We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a quick stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel South Bank
Ranked #12 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Buderim, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a quick stay”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

the Riverside Hotel in Brisbane is in a perfect position for the South Bank area.
We stayed one night as we were going to the theatre.
A basic hotel but clean and staff were helpful.
Our room was quiet. Smallish but 2 of us stayed very comfortably.
we will definitely use the hotel again.
Walking distance to Queen st and all or South bank, buses etc.
GOOD price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolineh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such lovely feedback!

Our “motto” is “Comfort, Location and Service”, and from your review, it seems we were able to provide you with all of those. Nothing makes us happier than to read such comments.

Many of our guests stay with us to see a play at the Theatre, so please be sure to get in touch with me on your next visit to Brisbane. It will be my absolute pleasure to organize your booking myself!

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    391
    196
    47
    31
See reviews for
178
352
81
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cooloola Cove, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stay regularly at this Hotel and will continue to do so. The staff are always very understanding & helpful, the rooms are spotlessly clean and adequate for stopover needs, the location is great, what more could we ask?
By the way.... there is a clear sign warning you to make sure your sliding door is locked when away from the room.
We will continue to stay whenever in Brisbane.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobandVanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your “short and sweet” feedback.

Your comments are lovely, and we sincerely appreciate your remarks.

Thank you for your comment about the signs, sometimes even the clearer signs are missed.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us; therefore please do not hesitate to contact myself directly and I will organize your booking personally.

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We booked this place for its location, as we wanted somewhere close to the convention centre for my partner and South Bank for myself and child. Lovely surprise, with amazing service from Reception girls and very nice brekky. Rooms were decent size, especially for the price we paid.
Did not have problems with noise, as other reviews mentioned. We will be back in November.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

First time guests usually book us for our location, which is pretty handy, as we are within walking distance to the city and South Bank, but our prices are, as you mentioned, much more reasonable than anybody else around.

I am candidly glad to see you had a good surprise, and that our reception team provided you with outstanding service.

Our Restaurant Manager was also very happy with your remarks about breakfast.

Noise is something that, as we always say, varies from person to person. We like to outline that our windows are double glazed and stop most of the noise from bothering our guests, therefore it is good to hear that you had no problems with it.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in November. Please do not hesitate to use my direct contact details as a reference.

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This was the third stop on our trip to Australia in August of 2013, and after having friendly staff at previous hotels, the staff here was cold. We always were made to feel like we were a bother, and answers were short, and not the best they could be. I was sent to an overpriced, lacking in variety IGA supermarket, over a much better Coles when I asked about picking up some groceries for the apartment.
As far as the apartment, it was clean, and the furnishing relatively new. Wifi was outrageous, and provided through a third party. As far as the neighborhood, a good live music pub and coffee shop are around one corner, and everything else is a bit of a walk, albeit an easy one.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher up room if you can, the view would be better there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hipfan14224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us.

First and foremost, please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have encountered while staying with us. I must admit I was shocked when I read some of your comments, especially about the staff. 95% of our guests usually praise our team for customer service and friendliness, and I was surprised to see it was not the case during your stay. I have spoken to all of our team about your comments, and ensured them that this is absolutely not the standard of service that we expect our guests to experience at Riverside Hotel.

Please understand that the reason why we usually send our guests to IGA, is merely because it is a lot closer than Coles.

I am glad to see that you have liked the room, as it has been recently refurbished. WI-FI, however, became a bit of a problem after we got flooded back in 2011. As we lost all of our equipment, the quotation price to put wireless internet connection throughout the entire Hotel was a bit over six hundred thousand dollars ($600,000.00), which we did not have. As for that, in order to still be able to provide you with the service, we were obliged to bring in an outside supplier (Azure), who supplies big hotel chains such as Radisson, Shangri-La, Rydges, Renaissance, Kempinski, Jumeirah, Four Seasons, Fairmont, Intercontinental, the Accor chain, Hilton and Hyatt. We honestly thought that, if they are dealing with such big hotel chains, they would be a good supplier for us as well. Prices are accessible, being $6.00 for 2 hours, unlimited download and stoppable clock. Please allow me to outline that Riverside Hotel also offers a computer in the lobby area, and our signature restaurant, Montague’s, is always happy to supply you with 30 minutes FREE WIFI when you purchase a coffee.

All things considered, it seems like at least you did enjoy a bit of your stay with us. I sincerely trust you will give us a second chance; therefore it will be my absolute pleasure to book you in myself.

Please also bear in mind that Riverside Hotel does not guarantee floors and/or sides of the building.

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here recently and found the location great. The room was fine for what we paid. The staff were friendly and helpful. It is within walking distance of the West End. It also has underground parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MazAlbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your brief and lovely feedback!

We simply love reading reviews that are “short and sweet”, especially on what you praise us for.

Location is a given, but friendliness of the staff says a lot about a Hotel, and I am sincerely glad to hear our team was helpful and friendly.

Brisbane is a severely difficult city to find parking and most hotels will, for that reason, charge for what they call “the benefit of parking”. At Riverside Hotel, we call “parking” just another service that we offer free of charge to all our lovely guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you back soon. Please do not hesitate to contact myself directly for any future bookings.

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here in August 2013 for two nights in a Std room on the ground floor. The rooms where clean but quite small and quite noisy especially early morning. Air-conditioned with all the normal tea making facilities in room. Easy walk to Southbank with its many restaurants and bars, Museums and The Queen Street Mall just across the bridge. We opted to prepay for breakfast rather than have to find it elsewhere, not exactly cheap for what was on offer, which was the normal buffet type affair but unfortunately everything was only just warm so was a little disappointing. More of a corporate hotel than a family type hotel But well located.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback.

I am happy to know you found Riverside Hotel’s location to your liking and that the rooms were nice and clean.

I was sorry to hear that you found the rooms small. We usually advise guests to always check the Hotel’s website before booking, so that you know exactly what you will be paying for. As mentioned on previous responses, Riverside Hotel has always ensured that we have pictures and floor plans of all our rooms on each website we are advertised, so that nobody is under the wrong impression when they book a room with us.

Noise sensitivity differs from person to person. Our windows are all double glazed in order to block out as much incoming noise as possible, but I am sure you will understand that, by staying in such a central location, there will be a minimal amount of noise from ongoing traffic, which happens to be negligible at night time.

Regarding breakfast, please accept my sincere apologies for it not being as hot as expected, I have personally spoken to the Restaurant Manager who was apologetic and advised that, should this happen, to please let us know straight away. On the other hand, we serve a Full Buffett Breakfast, with the exact same items as the so called “5 star hotels” of Brisbane. The only difference is that we charge $15.00 per person instead of $28.00 per person. If you could please advise us what other items you would like to see in the buffet and on what exactly we need to work on, we would be honestly happy to look further into it.

Should you be willing to stay with us again, I can assure you we will be highly pleased to welcome you back.

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hotel is nowhere near a 4 star. I've stayed in caravan park canins that are waaaaaay better than this. Musty rooms, horrible decor, old, worn gross couch and dingy old bathroom. Yuck. Photos on website are very deceptive and make it look stacks better than it actually is. Don't stay here (unless you can get a deal for $50 a night - that's all it's worth).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lkup24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a denigrate review.

Unlike most Hotels in Brisbane who “self-rate”, Riverside Hotel is actually rated by AAA (Accommodation Association of Australia). We receive annual visits, when they check our rooms and facilities. We always maintain our usual 4 star Hotel rating.

We sincerely find it strange that you would have stayed in caravan parks that offer the services, location and prices that we do. Riverside Hotel has always been proud to guarantee the best rates in South Bank.

All our rooms have recently been renovated, so it would be of great assistance to us if you were to inform us of which room you have stayed in.

Please also bear in mind that the photos on the website were taken using a normal camera, and we have strictly forbidden the use of Photoshop on any of our photos, therefore what you see on the website is exactly what we have to offer.

Please accept my sincere apologies for all the inconveniences you have listed, I can assure that this is not the standard of service that Riverside Hotel offers to its guests and patrons, as you may see by all the other reviews. That being said, please understand that 95% of problems that guests have at Hotels can be solved straight away, by merely talking to a Manager. Should you encounter further problems such as these in any other hotel, please ensure to let the Manager know and I can assure you he or she will action and solve the problem on the spot for you. Sadly, we cannot find out that you are unhappy with your Room unless you let us know. At that point, we will gladly solve the problem, so that you may actually enjoy your stay and not decide to “take revenge” with a bad review.

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.5 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#34 of 159 in Brisbane
2,020 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 159 in Brisbane
1,063 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
1.1 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#20 of 159 in Brisbane
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel South Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel South Bank

Property: Riverside Hotel South Bank
Address: 20 Montague Road, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Hotel South Bank 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Hotel South Bank is a AAA rated 4 star Hotel, located in Brisbane’s South Bank, which is known as the "precinct for business, art, culture, education, dining and living." Being built in 1998, Riverside Hotel is family operated and, as for that, prizes service and guest comfort above all. Comprised of over 90 rooms and apartments, we have an array of facilities on offer to make your stay a comfortable and enjoyable experience. Our standard rooms are perfect for guests staying overnight for a corporate function or if you are in town to watch a game at the Gabba or Suncorp Stadium, while our one bedroom apartments include a kitchenette and a spacious lounge area, so whatever brings you to Brisbane, our rooms provide a comfortable home away from home. Whether planning your visit for business or leisure, Riverside Hotel offers peace of mind to all our guests by providing complimentary car parking and being located within walking distance to all major tourist and business areas of Brisbane. During your stay with us, you will be mere moments away from the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, Lyric Theatre (QPAC), Museums and Art Galleries, not to mention being surrounded by a variety of over 40 restaurants, bars and coffee shops. Please allow us to reiterate that Brisbane C.B.D. and the Suncorp Stadium are also nearby. At the Riverside Hotel, you will be close to whatever brings you to Brisbane. Riverside Hotel does not just offer 4 Star quality in an ideal location, we also take pride in guaranteeing you the best rates in Southbank* for accommodation and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Hotel South Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing