We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Astor Metropole Hotel
Ranked #126 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
171 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Not so bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed in Brisbane from July 5th to the 9th and that meant a very expensive night of July 6th when the State of Origin Game was on and most hotels were fully booked; that's the reason why we stayed at this BW up on Wickham Terrace. We paid 170 AUD/night which was "cheap" then. But of course way too expensive for what you get.
Location is OK; it's only a short walk to CBD and it's a quiet place.
The room we got was on the 12th floor in the new building and came with a kitchen which I had not expected ( we didn't use it anyhow ). Room was very light and spacious; good lighting; beds were not too comfortable because rather hard. The servicing of the room was a bit weird : every day we had to call reception to get either small towels, bath towels or a face wash.
Reception area is a strange place; you enter an old building and when going to the elevator, you pass a sort of no-man's-land and then up on your floor you realise you're in a newer building. They were also redoing the breakfast area and terrace and I had the impression there had been a change of management recently ( this is only a guess ).
All in all, we didn't have too bad an experience staying at this BW, but you would expect better for a BW !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dezdemona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    113
    110
    61
    130
See reviews for
78
141
68
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bargara, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Interesing parking-spacesaving but can take a little time. Spacious clean accommodation (a little dated) with parking for a small cost. Close to CBD, transport and hospitals. Balcony great for watching the city activity regardless of view. Will return

Room Tip: Airconditioner works only when the balcony door is closed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anetg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We arrived in Brisbane early in the morning, having never traveled there, we went to our hotel to drop off bags as it was too early to check in. We asked for directions from the front desk staff who pointed us in the wrong direction. They informed us that we would be able to check in early, at 10:00. When we returned at 11:30, we were informed that our room was still not ready by rude staff. We sat in the lobby over an hour and a half before a new desk person came in. When we asked about checking in, he told us our room still wasn't ready but that there were plenty of other rooms that were available. This was frustrating, because one can assume we were waiting there for hours for no reason! The room itself was small and dirty. We had no towels and washcloths, when we called the desk to ask for some, it took 45 minutes for someone to bring them up, they never brought washcloths after many requests. There were several other small irritations (no WIFI, broken washing machine in the room, etc.). Overall, I would not recommend staying at this hotel. The only good thing about it was it's convenient location to Southbank and the Queen's shopping center area, which is great when you have accurate directions to get there!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank herickse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Arrived at 10. No mini bar, room service couldn't give me a drink. Food had to be collected.

AirCon in whole building was set to heat - no way to cool down hot and humid room.

Rules everywher such as $5fee if you don't wash dishes. With what? A rag that harbored who knows what?

Stay somewhere else until management ubdestand customer service (and hygiene)

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kmcdona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

fine room, good room maids really clean! and pays attention while cleaning but otherwise the hotel is very dirty around the pool and on the corridor to the pool (the 3rd floor) air conditioning in the room does not work and the receptionist sais they will send an electrition in ten minutes but we are here for two nights and nobody turns up, very small pool, no pool bench

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug10777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

We had booked a family room being a double and a single bed. Arrived in room, after having trouble with the EFTPOS machine declining two credit cards that had plenty of credit, to find no single bed. To be fair it was rectified in about 5 minutes when the euro couch was made up.
Great location, only 200m from central station.
Had dinner in the rstaurant and the food was very very good, but again the service was a bit of a let down, but established it was the waitresses first night, so acceptable.
All in all would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

the hotel is very close to the City Centre and the Central train station(5 mins walking downhill).. good room facilities, hotel staffs are helpful. the room is quite spacey too. and for muslim travellers, there's a convenient store downhill from the hotel that sells halal food..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyukkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Metropolitan Motor Inn
Metropolitan Motor Inn
#104 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.3 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#62 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#50 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gregory Terrace Brisbane
0.7 mi away
Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Astor Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Astor Metropole Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Astor Metropole Hotel
Address: 193-197 Wickham Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Astor Metropole Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Astor Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing