We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Ranked #46 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Took a Scoopon deal and paid extra 50 for New Years Eve. Reception gave us a ticket for parking, good start as it would not open the boom gate.Wife given card for room and told its on the 10 floor.Arrived to find empty conference rooms.Back to reception and nothing but an oops!proceeded to room on 3rd floor and found passageway full of dirty dishes on trays and house keeping trolleys, carpets very dirty. Room very small, shower cubicle had mould on floor, balcony dirty with two old worn canvas stools.Carpark an adventure, card would not operate boom gate to get out.At this stage had enough and checked out.

Room Tip: Maybe okay for a single to sleep for a night, hopefully without needing to park a car!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 371Unhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Unhappy

Please accept my apologies as you certainly didn’t have the positive Urban experience that we strive to provide for our guests. Most of our guests give us glowing reviews so we are genuinely disappointed when small things go wrong and you don’t have a happy stay.

Kind regards

Craig Bradbery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Urban Brisbane
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

We required overnight accommodation and a meeting space in Brisbane for an executive business meeting. We contacted Hotel Urban Brisbane and found the service and delivery of product at a very high standard. It was a convenient and quiet location and exactly what we were after. Thank you to the team at Hotel Urban.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank findlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Findlife

Thanks for choosing us for your business meeting, we know how important it is for these things to run smoothly, so it’s great to hear that our facilities and team delivered on all fronts. I hope the lovely views from our meeting rooms didn’t distract you too much from your meeting though!

We hope 2014 brings you great success.

Kind regards

Craig Bradbery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

2nd time staying here , last time was business shirt stay overnight so had standard room , but drinks in the bar overlooking Roma street parklands in the evening is lovely . This time chose the Sweet package front room 1 bedroom apartment with sweeping views over the balcony. ! Had a late lunch in the restaurant before a relaxing afternoon on the balcony reading the paper . Loved then Nespresso machine and additional milk is always hard to come by in any hotel .

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Lisemare72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Hello Lismare

Thanks for staying with us for a second time and we’re so glad you got to kick back and relax a little this time in one of our lovely suites. We hope to see you again in the new year.

Kind Regards

Craig Bradbery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Our experience was great. It was great value for money.Great pool and spa area. Our night included breakfast ,car parking and late checkout . Room service was reasonably priced as was the restaurant downstairs and great food. Room was good size with comfortable king bed. Appreciated balcony , bath, bathrobes and free foxtel. Location was great . We would recommend this hotel and be glad to return. Only suggestion need price list for bar fridge and food and Christmas decorations.
Be warned carpark would be a challenge for large vehicles due to structural restrictions but good security.
If package doesn't include breakfast can order breakfast at cheap prices and then have what you want e.g.. eggs benedict etc.

Room Tip: Higher rooms better view ,request park view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsHoliday65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Mrs Holiday

We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay, it certainly sounds like you made maximum use of all the fantastic Urban facilities. We’re revamping our mini bar selection in January so we’ll make sure the new price lists are easy to find and I’m sure you’ll love our new breakfast menu which just launched this week.

From all of us at Hotel Urban Brisbane, have a wonderful festive season!

Warm regards

Craig Bradbery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I have read a few mixed reviews about The Urban but I would recommend it to anyone looking at a reasonable priced hotel in Brisbane. The location of the hotel is very good, just a short 5 minute walk to the City Hall and Central Business District. We had a good sized studio/room overlooking the park opposite the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful with advice about getting around Brisbane. My main criticism of the hotel is the lack of free wi-fi - a must for anyone travelling from abroad.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyCaddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Hi Andy

Thanks for your positive feedback about our friendly Urban team, it’s so nice to hear that we made a difference to your stay. Whilst we do still charge a modest access fee for WiFi use, we are looking at ways to include this in some of our packages and rates so that we can make it easier and more affordable for those guests that need to use WiFi.

Kind Regards

Craig Bradbery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel is really not much of a hotel. Many of the staff dont appear to give a damn about their work. This was shown by the checkin staff not telling me basic things like where breakfast is in the morning.
-The parking lot is appauling!!!
- Mini bar was hardly stocked and there was no price list.
- There was only half a roll of toilet paper when I first entered the room with no spares.
- Smaller things like the curtain was not opened when the room was made.
-breakfast took around 30 minuites to make eggs when there were VERY FEW (almost no one else) in the reasturant. Also, they still got it wrong!

All in all - I hated this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank howiesachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Howard

Further to the email which I have already sent you, I want to once again offer my apologies as the service you experienced on this stay was far from the normal friendly and efficient service we pride ourselves on providing our guests.

I do hope that you accept my offer to stay with us again as I know we can do much better and turn you into a loyal fan of Hotel Urban Brisbane.

Kind regards
Craig Bradbery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

The staff and very friendly and the room was lovely however we did feel that we over paid. We paid extra for the "romance package" which included a bottle of bubbly which turned out to be disgusting (so sickly sweet I couldn't finish a glass.) some chocolates and some massage oil we never opened. We would have been better off saving the money and just buying our own bottle. The location was very good. Close enough to walk into town - far enough away to escape from the crowds.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Clairesom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Claire

I am sorry to hear that you did not feel our Romance Package provided value for money. We will be making some changes to our packages in the new year, so I appreciate your feedback.

It’s great to hear that you loved our rooms and thank you for your kind words about our friendly team.

Please contact me directly if you would like to stay with us again so that I can arrange for a much nicer bottle of bubbly to be chilled and waiting in your room.

Kind regards
Craig Bradbery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
0.3 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#14 of 168 in Brisbane
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#28 of 168 in Brisbane
451 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#18 of 168 in Brisbane
403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brisbane
Novotel Brisbane
#39 of 168 in Brisbane
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban Brisbane

Address: 345 Wickham Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#44 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £69 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Urban Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Urban Brisbane. More than a hotel…Enjoy an accommodation experience with a difference. Hotel Urban Brisbane offers more than your typical hotel with more comfort, more indulgence and more inspiration. Situated close to Brisbane’s city centre, Hotel Urban Brisbane is an impressive, architecturally designed space, which features stunning views across the city skyline. A contemporary combination of modern comfort and designer chic, Hotel Urban Brisbane’s focus is on helping you kick-back and unwind in style. With ultra-comfy rooms and special perks, you’ll adore chilling-out in a striking space that will awaken your senses and leave you feeling rejuvenated.Whether you are staying with us for business or for leisure you’ll just love our rooms, designed with your comfort in mind. You’ll find numerous creature comforts including a cordless phone, comfy Slow Down Slippers, Tie Me Up Tightly Bathrobes and our fabulous Urban Snorer (the comfiest bed ever!). Plus, all our rooms have access to fresh air with their own private patio or walk-out balcony – perfect for appreciating the stunning Brisbane city skyline.Hotel Urban Brisbane will also tempt you with an awesome eatery. The Gazebo Bar & Restaurant experience is one for the foodies, offering a fusion of inner-city sophistication and innovative modern dishes. If staying in is your thing, try our lighter "In Room Dining" menu – sure to get the taste buds going! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Urban Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Urban Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing