We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel for a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sebel Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Brisbane
Ranked #22 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great hotel for a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Awesome location in the heart of Brisbane, close to everything, Queen Street Mall is just one block away and Central station a 5-10 minute walk. Valet parking is available but free parking is also available. Staff is friendly, efficient & very helpful. I would definitely recommend getting the buffet breakfast as part of your package. Many different options for food and entertainment around the hotel. Walking distance to QPAC and the Treasury Casino. We will definitely be back. I recommend this hotel for its location and staff to all who want a getaway in the city.

Room Tip: the twin rooms only have singles, be aware if you like to stretch out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pocketgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Great to hear you found our hotel's location and service ideal for you. We also appreciate your favourable comments about breakfast. Thanks for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    404
    132
    23
    13
See reviews for
202
298
66
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cairns
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Many thanks to staff, couple of small problems sorted very quickly
Good location for shopping very handy to mall
Library also good option for free activities for children
Family room has everything we needed

Room Tip: Family room excellent ,plenty of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Sebel Brisbane and nice to know our team quickly sorted out any small issues. Thanks for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I have stayed at Sebel a couple of times. They have changed certain things over the course of the year so this is an update of sorts.

First off, the real estate hasn't changed and so in this respect it remains unbeatable. The location doesn't get any better for shopping. Lots of good dining options nearby so there's little need to limit yourself to the in-house restaurant (although we will get to that in a moment). Also close to the casino and the Botanic Gardens.

The apartments are good. Not pristine and modern like the Meritons however better than the nearby Oaks selection. Some would argue they need a refurb but I don't think they are crying out for one.

They finally did it. Install wireless internet, that is, in 2013.

Don't bother with the Premium Apartments. It's a fairly mundane view of the surrounding buildings predominantly. Worse still, they've changed around the restaurant breakfast menu. Previously you could order one item off the ala carte menu, which was excellent, then you had a continental buffet and barista coffee. Now you get the small and standard hot buffet options and no barista coffee. To my thinking that's a downgrade.

Overall then, I still like the Sebel. The fact they've sorted out the internet is major positive, and although the breakfast is a downer, it's a fairly minor quibble. It's dearer than the nearby options but it's also the best of them.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clifford712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Clifford712, thanks for your review and we appreciate this feedback from a regular guest. We are always looking at ways to improve our facilities and service, such as the WiFi inclusion. Early in 2014 we will be refurbishing our bathrooms and kitchens. We're also happy to make changes to our breakfast offering in response to customer feedback, so we'll take your comments on board in an effort to keep improving the customer experience. I hope we'll see you again soon and that you'll continue to keep in contact to let us know how we rate. Regards, Tom Bloomfield - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Our mistake, we just assumed that the "Sebel" would be top shelf. We found the apartment to be quite cramped, stuffy and expensive for what was on offer. As we were in transit and only had to stay overnight it was adequate. Any longer and we would have gone elsewhere. Intending guests should be aware that this not a Sebel Hotel, so you will find it a little sub par if that is what you were expecting.
The reception staff were lovely and very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Percy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Percy T, I'm naturally disappointed that your stay didn't live up to expectations. The variance between your comments and the majority of our feedback via Trip Advisor suggests to me that something has definitely gone awry to tarnish your experience, for which we apologise. I would like to find out more and determine the best way to respond to you. If you would be so kind as to contact me directly on the number below, I would be most appreciative. Kind regards, Tom Bloomfield - General Manager. +61 7 3224 3510 (DDI).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#15 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#12 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#19 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#26 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Brisbane

Property: The Sebel Brisbane
Address: Cnr Albert and Charlotte St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Brisbane
#8 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#18 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#22 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sebel Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Sebel Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Sebel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing