We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riverside Hotel South Bank”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Hotel South Bank
Ranked #17 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Riverside Hotel is clean simple, basic and cheap.Stayed only one night and was every thing I expected. The bathroom had a terrible smell and I reported it to reception,told they were aware of the problem. Uses of perfume and the door closed, wasn't so bad. Short walk across the bridge into Queen Street mall. Great location and would stay again but not room 307. My friend had room 304 overlooking the city perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

650 - 656 of 985 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Riverside Hotel offers great accommodation, is very well priced and is in a prime location. South Bank has the best of what Brisbane has to offer and this hotel is located right in the centre of it all.

If you still want to visit the city or other areas of Brisbane, you are only 7 minutes walk to the nearest train station and two short stop and you are in the city. However if you wish to get some exercise and while staying in Brisbane and still want to venture into the city, all the motivation you need to go for a walk is the beautiful South Bank board walk along the Brisbane river.

You can either cross the bridge into the city or keep walking along the board walk into an array of fine dining, cultural centres or even divulge in the infamous chocolate that is Max Brenner. Either way you wish to do it, Riverside Hotel is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Booking somewhere just outside of the city but not in the heart of it allows you to still have the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The rooms were clean and spacious.
The location was excellent and close to the city, Southbank and the Convention Centre.
The staff were very friendly.
The staff were more than helpful at front desk.
Buffet breakfast beautiful and fantastic staff working.
Free carparking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jasmine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My nephew and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean and well appointed. I felt that the bathroom was a little dated but it was clean.

Our service from the housekeeping department was really great. Everything was done to a very high standard. All housekeeping staff we bumped into in the hallways were very friendly and always had smile on their faces.

Breakfast was delicious and the staff were very friendly and efficient.

We loved the location and ease of access to both the city and Southbank.

I would like to make special mention of the reservationist/receptionist Claire. Her email correspondence was always quick and professionals whilst also being friendly. She was also our receptionist when we checked-in. Her smile and cheerful manner were fantastic and a great way to start our stay.

Overall we had a great stay and would stay again if/when we come back to Brisbane.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnieTac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here so we could see an exhibition at the Gallery of Modern Art. A very short walk to the gallery, also museum, theatre, etc. Again a short walk over the bridge to Brisbane Centre. Great location. Good price (specials available, incl breakfast). Even managed a special in the restaurant (Chicken Schnitzel and a Corona beer for $10). Staff very friendly and obliging (letting us leave our car in the free car park while we went to the exhibition). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Mum and I were pleased with the location and quality of the rooms. The restaurant was also quite nice with decently priced, tasty meals. Only two blocks from the cultural arts centre and train station. A short walk to the bus stop and a couple of dollars bus fare gets you over the bridge into the city or if you feel like it, it's only a 10-15 minute walk instead. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed just the one night for a show at the Lyric theatre. So easy to walk to the theatre and restaurants. The hotel was very reasonable, very clean, the reception staff were more than helpful and very friendly.

The room was spacious with a nice decor, a sliding door to a small balcony made it even more appealing for me as I like fresh air. Parking was easy and safe with plenty of spaces.

Will book here again for another show later in the year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlondieNoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#36 of 169 in Brisbane
2,118 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#30 of 169 in Brisbane
1,231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.4 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#60 of 169 in Brisbane
1,599 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel South Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel South Bank

Address: 20 Montague Road, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range: £63 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Hotel South Bank 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Hotel South Bank is a AAA rated 4 star Hotel, located in Brisbane’s South Bank, which is known as the "precinct for business, art, culture, education, dining and living." Being built in 1998, Riverside Hotel is family operated and, as for that, prizes service and guest comfort above all. Comprised of over 90 rooms and apartments, we have an array of facilities on offer to make your stay a comfortable and enjoyable experience. Our standard rooms are perfect for guests staying overnight for a corporate function or if you are in town to watch a game at the Gabba or Suncorp Stadium, while our one bedroom apartments include a kitchenette and a spacious lounge area, so whatever brings you to Brisbane, our rooms provide a comfortable home away from home. Whether planning your visit for business or leisure, Riverside Hotel offers peace of mind to all our guests by providing complimentary car parking and being located within walking distance to all major tourist and business areas of Brisbane. During your stay with us, you will be mere moments away from the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, Lyric Theatre (QPAC), Museums and Art Galleries, not to mention being surrounded by a variety of over 40 restaurants, bars and coffee shops. Please allow us to reiterate that Brisbane C.B.D. and the Suncorp Stadium are also nearby. At the Riverside Hotel, you will be close to whatever brings you to Brisbane. Riverside Hotel does not just offer 4 Star quality in an ideal location, we also take pride in guaranteeing you the best rates in Southbank* for accommodation and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Hotel South Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing