only downside was the kitchenette, which detracted from the overall appeal of the room. For some reason nothing was done in this area, when the rooms were renovated. Stone benchtops and new cabinet doors would give the space a lift and increase the overall appeal of the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 00BCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear 00BCK,

Thank you for your posting and for your return business. We're glad you enjoyed the suite and also take on board your comments regarding the kitchenettes. Though they are very functional and provide a great alternative to Room Service dining, we have commenced planning to refresh them in exactly the way you have mentioned, towards the end of this year. We hope you will have a chance to visit afterwards and let us know what you think.

Kind regards

Tom Bloomfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiangyin, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Wanted to have a weekend away with my wife and our new born baby. Did the review and mixed reactions from reading them. So I bit the bullet and booked it.

All I can say is, I will be coming back again, and when I do, will upgrade to the full suite.

The stay at the front desk were friendly when we checked in. Even though the baby cot was not in our room when we first got there, it was there in no time.

The room was clean and tidy. A few of the features are old and need replacing, while the rest is modern.

Location, location, location!!!! Just so close to everything and everything in walking distance.

Only negative thing I have to say is that the tv reception should have ALL of the free to air channels. Footy was shown on channels which were not included but available on free to air.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Marco T,

We're glad to hear that your 'punt' paid off. We do strongly recommend that you try one of our suites when you next visit. Hopefully we can ensure all channels are tuned so you don't miss any important footy action. Thanks for your feedback.

Kind regards

Tom Bloomfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
Level Contributor
247 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

The Sebel Suites provides great accomodation right in the heart of Brisbane. My room was large and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. I dined in the restaurant downstairs for breakfast and dinner. There was a wide variety of foods in the buffet and the service was good. Best of all the Sebel is just a street away from the Queen Street Mall which offers a great shopping experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Nan S,

We appreciate your posting and our team are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all our facilities when you visited. We hope to see you again when you next visit from Townsville.

Kind regards

Tom Bloomfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Stayed four nights and had the best sleeps. We were on the 27th floor with great views. Myer Centre and Queen street Mall a block away. Palettes restaurant for breakfast and dinner was excellent And the Royal Albert restaurant fab as well. Highly recommend this beaut apartment accommodation with perfect location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Paulineb140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Paulineb140,

Many thanks for the feedback and great to hear you had a relaxing stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards

Tom Bloomfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

This hotel, once very well appointed, has rooms that are now looking tired and worn. The room was clean enough, but the fittings and fixtures are definitely dated and could certainly do with an update, especially in the living / dining ares of the suite I was in. I conducted business meetings there throughout my stay, and it didn't give the opulent feel it once did.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank alangmsbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear alangmsbw,

Many thanks for your review. As a returning guest, we would be very interested in speaking with you to learn more about your experience - specifically, when you last stayed with us and exactly which features you feel no longer seem opulent. We are sorry to hear that you did not have the same feelings about our hotel as when you visited us last, however we would be keen to tap further into your observations. I would really appreciate it if you could contact me at the number below. In return for your additional feedback, I would be keen to offer you an exceptional rate on your next visit to Brisbane.

Kind regards

Tom Bloomfield
General Manager

T: +61 7 3224 3500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#14 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#12 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#27 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
0.2 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#17 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Brisbane

Property: The Sebel Brisbane
Address: Cnr Albert and Charlotte St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Brisbane
#8 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#18 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#21 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sebel Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Sebel Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Sebel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing