We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy neighbour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Ranked #51 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I like this hotel, very comfortable, large and very comfy beds.
Had a noisy neighbour as his room was an adjoining one and we could hear him singing at midnight!
Told reception next morning and they apologised and gave me free coffee. I would stay again but check not an adjoining room.

Beds wonderful!

Room Tip: One without an adjoining room!and high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hurddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just got home after staying this weekend. Great little hotel, modern/ chic layout. Rooms fine, beds very comfy! Ask for high level room for views. All have balcony. Reception and bar staff very helpful. Great little bar out front we used a couple of times and dined in last night as we were exhausted ( hungover)! Great meal if a little over priced. They do a mean eresso matrini that kept me bouncing round fortitude valley until the early hours - better than a power nap! Location of hotel is a
title out of cbd on north side. Walk to south bank in 15 mins or so. Taxi there should be no more than 10.00 but we got totally stung at 22.00 so beware! There is a free bus that does city loop that stops outside of hotel, but runs Monday to Friday only!! Great weekend,would definately return next time in Brisbane.

Room Tip: High floors for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linzi n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided to have a night at Hotel Urban to have a break from the kids and a staycation. It's located in a good spot in Spring Hill just outside the city but an awesome work to Queen st Mall. The rooms and spacious and nice, definitely what's expected of a 4 star hotel. The on site restaurant is nice too. Our only complaint was the room was very noisy. This is despite is being a decent way out of the city, possibly because it is on a hill the noise carried but we struggled with all the noise from the city.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The carpark (for an additional $15 a day) is horrid with innumerable pillars all in the wrong places.

The rooms are clean, but a double and a single for a triple share is being optimistic. It should be a queen. The room is average sized for three. Pillows are thin.

Location is okay to the "CBD" area, but requires and uphill/downhill climb - at least 10 minutes. Roma Parklands are across the road.

Staff are competent and friendly. No problems.

Parking, internet access are all additional. However, I got internet and a bottle of champagne free as part of the deal. Would have swapped the bottle for free parking, if I had the choice.

As noted in my Grand Chancellor review, immediately around the hotel, there is not much. Hospitals, yes. Cafe/bar in the lobby. Indian restaurant somewhere between this hotel and the Grand Chancellor. It is about 3 minutes less walking to the CBD than compared to the Grand Chancellor. Feels newer than the Grand Chancellor. Grand Chancellor's beds/pillows were a tad firmer/more supportive.

Room Tip: Higher rooms, or you get a view of the roofs of surrounding buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank worddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

First, the beds. They were so comfortable we woke up well rested every day. I believe they take great pride in their beds as guests also have the option of actually buying the beds and beddings home (check the 'urban snorer' pamphlet on the bedside table). They were also pretty large double beds, which is pretty sweet. MILK toiletries, and fluffy bedroom slippers really just add on to the whole wonderful experience.

Location-wise, the hotel is about a 10-15 min walk from the CBD area, which is great if you're not looking for something that's too close to the hustle & bustle of the shopping strip, yet conveniently accessible. It's also really close to the Roma Street train station, which is about a 5 min stroll away and directly accessible from the Airtrain station from Brisbane Intl Airport. You do have to climb a flight of steps to get to the station though, so it may be a tad cumbersome if you're lugging your luggage to the station.

Downside, no free wifi, which is pretty much the case in many hotels in Australia. Wifi is charged at AUD10 for 24 hours for a maximum of 4 devices and download limit of 1GB. You can get it if you need it, but many cafes in the CBD do offer free wifi. There's also a public wifi you can tap on in the CBD area.

The pub/lounge at the entrance seems pretty cool as we did see many people hanging out there almost every night. And these were pretty well-dressed and classy-looking people, not the seedy kind you don't want hanging around your hotel.

And everybody's talked about the magazines and perfume you can use at the counter, but there's also fresh fruit you can grab off a glass bowl at the counter. As well as iced fruit-water at the side of the counter which you can fill your bottle with to help with your daily Vitamin C fix.

Room service was ok, though there was one day when the trash wasn't emptied and the towels didn't look fresh.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanerific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Thank you to Robin (Duty Manager) for such a seamless check in process as well as all the other staff members. Great service and loyalty is regarded highly at this hotel and it has been a pleasure to stay here on a number of occasions

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Fantastic location, just a short walk into town. The staff are friendly, no matter what time of the day or night it is and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are extremely clean with comfortable beds, fluffy pillows and bathrobes in every room. The toiletries are MILK, the Michael Klim collection, and are lovely.
The food in the restaurant is amazing and so is the room service, which is very speedy. Not too noisy, on a weekend it may be a little noisier, but nothing extreme.
Every room has a balcony and the mini bar is not too badly priced. Wifi is fast and also free computers and printers in the foyer for guest use. The gym is sufficient but beautiful parklands nearby to walk through is a better option.
Free monthly men's and women's magazines in the foyer and also a selection of perfumes on the counter at reception for you to try.
I can't rave enough about this under stated hotel

Room Tip: Any room. They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peta415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
0.3 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#63 of 170 in Brisbane
1,638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#38 of 170 in Brisbane
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#55 of 170 in Brisbane
945 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brisbane
Novotel Brisbane
#43 of 170 in Brisbane
2,665 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#30 of 170 in Brisbane
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban Brisbane

Address: 345 Wickham Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#44 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#46 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £59 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Urban Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Urban Brisbane. More than a hotel…Enjoy an accommodation experience with a difference. Hotel Urban Brisbane offers more than your typical hotel with more comfort, more indulgence and more inspiration. Situated close to Brisbane’s city centre, Hotel Urban Brisbane is an impressive, architecturally designed space, which features stunning views across the city skyline. A contemporary combination of modern comfort and designer chic, Hotel Urban Brisbane’s focus is on helping you kick-back and unwind in style. With ultra-comfy rooms and special perks, you’ll adore chilling-out in a striking space that will awaken your senses and leave you feeling rejuvenated.Whether you are staying with us for business or for leisure you’ll just love our rooms, designed with your comfort in mind. You’ll find numerous creature comforts including a cordless phone, comfy Slow Down Slippers, Tie Me Up Tightly Bathrobes and our fabulous Urban Snorer (the comfiest bed ever!). Plus, all our rooms have access to fresh air with their own private patio or walk-out balcony – perfect for appreciating the stunning Brisbane city skyline.Hotel Urban Brisbane will also tempt you with an awesome eatery. The Gazebo Bar & Restaurant experience is one for the foodies, offering a fusion of inner-city sophistication and innovative modern dishes. If staying in is your thing, try our lighter "In Room Dining" menu – sure to get the taste buds going! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Urban Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Urban Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing