We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never will i stay again.....theifs for employees”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #125 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“never will i stay again.....theifs for employees”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I stayed there for the first weekend in September 2011. Upon arrival all seemed normal, check-in was quick as we were there early (surprised we could actually go to our room early), and foyer was clean, althought they needed to provide some floor mats as you got soot on your feet from the front renovations. From then that is when the dissapointment and utter disgrace began. We were only provided with one room key, the airconditioner could not be changed from warm to cool, the bathroom was a tad dirty, no milk for coffee or tea in the kitchen at all, tv was situated very high and you could not turn it properly so as to view from the bed, as the wardrobe cut out half of the image when you did turn it and although advised our room was not going to be cleaned whilst on our stay, it was entered into on more than 1 occassion by staff. THEN the big catastrophe, whilst out all day on the final day, upon our return in the wee hours of the morning (we are a young couple so went out and had a few drinks) noticed that my purse had been stolen. I immediately cancelled my credit card and went to reception to advise of the theft. The night staff were no help at all, and did nothing to help me out. I awaited untill the following morning to see the Manager, who never offered an apology, didn't offer any compensation for my loss (as my credit card had been used by the person who stole it) and lied to me advising they had contacted the police, in which i was advised (by the police) that no one had contacted them to view any security footage etc. In the time of waiting to speak with the Manager, and going to the police station, my partner stayed in our room so as to have nothing else stolen, my partner had someone walk in on him (a cleaner). only when my partner yelled out, did they leave. No knocking on the door etc to check if anyone was in the room (even though they were not meant to be entering in the first place) and was an hour before checkout was to occur. I WILL NEVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL EVER AGAIN, and hope this helps anyone who looks at staying here in the future. Although price was cheap, you can definately find somewhere else who will match the price, and offer better service.

Room Tip: Make sure you look at all the reviews of this hotel, as that's where i went wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank totalyshit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    114
    112
    62
    130
See reviews for
79
143
71
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

no smile, no "hello", not even a " good day" can i heard from the staff of this hotel. They seemed very busy at their work starring at the computer, but unfortunately, they just ignored what they should really take care of, their clients. Very bad! There's bad smell in the corridor and no one cares,

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andelulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We booked this hotel on the basis of price and proximity to railway to be able to fly out early in the morning. After booking we saw reviews were not at all complimentary so we were somewhat nervous. Our concerns were groundless. Our floor seemed to have been refurbished and we had no problems at all - certainly no bed bugs.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J_M30a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highvale, QLD
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed here over the weekend for a Rugby game in the city. The rooms were resevered by a family member. We were 4 couple so booked 4 rooms and got to view any differences.
First problem was the parking attendant. Parking is racked storage so getting the vehicle just right is critical. We have a 4wd truck which turns out is to long to fit the spaces. No dramas but the parking attendant backed us in to the rear of the bay so that we touched the bollards at the back. I thought the idea of guiding people in was to stop them before they hit the object they are backing up to. Luckily a family member shouted stop and avoided a crumpled rear step. We were then told they have an oversize car bay (any real 4wd would be to big for the racks) which was basically on the street but still had to pay for parking.
Next we had to deal with the idiot on reception. He took about 10mins to book each couple into a room. Beers were consumed before the last couple were in the elevator to their room. Now heres the best bit. We went with them to their room to help with bags to open the door and find another guest in that room already!!!!!!!! WTF The same muppet on reception then did not beleive us and even after a phone call up to the room felt he had to go up to the room to double check. Its scary to think the same fella probably is allowed to vote and drive.
I also forgot to mention the final couple had to convince the guy that we booked 4 rooms and that he had only sorted out 3 rooms not the 4 he thought he had.
The rooms were OK, could have been a touch cleaner and the rug on the tiled floor is a law suit waiting to happen. Considering the rooms we paid for were supposed to be the same, it appeared to be pot luck on what you turned up. We got a balcony, king bed and an old TV another couple got a flash flat screen but only a queen bed, another got neither but did turn up a washing machine. Our king bed was really just 2x king singles pushed together. The obvious gap in the middle was a little annoying. I've been at other hotels that this happens but they hide it with a pillow top.
Checkout was a slow process as well.
It could be a nice enough place to stay if they got some proper staff to look after the guests an more to look after the cleaning. There are better places in Brisbane to stay for the money. Steer clear if you can.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank XR6PSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiaro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We do not understand why people have previously complained.
We have stayed in hotels in WA, Sydney, Melbourne, and multiple Brisbane (including Sofitel - where I had to open the door for my wife who uses a wheeled walker, all while the Concierge looked on!)
Every hotel you can pick flaws with!
The last hotel was Sofitel, and we can tell you, for the price and value, the Astor Metropole exceeds the Sofitel.
The room was spotless, and the only things missing were one towel and a box of Kleenex....other than that, the stay was flawless.
Problems were solved with a simple phone call...within minutes.
The staff were courteous and pleasant, which is in big contrast against the Sofitel, who were pretentious and cold, and charged for everything except water from the sink!
The Restaurant is to die for!...non-pretentious, quality food, at reasonable prices. The atmosphere is relaxed.
We spoke to Kumar (and the wonderful Chef) in the Restaurant who gladly made up meals especially for us...after our hard day's train travel. It proved cheaper than a franchise fast food outlet! They killed themselves by bending over backwards by making our meals.
The food was fresh, delicious...pasta with mushroom, chicken, bacon in a creamy sauce, accompanied with an avocado salad.
From now on, this will be our "home away from home".
We thoroughly recommend the Astor Metropole !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterPamLockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I stayed here a few years ago with a couple of friends for my birthday night out in the city. It was ok, parking was free but with a first in, parked first policy. Alittle scary (tight squeeze) for me to park, but there was a valet attendant who did it for me.

Our original room was kinda bland n lets say viewless, but after disscussing with reservations downstairs they upgraded us to a bigger, higher apartment with a balcony. The rooms itself was sufficient enough, small kitchnette for making something to eat and a small fridge to keep the beverages cold & a small bathroom. For us, it served its purpose well.

Didnt experience too much problems with staff or the facilities, so overall not too bad.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeyaLeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
171 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed in Brisbane from July 5th to the 9th and that meant a very expensive night of July 6th when the State of Origin Game was on and most hotels were fully booked; that's the reason why we stayed at this BW up on Wickham Terrace. We paid 170 AUD/night which was "cheap" then. But of course way too expensive for what you get.
Location is OK; it's only a short walk to CBD and it's a quiet place.
The room we got was on the 12th floor in the new building and came with a kitchen which I had not expected ( we didn't use it anyhow ). Room was very light and spacious; good lighting; beds were not too comfortable because rather hard. The servicing of the room was a bit weird : every day we had to call reception to get either small towels, bath towels or a face wash.
Reception area is a strange place; you enter an old building and when going to the elevator, you pass a sort of no-man's-land and then up on your floor you realise you're in a newer building. They were also redoing the breakfast area and terrace and I had the impression there had been a change of management recently ( this is only a guess ).
All in all, we didn't have too bad an experience staying at this BW, but you would expect better for a BW !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dezdemona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#49 of 157 in Brisbane
745 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace
0.7 mi away
Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Metropolitan Motor Inn
Metropolitan Motor Inn
#102 of 157 in Brisbane
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#61 of 157 in Brisbane
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments

Property: Best Western Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments
Address: 193-197 Wickham Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing