We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of The Sebel Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Brisbane
Ranked #28 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed two nights in a one bedroom apartment room on the 7th floor for business purposes.
Rooms are spacious (I believe I was given a disabled room) and well-appointed with furnishings.
Room cleanliness was lacking.
Kitchenette- there was strands of hair in the refrigerator, the glasses in the kitchenette had to be washed before use, and it was overall grubby.
Bathroom/laundry: the tiles in the shower were filthy, the shower was a hospital style shower with a curtain around a shower which drainer in the wrong direction out towards the carpet in the living room I had to use a towel as a barrier to stop the water. The washing machine and dryer combo was ok but the dryer didn’t dry very well. No hair dryer in the bathroom.
The balcony was large and tidy.
The bedroom was clean enough, and the bed fairly comfortable.
Lounge/dining area: was clean only down side the sofa bed when as a couch is fairly uncomfortable.
Room service meal, was fairly basic and average quality and I wouldn’t recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomes1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Reviewer, thank you for letting us know about your experience following your recent stay with us. We're sorry to hear that your visit was not up to the standard we normally present and I would be very keen for you to contact me directly so I can address your concerns. I can be reached via email at H8778-GM@accor.com. Kind regards, Tom Bloomfield - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    412
    135
    25
    15
See reviews for
210
303
68
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We recently stayed here while in Brisbane. The location was great, within very easy,walking distance to restaurants and Queen Street Mall. The one bedroom apartment was spacious except for the very small bathroom. The décor and furnishings were tired and in need of modernising. There needed to be some colour in the room instead of brown and beige. The suite felt dull and dingy on entering and the views were just of buildings which I suppose is understandable as it is in the city. Check in and check out was efficient and the staff very friendly . Internet access was over pricey. I can get free internet in most places I stay. Not sure if I would stay here again except for the great location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xena100bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thanks for providing us with balanced feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate your comments and will certainly take due note of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

As a business traveler, I stay at quite a few hotels and apartments and I tend to try and spread the love so to speak. However, I am now narrowing down my selection and this one has definitely made the shortlist. I will be comparing it to the Quay West as my trip was broken up over these 2 apartments.

After a easy early check-in, I settled into my room which was well layed out for a 1 bedroom apartment with the only downdise being bathroom size and the slow internet speeds. The balcony nice size but the view is limited as your in the middle of the city. The bathroom was small (the size of a large apartment walkin wardrome and i am never a fan of a curtain shower and shower. I received a welcome drink of house wine which was a nice touch as an Accor member...

The aircon worked very well and the bed was a plus. It was quite warm during my stay so this was definitely a big plus.

The rest of the stay was great. Here is a summary of the hotel points:

Sleep quality: 4/5
Gym: 3/5 (Rather small and treadmill made more noise than the city streets
Location: 4.5/5 (very convenient for business travelers)
Food: 4/5
Overall welcome-ness: 5/5 Very quick check-in/out and
Aircon/heating: 4.5/5
Bathroom: 2.5/5 (shower curtain and over shower bath.... C'mon, lets upgrade!)

Now the comparisons between the better Accor apartments being the Sebel vs Quay West
Sleep quality: Sebel wins
Gym: Neither, go outside for a run instead.
Location: I preferred the Quay West Suites as its quieter, however the Sebel is closer to most business'
Food: Draw
Overall welcome-ness: Draw (although Quay West gave me a bottle of wine as opposed to a welcome glass of house wine)
Aircon/heating: Sebel hands down
Bathroom: Quay West hands down

As you can see its close 2 positives and 2 negatives for each. For me probably, the Quay West by a whisker, however their aircon is a worry and in summer the Sebel would be better.

Room Tip: Room 2602 was good (small bathroom though)! If i came back i would ask for this same room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Hi Chris, thanks so much for your detailed review. No matter which of our two apartment-style hotels came out on top in your comparison, we're glad to have a loyal Accor customer who also lets us know how we're rating. You'll be pleased to know that our bathroom refurbishment commences this week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peregian Beach
Level Contributor
139 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I've stayed at this hotel quite a few times over the years. The location is great, right in the city and a 3 minute walk to the mall. I often just pay for a basic room but most of the time it will be a one bedroom with balcony, so always happy to get a complimentary upgrade.
The rooms are fine, a little dated but I understand they are refurbishing the hotel so might be worth asking for a refurbished room.
The service at reception is always very good, the staff are delightful and more then happy to help as much as they can.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hi Terri, thanks so much for your review and great to have you back with us again. We are indeed commencing a refurbishment of our bathrooms and apartment kitchens shortly, so we hope you and our other regular guests will like the new look. Our Sebel Hosts at reception always aim to offer a truly warm welcome, so we appreciate hearing your comments confirming this. Once again, thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We found that while the room was comfortable, we didn't feel it was 4 1/2 star standard. Starting to date in places like the bathroom and kitchen and the furniture was a little knocked around in our opinion. King bed was ok but sagged towards the middle. We were on a higher floor and the view was quite nice of the inner city but the wait for lifts was painful at times. Reception staff were excellent and very friendly. It is pretty well located in the CBD. The buffet breakfast was the biggest let down. We arrived at 9.20am (closes at 10am) to the downstairs restaurant to find most dishes empty, bread and bakery items all but empty and all looking quite messy. Granted it was a busy Saturday morning but they appeared under staffed and the wait for things to be topped up, if it was, took quite some time. We overheard quite a few of the guests complaining. A request for some sauces to the waitress was completely forgotten as they struggled to clear tables and keep up. For $32 a head, it was poor quality and poorly serviced. I don't think we would consider this hotel again as a supposed 4 1/2 star option for us or to friends.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank themac71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate the detail you have provided and will certainly look into the issues raised. Comfort and condition in our rooms as well as breakfast service are important areas, which we take seriously and we once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Sebel is in a fantastic location, in the heart of the CBD, just 5 minutes walk from the botanic gardens, Queen Street shopping area (including Coles and Woolworths), the Treasury and Eagle Street pier. The central station, for the half-hourly trains to the airport, is about a 10 minute walk away.

The room was terrific – in keeping with the Sebel proposition - it had a spacious sitting room, a very well equipped kitchen (microwave, large fridge, washing machine, etc, etc), large balcony with excellent city views including the Brisbane Wheel (see photos), plus a separate bedroom. It was very quiet. However, wi-fi was excruciatingly slow and there was no in-room safe.

The front desk team were delightful; free apples were also on offer.

The fitness centre had a small outdoor pool plus sun deck.

I would very much like to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airlineconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#9 of 157 in Brisbane
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#11 of 157 in Brisbane
929 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 157 in Brisbane
1,169 reviews
0.2 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#12 of 157 in Brisbane
2,609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Brisbane

Property: The Sebel Brisbane
Address: Cnr Albert and Charlotte St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Brisbane
#8 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#18 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#28 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Sebel Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Sebel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing