We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant surprise”
Review of The Sebel Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sebel Brisbane
Ranked #30 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    418
    135
    25
    16
See reviews for
213
306
69
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The one bedroom apartment was disappointing. The balcony overlooked an office block and had no furniture, on asking staff I was told the the furniture was too light, so was blown over!!! The bath & bedrooms were small. The bath needed a hand rail to prevent slipping on entering or exiting the bath/shower. The bed was vewry soft, not good for my fragile back. The in room menue was very poor, I ordered a Pinon Noir & got a Seminon Blanc! The position was very good, 5 mins walk to Queen St Mall. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triciatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear Triciatraveler,

Many thanks for letting us know about your experience and I'm sorry to hear it did not live up to your expectations. I would be happy to discuss this with you directly and do whatever is required to restore your confidence. Please contact me at the number below. I look forward to speaking with you.

Kind regards

Tom Bloomfield
General Manager

T: +61 7 3224 3510
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

As always the Sebel has everything I need, regardless of traveling alone or with my family.
Great position, great front desk staff.
Rooms are well appointed with the option of a fold out bed for unexpected guest. Spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank hkgrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear hkgrol,

It's so nice to receive feedback from our regular guests and good to know we're providing you with an experience that keeps you coming back! I note that you've rated us 4 out of 5. We hope you will let us know what we can do in the future to receive your full endorsement. Many thanks for your review.

Kind regards

Tom Bloomfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Well I suppose it compares to similar establishments such as the Oaks but on the whole I can only give an average review. The one bedroom apartment was exactly that, a one bedroom apartment. It was fit for purpose and nothing else. Ok for a couple of nights, depressing for any longer. Dark blue carpets combine with soulless interior decoration to ensure that you spend the minimum time in the room. Our room was overlooked by numerous office blocks and the unfurnished balcony made taking any advantage from some outdoor space completely unusable. The absence of any wifi apart from the reception area adds to the gloom but, fortunately, friendly check in staff add a touch of humanity to the experience.
Not a bad location but sleep interrupted at night from building or road work outside which combined with continuous drilling noise made sleep fitful at best.
Bed small and bedding not good quality, next time I will use the Mantra on Southbank, ok, more pricey but worth the extra.
I guess, as in everything in life, you get what you pay for.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WhamBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear WhamBrisbane,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We're really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit. Naturally, a great night's sleep is extremely important, so it's a concern to us that yours didn't live up to expectations. Our bedding is Sealy Posturepedic and the minimum size is queen, with most being kings (unless a split twin format is requested). We are aware that there was some overnight Council-approved road work which took place recently. We unfortunately weren't advised about this in advance, which is disappointing. However, it is certainly a rarity and barring exceptional circumstances like this, our guests all receive a peaceful and relaxing sleep.

Our WiFi has now been installed in all guest rooms, so we hope this will remove some of the gloom you were feeling. If you're staying in central Brisbane again soon, we'd love to try and win you back as a customer. Please contact me personally at the number below and I'll arrange a great incentive offer. Thanks again for providing us with your comments.

Kind regards

Tom Bloomfield
General Manager

T: 07 3224 3510
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Great location. Clean renovated rooms. Superb service. Will stay again. Perfect for short or long stay (we passed through launceston). Only fault is that strangely parking is charged ($8) even though there is ample in the car park and street.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear Vincent G,

Thanks so much for your review - we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. To answer your query, overnight parking is charged, as with most central city hotels, however we review our rates annually to make sure they are in line with other venues.

Kind regards

Tom Bloomfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Have stayed here before, mainly for the location. The rooms are clean but the rooms are a little outdated. It is a very central spot if you are after a visit to Brisbane city. Handy to all the Queen Street shops etc. Prices are average but comparable. The staff are helpful and friendly. With doors closed, was not at all noisy. Will stay again when next in Brisbane.

Room Tip: Ask for upper level with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Dianne M,

It's so nice to hear from our return guests and we appreciate your comments about location, facilities and service. We're currently working towards some upgrades in early 2014, so we hope you will approve of our new look bathrooms. Thanks again for the review.

Kind regards

Tom Bloomfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#8 of 159 in Brisbane
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#13 of 159 in Brisbane
976 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#16 of 159 in Brisbane
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 159 in Brisbane
1,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#22 of 159 in Brisbane
2,338 reviews
0.2 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#9 of 159 in Brisbane
2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Brisbane

Property: The Sebel Brisbane
Address: 95 Charlotte Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Brisbane
#8 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#18 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#30 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Sebel Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Sebel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing