We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location is convenient to roma st parklands & the train station.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Ranked #38 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The location is convenient to roma st parklands & the train station.”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Hotel urban is trying to convey a modern & designer style however it fails to hit the mark on a number of levels.
*Uninformative front office staff *Inattentive bartenders *Poorly renovated bathroom
*Terrible car park *Noisy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust4217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Hi Tara M,

Thanks for your comments. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location. It's disappointing however to hear that our hotel failed to meet your expectations. We often get great reviews about our friendly and helpful staff and modern designer style, so we're really sorry to hear that you didn't experience the same. If you would like to email us at stay@hotelurban.com.au and let us know when you stayed we will look into this further.

Kind regards,

Lachlan Furnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    338
    122
    38
    23
See reviews for
128
306
71
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Checked into the hotel via the "Austin Powers" inspired reception area & was greeted by very rude male clerk, efficient but rude. Rooms on first look were modern & comfortable, however in some respects this is not so. The rooms are very nosey, old windows even let traffic noise in on the 7th floor. Walls are thin & you can here the TV & people talking in adjoining rooms.
My Bathroom was smallish, however functional,a little grotty & could have done with a good bleaching.
Location is good, not far from Roma St Rail Station & a short walk from the CBD.
Bar & Restaurant very good
Overall, it's an average hotel but value for money if you can get it on a cheap site like wotif.com.au

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1958flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Hi 1958flyer,

Thanks for your review and feedback. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great location and the delicious menu at Gazebo Bar and Restaurant.

We really pride ourself on providing sparkling clean rooms for our guests, so we're very disappointed to hear that your room didn't meet your expectations of cleanliness and also that you didn't experience the usual level of customer service at check in.

We would appreciate it if you could email us at stay@hotelurban.com.au and let us know when you stayed we will certainly investigate these things further. We hope that our staff received the opportunity to re-accommodate you to a more suitable room during your stay.

Thanks again for your feedback 1958flyer.

Kind regards,
Lachlan Furnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Got a great "mystery deal" on wotif.au and really loved this hotel. Near the train station, a solid uphill walk from CBD/Queen St Mall but not bad at all if you enjoy walking. Also a nice walk to the river, South Bank, etc - overall just really enjoyed this location. Hotel is right beside the absolutely beautiful Roma Parkland, definitely worth saving a morning for a stroll through to see all the beautiful flowers (and lizards playing!), really a gem, nicer than some "botanical gardens" I've seen.

The bed was awesome, the reception extremely friendly, overall quiet and peaceful. Wifi in the rooms is $10 per 24 hrs which at least is "reasonable" compared to some places in this part of the world where complimentary Wifi is not yet the norm. Nice bathroom/shower, bathrobe a nice touch, and the EVO bath products are +++. Would definitely stay again for the right price, and highly recommend if you don't mind walking a bit and enjoy being "close enough without being in the middle of things".

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Hi KatCanuck,

Wow what a great review, thanks so much!

We love our location too, perfect for a relaxing escape, yet close enough to the city's action too. Our famous Urban Snorer beds often get loads of rave reviews, so we are glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your sleep – just what you need when you are so far from home.

Thanks again KatCanuck, we hope to see you again next time you are 'down under'.

Kind regards,
Lachlan Furnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed here for a night away. I brought my car and their car park is very tight, I would advise to not drive in unless your confident. Check in was quick which is what I like. The room was much smaller then I expected but comfortable. Extra bathroom products are a good touch and the balcony was nice a refreshing.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tedb068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thanks for your review Tedb068,

We're glad to hear that your overnight stay was easy and comfortable. We love our delicious smelling Evo haircare products too.

It's always lovely to have some fresh air and a nice view when travelling, so we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your room's balcony.

Thanks again, and we hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,
Lachlan Furnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

This hotel is not near Brisbane CBD but not too far as well, it would be like 15-20 minute good walk from CBD. The hotel room isn't bad with a good shower and nice bed. Swimming pool is nothing but a big bath tub and gym is pretty small for a handful of people.

All in all a decent hotel while on short business breaks or short stay in general. Food at the hotel is about average so would advise to eat out as withing a short walk there are plenty of eating options in the CBD.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vindeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Hi vindeb,

Thanks for your feedback, we're sorry to hear that you didn't find our hotel to be more than your usual stay. We often receive comments about the little extra touches we have around the hotel so we are sorry these things didn't appeal to you. Glad you liked the bed, our Urban Snorers are very popular amongst our guests.

Thanks again or your comments

Kind regards,
Lachlan Furnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Great stylish hotel with comfy beds & lovely bathroom extras & verandas, my spacious room overlooked the park opposite.The staff were very friendly and helpful. Lovely pool area too.
just a walk down the road to all the shops and restaurants , also within walking distance of the river. I really enjoyed my visit to this hotel

Room Tip: my room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Hi patricia f,

We love hearing from our guests and it's even better when they have enjoyed such a fabulous time at our hotel like you did. Thanks so much for passing on your kind words, we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed, our friendly service, great location and stylish room.

We hope to welcome you back again some time soon.

Kind regards,
Lachlan Furnell

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
554 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We booked this hotel as it is one of the nominated places for pick up for tours to Fraser Island...
When we booked in staff were very helpful and informative...We had a room over looking the park and railway station at the front....modern room that was very quiet...good facilities and a very comfortable bed......underground parking, easy to negotiate, you are given a nominated space.....we were on a 6 week road trip and stayed here 1 night...Our plan had been to stay 1 night , go to Fraser Island, whilst the car and luggage was stored here and return for one further night then move on....However a ''failed trip'' meant we had to leave earlier as there was no room available, due to ''rock concerts'' in Brisbane...We collected the car and luggage at 7pm at night and moved on.....but the staff were brilliant, we weren't charged for storage and they apologised at not being able to accommodate us for the unexpected extra night....Not their fault....

Room Tip: we were on the 5th floor, good for views with a balcony to sit out....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babe33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Hi babe33,

Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us for a night to break up your trip. It's a real shame that we couldn't accommodate an extra night due to being fully booked.

We're so glad that our friendly staff made your stay pleasant and easy, we really do aim to please. We hope that you enjoyed your trip to Fraser Island too, it really is a beautiful spot isn't it?

Kind regards,
Lachlan Furnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
0.3 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#7 of 157 in Brisbane
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brisbane
Novotel Brisbane
#39 of 157 in Brisbane
2,555 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 157 in Brisbane
1,169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban Brisbane

Property: Hotel Urban Brisbane
Address: 345 Wickham Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#41 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#43 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Urban Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Urban Brisbane. More than a hotel…Enjoy an accommodation experience with a difference. Hotel Urban Brisbane offers more than your typical hotel with more comfort, more indulgence and more inspiration. Situated close to Brisbane’s city centre, Hotel Urban Brisbane is an impressive, architecturally designed space, which features stunning views across the city skyline. A contemporary combination of modern comfort and designer chic, Hotel Urban Brisbane’s focus is on helping you kick-back and unwind in style. With ultra-comfy rooms and special perks, you’ll adore chilling-out in a striking space that will awaken your senses and leave you feeling rejuvenated.Whether you are staying with us for business or for leisure you’ll just love our rooms, designed with your comfort in mind. You’ll find numerous creature comforts including a cordless phone, comfy Slow Down Slippers, Tie Me Up Tightly Bathrobes and our fabulous Urban Snorer (the comfiest bed ever!). Plus, all our rooms have access to fresh air with their own private patio or walk-out balcony – perfect for appreciating the stunning Brisbane city skyline.Hotel Urban Brisbane will also tempt you with an awesome eatery. The Gazebo Bar & Restaurant experience is one for the foodies, offering a fusion of inner-city sophistication and innovative modern dishes. If staying in is your thing, try our lighter "In Room Dining" menu – sure to get the taste buds going! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Urban Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Urban Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing