We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Ranked #50 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I have read a few mixed reviews about The Urban but I would recommend it to anyone looking at a reasonable priced hotel in Brisbane. The location of the hotel is very good, just a short 5 minute walk to the City Hall and Central Business District. We had a good sized studio/room overlooking the park opposite the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful with advice about getting around Brisbane. My main criticism of the hotel is the lack of free wi-fi - a must for anyone travelling from abroad.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyCaddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Hi Andy

Thanks for your positive feedback about our friendly Urban team, it’s so nice to hear that we made a difference to your stay. Whilst we do still charge a modest access fee for WiFi use, we are looking at ways to include this in some of our packages and rates so that we can make it easier and more affordable for those guests that need to use WiFi.

Kind Regards

Craig Bradbery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Urban Brisbane
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel is really not much of a hotel. Many of the staff dont appear to give a damn about their work. This was shown by the checkin staff not telling me basic things like where breakfast is in the morning.
-The parking lot is appauling!!!
- Mini bar was hardly stocked and there was no price list.
- There was only half a roll of toilet paper when I first entered the room with no spares.
- Smaller things like the curtain was not opened when the room was made.
-breakfast took around 30 minuites to make eggs when there were VERY FEW (almost no one else) in the reasturant. Also, they still got it wrong!

All in all - I hated this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank howiesachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Howard

Further to the email which I have already sent you, I want to once again offer my apologies as the service you experienced on this stay was far from the normal friendly and efficient service we pride ourselves on providing our guests.

I do hope that you accept my offer to stay with us again as I know we can do much better and turn you into a loyal fan of Hotel Urban Brisbane.

Kind regards
Craig Bradbery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

The staff and very friendly and the room was lovely however we did feel that we over paid. We paid extra for the "romance package" which included a bottle of bubbly which turned out to be disgusting (so sickly sweet I couldn't finish a glass.) some chocolates and some massage oil we never opened. We would have been better off saving the money and just buying our own bottle. The location was very good. Close enough to walk into town - far enough away to escape from the crowds.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Clairesom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Claire

I am sorry to hear that you did not feel our Romance Package provided value for money. We will be making some changes to our packages in the new year, so I appreciate your feedback.

It’s great to hear that you loved our rooms and thank you for your kind words about our friendly team.

Please contact me directly if you would like to stay with us again so that I can arrange for a much nicer bottle of bubbly to be chilled and waiting in your room.

Kind regards
Craig Bradbery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I'd stay here again. Great facilities, specious rooms and views over the park.Had one the best steaks (eye fillet) ever in the restaurant there, cant remember name. Super friendly and efficient staff and a beautiful pool. This is definitely a hidden gem of brisbane.

Room Tip: Facing the park is the way to go.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear David

Thanks for your fantastic review, it sounds like you got to experience all of the great things about Hotel Urban Brisbane… we like to think the hotel is a gem, so it’s lovely to hear when our guests think so too.

We’re looking forward to seeing you drop in again for one of those divine steaks!

Kind regards
Craig Bradbery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Wifi expensive and not working at all, this is another rip off, the hotel is dirty, useless front desk, they don't give any solutions. Really expensive for what it is. Only good thing good the location. This hotel need a new direction I guess.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maximewillyfog55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Rather than earn its 4.5star rating through service quality and facilities combined, I think the Brisbane urban has scraped through on the basis that it has a pool and gymn. I normally stay at the rydges south bank but unfortunately there was no availability. I won't be coming back here again though. Try a very sparse, mediocre breakfast buffet which even disappointed my 7 year and 5 year old kids, attended to by staff who appear to think they are doing you a favour by serving you. Made only slightly better by the modern and contemporary decor. Very average.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topshade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Hi Richard

I know how important it is to start your day with friendly and upbeat service so I'm really disappointed to hear that our restaurant team let you down in this regard. We are working on a new breakfast menu concept, within the next month we will be offering a new café style breakfast menu.

Please accept our apologies that you did not have a great Urban experience on this stay.'

Kind regards
Craig Bradbery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our two kids. Staff were awesome and the room was great. We were worried having read about apparent car park issues however the carpark design would only worry a novice driver, it was easy to navigate through and we were in a large 4wd. We will definately stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Hi Scott, hearing that you had a great stay makes our day, so thanks a lot for sharing your review. We hope you and the kids can come back and stay with us again soon! Kind Regards, Craig Bradbery - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
0.3 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#14 of 168 in Brisbane
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#29 of 168 in Brisbane
451 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#21 of 168 in Brisbane
403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brisbane
Novotel Brisbane
#39 of 168 in Brisbane
2,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban Brisbane

Address: 345 Wickham Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#44 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#46 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £69 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Urban Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Urban Brisbane. More than a hotel…Enjoy an accommodation experience with a difference. Hotel Urban Brisbane offers more than your typical hotel with more comfort, more indulgence and more inspiration. Situated close to Brisbane’s city centre, Hotel Urban Brisbane is an impressive, architecturally designed space, which features stunning views across the city skyline. A contemporary combination of modern comfort and designer chic, Hotel Urban Brisbane’s focus is on helping you kick-back and unwind in style. With ultra-comfy rooms and special perks, you’ll adore chilling-out in a striking space that will awaken your senses and leave you feeling rejuvenated.Whether you are staying with us for business or for leisure you’ll just love our rooms, designed with your comfort in mind. You’ll find numerous creature comforts including a cordless phone, comfy Slow Down Slippers, Tie Me Up Tightly Bathrobes and our fabulous Urban Snorer (the comfiest bed ever!). Plus, all our rooms have access to fresh air with their own private patio or walk-out balcony – perfect for appreciating the stunning Brisbane city skyline.Hotel Urban Brisbane will also tempt you with an awesome eatery. The Gazebo Bar & Restaurant experience is one for the foodies, offering a fusion of inner-city sophistication and innovative modern dishes. If staying in is your thing, try our lighter "In Room Dining" menu – sure to get the taste buds going! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, LateRooms and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Urban Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Urban Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing