We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, excellent rooms!”
Review of The Sebel Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sebel Brisbane
Ranked #29 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, excellent rooms!”
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Stayed here for one night as a stopover en route to Hong Kong.
Had a one bedroom suite overlooking the (heated) pool, which was lovely- very big with seperate bedroom and living/dining area with well equipped kitchen.
Cannot fault anything at hotel, excellent hotel, very close to shops, bars, restaurants! Definetly recommend!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkletravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    418
    135
    25
    16
See reviews for
213
306
69
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed 5 nights and while location is good the service just let's it down. Was glad to leave


First room had a shower that would go from scolding hot to cold without you needing to touch the controls. Fortnately we were moved and the next room had a shower that worked. All be it water pressure was poor

Breakfast is a challenge. The order you place and what you receive has a 60 percent chance of not matching. Raw is the speciality. First morning was raw sausages. On last day we rushed in 30 minutes ahead of when we needed to leave hotel. Order of poached eggs and asking if could be cooked as previous day eggs were still running as in raw.

32 minutes walking out to cab and 2 raw poached eggs had just been placed on the table. That was after asking after 20 minutes how order going.

Staff are pleasently but poorly organized

Lots of better alternatives than this hotel

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hey345k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

I stayed here for a long weekend, wanting somewhere near the CBD as I was meeting up with friends and didn't have a car to get around the city. Firstly, let me admit that I am a Sydney-sider and hadn't been to Brisbane since World Expo 88...and I won't be back in a hurry...but that's not really the fault of the Sebel Suites. I booked via lastminute.com (one of those mystery hotel deals) and had no problems on arrival, was put in a one bedroom suite on the 19th floor that was large and had nice city views out the windows. Comfy bed, big enough bathroom for a single traveller. On my second day, returned to find a tea bag (not mine) left by housekeeping in the middle of the floor, on my third day they didn't bother emptying the bin in the bathroom. There were also some marks on the bathroom tiles (like they hadn't been cleaned) and the bed linen. The "gym" was one treadmill, some bikes and a couple of weights in a tiny room. The curtains didn't close properly so the morning sun prevented any sleep-in! The lifts from the 19th floor often took around 5 mins to arrive, which was annoying. Little things that didn't wreck my stay, but make the difference between somewhere just ok and somewhere good/great. This is somewhere ok for a short stay, but you could do better.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddofrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth western australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Check in was advised that parking was $25 PER DAY for 8 day stay OUCH
Expedia states parking was avaliable but didnt mention price
Hotel lobby a bit bland not what was expected for 4 star hotel.
Rooms were very average but came with a compliamentary half full baby bottle of milk which was very on the nose.
Main reason for choosing this hotel was for washer and dryer in room. Dryer did not work properly and wouldnt dry clothes and we were told tempreture had to remain on lowest due to safety concerns and subsequently had half a dozen pieces of clothing were ruined.
Location for hotel was fantastic and along with the bed were the only descent thing in hotel.
4 lifts operating 30 floors (although 1 was always being used as service lift) was very inadequate and waiting for lift often took 5 minutes
Last of the nasty surpises came upon check out. 2 STD phone calls Brisbane to perth totalling 15 minutes had us slugged over $60!!!!!!!!!!!!

So for 8 days parking and 2 phone calls added nearly $270 to the bill.
Most of the staff were pleasant but a few of the front desk staff were quite rude and abrupt

Wouldnt stay here again but location is nice, but hotel should be 2.5-3 stars Max

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cycobomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

This Sebel is not too far away from the Sebel Citigate and I have stayed at both and would recommend the Sebel suites over the Citigate. Our room was modern and very comfortable and we got an excellent rate on-line from rates to go. It is ideally located to walk to all the sights and lots of nice cafes and shops nearby too. The service was better and more personable than at the Citigate.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

This hotel is appalling - just don't even think about staying there. The service is non-existent and the staff act like guests rather than employees.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayneCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

fantastic facilities with an outdoor pool....rare these days. Smack in the centre of the city and the reception staff were amazingly helpful.

Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ropate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#8 of 159 in Brisbane
615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#13 of 159 in Brisbane
973 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#16 of 159 in Brisbane
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#28 of 159 in Brisbane
1,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#9 of 159 in Brisbane
2,755 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 159 in Brisbane
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Brisbane

Property: The Sebel Brisbane
Address: 95 Charlotte Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Brisbane
#8 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#18 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#29 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Sebel Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Sebel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing