We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern hotel, with too many flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Ranked #52 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Rooms clean and average, exceptionally noisy air conditioning, soundproofing insufficient. We stayed from 21 to 24 February 2013 and we could not watch TV for absence of signal. The room 813 had a glass wall detached from the wall. The room was changed on our demand.
No wifi access. The only two computers in the lobby available to customers are very old, dusty and very slow in fact unusable.
The cost of $ 10 per day for wifi is an unnecessary burden. Common areas would deserve a cleaning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eramaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Hi Eramaise,

Thanks so much for posting your review, we're really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the same exceptional experience as many of our guests have experienced. We pride ourself on providing a sparkling clean lobby/reception area which is cleaned by commercial cleaners on a nightly basis so it's disappointing to hear that you didn't find it this way.

Both computers in our lobby were upgraded three weeks ago through our IT firm with brand new software and I hope you were able to take advantage of the 30 minutes of free internet we offer all guests. Unfortunately our Wifi comes at quite a cost to our hotel however we have tried to keep our costs to our valued guests competitive, reasonable and inline with other hotels in the area.

Thank you again for your feedback,
Lachlan Furnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

In November 2012 we booked a special 2 night stay from 30 January to 1 February. On 24 January the rains that devasted the area in which we live started. Because of being flooded in at home we were unable to make the trip.

Thanks to the hotel's cancellation policy we were not charged, but were disappointed that my request to transfer the booking to another time for the same price was denied.

We have stayed here before and it was excellent.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MooballGympie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Hi MooballGympie,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review, we're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us on your first visit. We're so sorry to hear that you were personally effected by the devastating floods. We hope that it was a help to receive a refund for your stay during such a difficult time. Our prices do fluctuate depending on demand and peak holiday periods, so it may have been a busier period for when you tried to rebook.

We hope that we can see you again MooballGympie, and thanks again for your review.

Kind regards,
Lachlan Furnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed 3 nights at Hotel Urban in a king room balcony. Quite spacious, comfortable bed and very clean. Nice view overlooking the park. Close to Roma street station, although there is a steep hill climb, not very practical with luggage. The gym was a bit on the small side. Restaurant & room service was fantastic as was the staff, very helpful. It's located in a quiet area, but close to the city centre and great value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Hi Julia777,

We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found enjoyed our great location, it sounds like you certainly got some good exercise coming up the hill – it's much better on the way down to check out the cities attractions (and maybe a plus if you want to work off dinner on the way back to the hotel :)

We love hearing that our shiny happy (and helpful) staff's effort doesn't go unnoticed – we really do pride ourselves on providing great service to our guests.

Thanks so much for your review Julia777, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Lachlan Furnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I stayed here overnight on a business trip and was happy with the accommodation. I really enjoyed having a balcony to sit out on and have a cuppa. Where my room was located the view was not great - but it was quiet so I was happy. Could see the pool from where I was and would disagree with a previous reviewer - it is bigger than a plunge pool.

Check in was fine - but would rate the service as 'efficient' rather overly friendly by most of the staff except for the lady who first greeted me. The restaurant staff and room service staff were very nice and happy though.

The bathroom was very clean (a big plus in my book) - loved the shower head - no water saving shower head here ( don't hate on me okay - I had a really sore neck and it was heaven). The quirky bathroom and shower products were very good as well. Finally a shower gel that smelled great and not like a tin of air freshener.

Ate quite a bit of food here: room service breakfast, lunch in the restaurant, and conference snacks. It was all good - the breakfast was fresh made but would have been better if I had received my eggs as ordered, some butter for my toast and with the advertised tomatoes. But what I got was a welcome change to the rubbery fare you can expect usually.

Would I stay here again? Probably,( but not if I could find free wifi somewhere similar) great prices, super close to the CBD, and yes oh so comfy beds.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caite64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Hi calte64,

We're so thrilled to hear that you were super comfortable on your business trip and found us to be more than a usual hotel stay. Our cloud like Urban Snorer beds with micro-fibre underlay and triple sheeting just about guarantee a perfect night sleep – just what you need after a busy day.

We love to hear that our guests enjoy all of the little extras to make their stay a bit special, such as our Evo salon products, slow down slippers and designer scent bar for a quick spritz as you dash out the door.

Thanks so much for your review, we hope to see you again for business, or pleasure.
Kind regards,

Lachlan Furnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Stayed for a weekend recently and really loved this hotel. The location was great, walking distance to the city. The check in process was quick and easy, the room was great for the price clean, had an iron in the room, the beds were SO COMFORTABLE. We overlooked the pool area and there was a little balcony as well. An unusual and clever touch was four male and four female fragrances on the desk at reception to use in case you didn't want to travel with liquids or had forgotten your own perfume or aftershave.
The only down side was the price of a glass of champagne at the Bar!!!
I would definitely stay at this Hotel again.

Room Tip: Bring your own champagne!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkturquoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Hi pinkturquoise,

Thanks so much for your great review, it always makes us smile when our guests have a super stay. We really do try to think outside the square to make sure our guests have everything (and more) than they they need for maximise comfort and enjoyment. Little touches such as free fruit at reception, our designer fragrance scent bar and delicious smelling evo hair care products are the little extras that we hope will add an unexpected element of surprise to your stay.

We're so glad to hear that you would stay with us again too – we look forward to seeing you again pinkturquoise.

Kind regards,
Lachlan Furnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

My son and I stayed at the Hotel Urban in January when my husband was undergoing heart surgery at St Andrew's Hospital, which is just up the hill from the hotel.
Everything was perfect. Staff were courteous and helpful, room very pleasant and the whole place was clean and well cared for. The beds were so comfortable - better than I have encountered in any other accommodation. The rates were very good - they had a special of $109 per night for a room with 2 double beds which more than suited our needs.
We will definitely return for another stay and also recommend this hotel to all of our friends.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Hi Annette 1945,

Thanks so much for your wonderful review, we're so glad that our friendly and helpful staff made you feel right at home during what may have been a difficult time for you.

Our Urban Snorer beds often receive rave reviews for their superb comfort, it sounds like they certainly helped to make your stay nice and restful. Thanks so much for recommending us to your friends too, we hope to welcome you back again soon Annette 1945.

Kind regards,
Lachlan Furnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I was impressed with the Hotel Urban after my first visit in September 2012 and have since been back for a number of nights on two separate occasions. Loved the breakfast, really friendly and helpful staff, the rooms were spacious and well renovated and the location is great. I think it was very good value for money

Room Tip: I have stayed in one of the more expensive rooms but have also stayed in one of the lower level, che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Hi Cecelia R,

Thanks for your great review and being such a loyal guest – our friendly team love welcoming back familiar faces. We're really thrilled to hear that your stay is an all-round positive experience for you.

We hope to see you again soon Cecelia R.

Kind regards,
Lachlan Furnell
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
0.3 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#32 of 169 in Brisbane
462 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#61 of 169 in Brisbane
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#30 of 169 in Brisbane
1,237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
0.3 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#54 of 169 in Brisbane
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban Brisbane

Address: 345 Wickham Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#44 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#48 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £62 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Urban Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Urban Brisbane. More than a hotel…Enjoy an accommodation experience with a difference. Hotel Urban Brisbane offers more than your typical hotel with more comfort, more indulgence and more inspiration. Situated close to Brisbane’s city centre, Hotel Urban Brisbane is an impressive, architecturally designed space, which features stunning views across the city skyline. A contemporary combination of modern comfort and designer chic, Hotel Urban Brisbane’s focus is on helping you kick-back and unwind in style. With ultra-comfy rooms and special perks, you’ll adore chilling-out in a striking space that will awaken your senses and leave you feeling rejuvenated.Whether you are staying with us for business or for leisure you’ll just love our rooms, designed with your comfort in mind. You’ll find numerous creature comforts including a cordless phone, comfy Slow Down Slippers, Tie Me Up Tightly Bathrobes and our fabulous Urban Snorer (the comfiest bed ever!). Plus, all our rooms have access to fresh air with their own private patio or walk-out balcony – perfect for appreciating the stunning Brisbane city skyline.Hotel Urban Brisbane will also tempt you with an awesome eatery. The Gazebo Bar & Restaurant experience is one for the foodies, offering a fusion of inner-city sophistication and innovative modern dishes. If staying in is your thing, try our lighter "In Room Dining" menu – sure to get the taste buds going! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Urban Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Urban Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing