We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Ranked #47 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

First, the beds. They were so comfortable we woke up well rested every day. I believe they take great pride in their beds as guests also have the option of actually buying the beds and beddings home (check the 'urban snorer' pamphlet on the bedside table). They were also pretty large double beds, which is pretty sweet. MILK toiletries, and fluffy bedroom slippers really just add on to the whole wonderful experience.

Location-wise, the hotel is about a 10-15 min walk from the CBD area, which is great if you're not looking for something that's too close to the hustle & bustle of the shopping strip, yet conveniently accessible. It's also really close to the Roma Street train station, which is about a 5 min stroll away and directly accessible from the Airtrain station from Brisbane Intl Airport. You do have to climb a flight of steps to get to the station though, so it may be a tad cumbersome if you're lugging your luggage to the station.

Downside, no free wifi, which is pretty much the case in many hotels in Australia. Wifi is charged at AUD10 for 24 hours for a maximum of 4 devices and download limit of 1GB. You can get it if you need it, but many cafes in the CBD do offer free wifi. There's also a public wifi you can tap on in the CBD area.

The pub/lounge at the entrance seems pretty cool as we did see many people hanging out there almost every night. And these were pretty well-dressed and classy-looking people, not the seedy kind you don't want hanging around your hotel.

And everybody's talked about the magazines and perfume you can use at the counter, but there's also fresh fruit you can grab off a glass bowl at the counter. As well as iced fruit-water at the side of the counter which you can fill your bottle with to help with your daily Vitamin C fix.

Room service was ok, though there was one day when the trash wasn't emptied and the towels didn't look fresh.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanerific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Urban Brisbane
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Thank you to Robin (Duty Manager) for such a seamless check in process as well as all the other staff members. Great service and loyalty is regarded highly at this hotel and it has been a pleasure to stay here on a number of occasions

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Fantastic location, just a short walk into town. The staff are friendly, no matter what time of the day or night it is and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are extremely clean with comfortable beds, fluffy pillows and bathrobes in every room. The toiletries are MILK, the Michael Klim collection, and are lovely.
The food in the restaurant is amazing and so is the room service, which is very speedy. Not too noisy, on a weekend it may be a little noisier, but nothing extreme.
Every room has a balcony and the mini bar is not too badly priced. Wifi is fast and also free computers and printers in the foyer for guest use. The gym is sufficient but beautiful parklands nearby to walk through is a better option.
Free monthly men's and women's magazines in the foyer and also a selection of perfumes on the counter at reception for you to try.
I can't rave enough about this under stated hotel

Room Tip: Any room. They are all great
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peta415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We were two couples staying two nights
The hotel had a great central location
Very pleasant & helpfull staff from the front office to the cleaners
Nice restaurant (under pressure at times)
A very pleasant way to explore Brisbane for the 1st time

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My son and I stayed here for the Rugby test recently, on a visit from Sydney. We arrived to a warm and welcoming check in. There are neat designer toiletries on offer at check in for a timely olfactory spruce up, I chose the Calvin Klein offering. The public spaces are clean, modern and very "of the time". Our room was slick, clean and contemporary. The room with two double beds was most accommodating in size, splendour and cleanliness. The beds were desperately comfy, the bathroom adequate, with decent toiletries and bath linen. We had a good sized shower with robes on offer in the wardrobe. The TV was a good quality flat screen 48cm approx. with a smattering of cable options. There is a mini bar with very reasonably priced beverages as well as room service refreshments from 6am - 10pm. The walk down Wickham terrace to Queen street mall in the centre of Brissie is all of 10mins downhill. In the other direction towards Suncorp stadium the walk is a 20min stroll. All in all this hotel is no 5 star luxury gem, moreover, they don't purport to be. This is a decent, modern, clean and commodious property punching well above a 3++star rating giving exceptional value and quality; it should be seriously considered for a satisfying Brisbane city sojourn.

Room Tip: ask for a park facing room
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claude c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My family and I stayed here for two nights this week while in Brisbane on business. The price was great through Hotels.com but possibly because of that the room was on the first floor on the darkest, coldest side of the hotel. In the room everything was very clean and well renovated. I guess this brand has a 'funky' reputation and it seemed that this 'funkification' has been attempted - somewhat half-heartedly it seems- in this hotel but not really pulled off. Parts of it just feel old. Beds were very comfortable and no complaints with the furnishings. Staff were super friendly and approachable. Room service food very good. I'd stay again but try to get a room with a slightly brighter outlook!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Our experience didn't start of well, the car park was an absolute jungle and is by far the most impractical car park in Brisbane almost evry car had to dubble park because of the stupid car park lay out, we were in a 08 Holden comodore and found it extremely challenging to maneuver through the parks,

Room service food was average at best and very small and overpriced for the quality of food,

Getting into the elevators and rooms was a struggle as the key cards we were given were very bad and the doors of the rooms and elevators struggled to read them with sometimes taking over a dozen trys to open the doors, we asks staff why this was and they said if you keep your key card by your phone the phone wipes the digital info off your key card, this should have been something the mentioned first

The rooms them self were awesome! very tidy and roomy , toilets and showers were very modern and nice but to small , beds were very comfortable and fairly big, some things were a little frustrating like no cutlery in the rooms and no space in the mini bar for anything

We spent the evening on the very top floor at the Roof top bar called "the loft" this had an amazing panoramic view of Brisbane and was well sized for 60 people (max) the bar was very limited and drinks were rufly $7 each bottles of wine were at ridiculous prices tho $60 for a very average bottle of NZ sav ,finger food was AMASING very taisty and well prepared, over all "the loft" itself was an awesome venue for a 30th birthday party I give it 8.5 out of 10

The next morning we all had the buffet breakfast at the restaurant downstairs, it was nice, had all the usuals there, nothing fancy tho , fruit was freash and the Cookd food was mildly warm, I found it over priced as it was $25 per person

Staff were very helpful and friendly,

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank joshpema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
0.3 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#14 of 168 in Brisbane
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#29 of 168 in Brisbane
451 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#21 of 168 in Brisbane
403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brisbane
Novotel Brisbane
#39 of 168 in Brisbane
2,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban Brisbane

Address: 345 Wickham Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#44 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £69 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Urban Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Urban Brisbane. More than a hotel…Enjoy an accommodation experience with a difference. Hotel Urban Brisbane offers more than your typical hotel with more comfort, more indulgence and more inspiration. Situated close to Brisbane’s city centre, Hotel Urban Brisbane is an impressive, architecturally designed space, which features stunning views across the city skyline. A contemporary combination of modern comfort and designer chic, Hotel Urban Brisbane’s focus is on helping you kick-back and unwind in style. With ultra-comfy rooms and special perks, you’ll adore chilling-out in a striking space that will awaken your senses and leave you feeling rejuvenated.Whether you are staying with us for business or for leisure you’ll just love our rooms, designed with your comfort in mind. You’ll find numerous creature comforts including a cordless phone, comfy Slow Down Slippers, Tie Me Up Tightly Bathrobes and our fabulous Urban Snorer (the comfiest bed ever!). Plus, all our rooms have access to fresh air with their own private patio or walk-out balcony – perfect for appreciating the stunning Brisbane city skyline.Hotel Urban Brisbane will also tempt you with an awesome eatery. The Gazebo Bar & Restaurant experience is one for the foodies, offering a fusion of inner-city sophistication and innovative modern dishes. If staying in is your thing, try our lighter "In Room Dining" menu – sure to get the taste buds going! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Urban Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Urban Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing