We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urban Brisbane Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Ranked #42 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Urban Brisbane Gem”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Forget the $300+ per night hyped hotels of Brisbane's centre, if you want a convenient city location, views across the city towers, easy access to an adjacent park for a morning run, friendly service and good facilities, all for a decent price, then check this place out. It is situated up on the hill on Wickham terrace, just a short 5 minute walk down Albert St to the city centre and next to the Roma St. Parklands. My room was on a corner and one side looked out across the city buildings and the other across the park to Mt Cootha. Staff were all helpful and the room service menu, although a bit limited in choice was very good quality. There is car parking that was included in my room rate - easy to get into the underground carpark but it is tight down there so brace yourself if you are driving big car. WiFi is available for a charge. I would stay here again should I need a hotel for business in the city centre and am interested in quality and value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GingerCheetah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thanks for staying with us and thanks for the lovely review.

We're always happy to hear from delighted guests like yourself and it sounds like we have a new Urban fan, so come back and stay with us again soon!

Kind regards
Craig Bradbery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    342
    127
    39
    25
See reviews for
131
311
72
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Celebrated my 21st here on Saturday night in the Loft and had an absolutely fabulous time. All of the staff on the night were most helpful and the food was incredible. Kate was also delightful dealing with to organise everything. As well as the function I stayed in a 2 bedroom suite for 2 nights and there was ample space to spread out. The rooms are clean, tidy and everything worked how it was supposed to. The gazebo meals were also incredible and it was amazing that we got put into the green room on Friday night for dinner and Saturday morning for Breakfast. This is a great little area! It feels so private. I have absolutely no complaints about the hotel and because we had views of riverfire would stay here again for firework views.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Hey there Amber

Great to hear that your 21st went so well, the Loft is indeed a stunning venue for a party! The Green Room is also such a special place, sounds like you certainly celebrated the entire weekend in style.

I'll certainly share your glowing feedback with Kate and the team, they'll love to hear that they've made such a difference to your experience.

We hope we get to help you celebrate many more special occasions in future.

Best wishes
Craig Bradbery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My Husband and I stayed at hotel Urban for a weekend away and it was fantastic. We had a scoopon and upgraded to the king room which was 'Bondi Beach' themed. It was great! a bit different and very bright and colourful. We could access the pool and spa from our court yard which was very convenient for early morning swims. The hotel has a secure car park which is great and is only about a 5 minute walk to King George square. The staff were super friendly and very lovely which made our experience ever better!
Overall its a great place to stay for a weeknd away. Close to the city but away from all the noise.

Thanks Hotel Urban for a great weekend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hello Missy

It certainly does sound like you had a wonderful weekend, I'm so glad you got to experience one of our pool suites, they are perfect for enjoying some of that famous Brisbane sunshine!

Thanks for your lovely feedback on our friendly team, they'll all be happy to hear that you had such a great time with us.

We hope you'll come and stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Craig Bradbery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Hey, after staying with you guys both Friday and Saturday nights just gone I wouldn't stay again;

Pro's; staff to the most point helpful, except checkin and my self working at a 4.5 star hotel know the value of explaining the smaller details like parking.

Cons; the parking I saw the sign you guys had for self rated worst parking and i under stood as soon as i got to the gate the idea of putting my sedan through that was interesting used my driving skills for that one..
The room was a bit average and im not sure how you guys honestly uphold a 4.5, with only lighting as lamps is worrying, not to take away it did the job but its a bit urban i guess lol next there was the bathroom over all nice and tidy setup but there was no exhaust fan that was noticeable to get rid of smells etc.
The buffet breakfast wasn't too bad but i didn't bother the second morning not enough choice as im not a cereal person so i was left a little unsatisfied.

Purely based on the ease of parking being quite difficult and the rooms not been quite wat is put forward as most websites do these days my partner and i would choose differently next time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hi Matty

I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t have the great Urban experience that most of our guests do, but thanks for the feedback as we’re always keen to improve the way we do things.

Our carpark can be tricky to manoeuvre in some areas, it’s a difficult thing to fix due to structural issues but we are improving the directional signage to make it a little easier. I’m also happy to advise that we are in the process of adding additional lighting to all our rooms, so a much brighter future is on the way!

We try to keep our buffet selection quite simple for those that want a quick and easy breakfast, but our a-la-carte menu has 10 yummy breakfast dishes to choose for those that want lots more choice.

Thanks for staying with us and we’re sorry we didn’t meet your expectations this time.

Kind regards
Craig Bradbery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I have stayed at this hotel often for business and am always glad to arrive here. The decor is fresh and welcoming with lovely touches such as a tray of various fragrances and a big bowl of apples situated at reception for guests, make you feel at home. The pool area is contemporary and imaginative and the bar area looking out over Wickham Terrace onto the park is a lovely place to unwind. We arrived into town late on my last trip and the bar was closing but the staff were happy for us to pre pay for our drinks and left them for us whilst we finished checking in to our rooms. The can- do attitude of the staff always impresses. I was slightly disappointed with the breakfast buffet, it may be better on weekends but on a Wednesday there was very limited choice. The house granola in the packet is delicious ,however and the ness presso help yourself bar a godsend for caffeine addicts. Overall a great little hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies overlooking the pool are always my favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Hello Colleen,

Thanks for your review and for choosing to stay at Urban regularly – our team loves welcoming back familiar faces. It's always nice to hear that our little extras don't go un-noticed. We are always trying to think of new ways to surprise our guests with things that make us more than your usual hotel.

Sorry to hear that our breakfast wasn't up to your expectations, we are working on a new breakfast menu at the moment so I hope you will find it more to your liking next time you stay with us.

Thanks again Colleen, we look forward to seeing you next time you’re in town.

Kind regards,
Craig Bradbery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra Headland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

After parking the car securely, we had a very comfortable weekend escape to CBD Brisbane at this boutique charming inner city hotel. The quiet, tree lined streets of Wickam Terrace contrasted to the buzz off the Queen St Mall, only a 10 minute walk on Sunday morning. A short stroll, coffee and a shopping spree topped off our stop over in Brisbane for the Pink Concert on Saturday night. Five minutes downhill to Central Train Station and a 20min train trip straight to Boondall Entertainment Centre made this location shine. We will return!

Room Tip: Higher levels get best views from balconies over treed surrounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Hi Neil,

What a fabulous review - we're thrilled that you loved our leafy location and you made the most of your weekend in Brisbane. I hope you enjoyed Pink – she is such a great performer!

Our friendly team would love to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Craig Bradbery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Moet foyer is amazing and very welcoming. The service from reception was good, nothing special but nothing terrible either. The Pool area was great, the spa was very relaxing and looks like it would be great in summer when the bar there is open. The room was a good size and very comfortable. I loved the idea that you can buy the bed, sadly it wasn't that good, but i love the idea. The car park is a nightmare for a large car, but we got through and it test your ability to park. All in all a good place and would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave80w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Hi dave80w,

We're thrilled to hear that you loved the design of our new Moet lounge, we're always thinking of ways to wow our guests with extra special designer touches that make us more than a hotel.

Our cloud like Urban Snorer beds often receive rave reviews from guests (and yes you can purchase your own to enjoy the same comfort at home), we're sorry to hear that it didn't live up to your expectations.

Thanks also for the feedback on the car park, we are currently addressing this situation with improved signage on the best way to manoeuvre your car.

Our team would love to see you again.

Kind regards,
Craig Bradbery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
0.3 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#9 of 159 in Brisbane
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#30 of 159 in Brisbane
446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#16 of 159 in Brisbane
400 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 159 in Brisbane
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban Brisbane

Property: Hotel Urban Brisbane
Address: 345 Wickham Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#41 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#43 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Urban Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Urban Brisbane. More than a hotel…Enjoy an accommodation experience with a difference. Hotel Urban Brisbane offers more than your typical hotel with more comfort, more indulgence and more inspiration. Situated close to Brisbane’s city centre, Hotel Urban Brisbane is an impressive, architecturally designed space, which features stunning views across the city skyline. A contemporary combination of modern comfort and designer chic, Hotel Urban Brisbane’s focus is on helping you kick-back and unwind in style. With ultra-comfy rooms and special perks, you’ll adore chilling-out in a striking space that will awaken your senses and leave you feeling rejuvenated.Whether you are staying with us for business or for leisure you’ll just love our rooms, designed with your comfort in mind. You’ll find numerous creature comforts including a cordless phone, comfy Slow Down Slippers, Tie Me Up Tightly Bathrobes and our fabulous Urban Snorer (the comfiest bed ever!). Plus, all our rooms have access to fresh air with their own private patio or walk-out balcony – perfect for appreciating the stunning Brisbane city skyline.Hotel Urban Brisbane will also tempt you with an awesome eatery. The Gazebo Bar & Restaurant experience is one for the foodies, offering a fusion of inner-city sophistication and innovative modern dishes. If staying in is your thing, try our lighter "In Room Dining" menu – sure to get the taste buds going! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Urban Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Urban Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing