We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money, restful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverside Hotel South Bank
Ranked #14 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Glenelg, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Value for money, restful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

We recently stayed three nights here for a weekend away to visit the Prado exhibition. We chose the Riverside for its easy access to the train in from the airport ( 5 minutes to the station) and its closeness to the cultural precinct and Southbank. In the end, we didn't see much of Southbank as we were so comfortable in the room and the food and beverage service was so good, we stayed in and didn't need to walk. Highly recommended for food, service, location and eagerness to please.

Room Tip: A rooms are soundproofed to a high degree
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BaygirlAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a remarkable feedback.

Your review has been posted on our board so that our entire team saw how their hard work is being perceived by our guests. I can assure you that you have made many people smile.

We were all so happy to see how you have enjoyed your stay, and that you would take your time to write it here.

As I have been trying to outline on most of our Management Responses, we have been working around the clock on improvements and on new and exciting things to ensure that your experience at Riverside gets heightened at every time you stay with us.

Once again, please accept my sincere appreciation for your review. I would like to put myself at your disposal at any future visit, please do not hesitate to get in touch with myself directly.

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    365
    188
    46
    27
See reviews for
164
320
80
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We chose this hotel as it was close to various locations we planned to visit on Brisbane Southbank. Discovered it was only a short stroll across the River to the CBD as well.Stayed two nights, would have happily stayed longer. Staff friendly and helpful, food and wine at reasonable prices. The meal we ordered for Room Service arrived promptly and piping hot. Room clean and comfortable. Good value for money

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalie_NMackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback.

Our team was very glad to read your review; I can assure you that comments such as yours serve only to boost their morale and to present you with an even better service on your next visit.

Many of our guests are not quite aware of what the Hotel looks like, and where exactly we are located, but when they get here, they tend to be pleased with our proximity to all the main areas of Brisbane.

Value for money is a major factor when deciding where to book, and we are pleased to see that we were able to provide that for you.

Please ensure to contact myself directly on your next visit to Brisbane, so that I may look after your accommodation personally.

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

We chose the Riverside Hotel on value for money as we were only staying for one night whilst attending a show at QPAC. Pleasant welcome on arrival by reception. Decided to remain inhouse for our evening meal - good choice! Great steak, fresh salad & hot mash.. Room 211 has the best bed I've ever slept in. Buffet breakfast in the morning was very enjoyable - everything was hot & fresh even though we arrived at the later end of the breakfast window. Well done everyone, we'll be back as the location to all Southbank attractions was perfect.

Room Tip: Great bed 211
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldCoaster T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

I was personally very happy to read your comments, to see that you have enjoyed your stay, that the welcome was pleasant and the food was good.

We have been doing a lot of improvements to the Hotel, and bedding is one of them, therefore thank you for the comment on the quality of the bed.

It will be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back at Riverside.

Please do not hesitate to contact myself directly upon booking your next visit to Brisbane.

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This was simply a great place to stay. The standard of the room was excellent, its location brilliant and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The free parking was a real bonus. It is only a few minutes walk from QPAC which was ideal for us as we were attending an event there. It provides great value for money so we'll certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robotiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a lovely feedback.

Location is a given, but we were really glad to see you have enjoyed your stay also due to our service and standard of the room. Free parking is something we enjoy providing, as most other hotels in the area will charge you around $25.00 per day for that, and we find that appalling.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon. QPAC has got great new shows coming up; please do not hesitate to contact myself directly whenever booking your room here at Riverside. It will be my pleasure to look after your accommodation personally.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write about your good experience with us.

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay!
The location is amazing. Anything and everything you need is within a 15mim walking distance.
All the staff were lovely and helpful - reception, management, housekeeping. There's even a restaurant located right next the to foyer... With room service!
For a relatively small hotel all in all s fantastic experience and defintely value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Purple_fairies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us through such a lovely review.

Your review has been shared with our entire team, and they were all exhilarated by it.

It is always inspiring to receive feedback from our guests, especially such a positive one.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back at Riverside Hotel and, as for that, I would like to put myself at your service for your next bookings, as I would like to look after your accommodation personally.

Once again, thank you very much for your patronage and your lovely praises.

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Stayed here overnight in july, I had an early morning flight. Its in a nice location, just a small stroll to the trainstation to get the air train. The rooms are on the small size, especially the bathroom, and it smelt. I left the door open to air it out and the smell went away, but the room in general was clean and had everything I needed for an overnight stay. If you intend to stay any longer than a night, then it probably better to get an apartment. For an overnight stay on a budget this is excellent choice. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnnie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a constructive feedback.

It is great to see our location was convenient, and I am happy to advise that AirTrain and Riverside Hotel have just entered a partnership. That means that you can now buy tickets at our Reception at a cheaper price and, furthermore, de display the AirTrain times on a screen on our lobby.

Regarding the smell, we have spoken to engineers and were advised that this happens sometimes in apartment buildings whenever a bathroom has not been used for a few days. Because the sink or shower was not utilized for a while, the pipes generated the smell. It is not usual, but it can happen. Our Operations Manager has advised that, should this happen, please contact Reception on the spot and the problem will be solved.

On the positive side, thank you for commenting on the cleanliness of the room and that it had everything one would require.

Our 1 Bedroom Apartments are self-contained and, as you mentioned, perfect for a longer stay.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and please do not hesitate to get in touch with myself whenever planning your next visit to Brisbane.

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on a work trip and had to organize accomodation with a budget in mind.
Overall really happy with this hotel.
Some noise issues by being so close to an overpass and main road. However only a short stroll along the river to Southbank. Close to CBD for work, and parking is free and access to lock up underground park is provided. Internet access is available, and breakie was basic but really good standard. I'd definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ant6974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to see you have enjoyed your stay with us and was happy with Riverside Hotel.

Some of our guests find that they cannot hear the noise from the bridge, while others can. It will be my pleasure to allocate you into a room on the other side of the Hotel on your next stay.

It is also great to see our facilities were up to speed with what you required, and that our location was valuable.

Thank you once again for recommending us, and please do not hesitate to get in touch with myself directly so tht I may organize your next visit.

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.5 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.5 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#37 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#18 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#58 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel South Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel South Bank

Property: Riverside Hotel South Bank
Address: 20 Montague Road, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Hotel South Bank 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Hotel South Bank is a AAA rated 4 star Hotel, located in Brisbane’s South Bank, which is known as the "precinct for business, art, culture, education, dining and living." Being built in 1998, Riverside Hotel is family operated and, as for that, prizes service and guest comfort above all. Comprised of over 90 rooms and apartments, we have an array of facilities on offer to make your stay a comfortable and enjoyable experience. Our standard rooms are perfect for guests staying overnight for a corporate function or if you are in town to watch a game at the Gabba or Suncorp Stadium, while our one bedroom apartments include a kitchenette and a spacious lounge area, so whatever brings you to Brisbane, our rooms provide a comfortable home away from home. Whether planning your visit for business or leisure, Riverside Hotel offers peace of mind to all our guests by providing complimentary car parking and being located within walking distance to all major tourist and business areas of Brisbane. During your stay with us, you will be mere moments away from the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, Lyric Theatre (QPAC), Museums and Art Galleries, not to mention being surrounded by a variety of over 40 restaurants, bars and coffee shops. Please allow us to reiterate that Brisbane C.B.D. and the Suncorp Stadium are also nearby. At the Riverside Hotel, you will be close to whatever brings you to Brisbane. Riverside Hotel does not just offer 4 Star quality in an ideal location, we also take pride in guaranteeing you the best rates in Southbank* for accommodation and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Hotel South Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing