We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and close to everything in Brisbane city.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
George Williams Hotel
Ranked #66 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Just a few blocks from the top of the mall in Brisbane, Hotel George Williams is our choice when in Brisbane. It's always clean and reasonably priced, the rooms are mostly small but very modern and well appointed with plenty of storage/hanging space and sometimes even a bath. I especially like the fact that there's always two chairs and a table for eat in meals so no-one has to sit on the bed like in so many places. The location is excellent and everything in inner Brisbane is a short walk away. As it's on a major street, it is safe to walk to at night. In house restaurant is very good and reasonably priced with well humoured staff. Bottle shop across the road and 7/11 next door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath if you like to relax after a big days shopping or sightseeing. Higher roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElizabethMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

Pros - Great location, low price, friendly staff. Cons - bit noisy, not totally clean-looking.
For a cheap stay on my own to watch the rugby this hotel was perfect - perfectly happy although I'm not sure I'd stay with my family given it can be a bit noisy in the corridors and carpets etc look a bit grubby.

Room Tip: Some rooms are tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Great position, perfect for the price , very clean,close to everything,bed was comfortable,good service, great for a few days in the city.Thanks to Dylan and Matthew who were very helpful.The personalised key card security, good price - recommended.

Room Tip: corner suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veraj05051949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Great position,perfect for the price,very clean,close to everything,bed was comfortable, good service ,great for few days in the city.Thanks to Dylan and Matthew who were very helpful.The personalised key card security,good price -recommended.

Room Tip: Corner suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veraj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I couldn't believe I booked this hotel through a travel agent, to use a credit I had with them. False economy and bad move. It all made sense however when we noticed the YMCA sign on top of the building. The renamed Hotel George Williams is not what it seems.
A small but modern reception area, long waits for the only working lift and clearly one or two rooms or maybe even floors done up to reflect the photos on the website, but not the NZ$180 a night room I had.
A nice handy location, but thats where it ends. The room was grotty, dingy, small and disjointed. The bathroom was revolting.
I was at a loss as to why accommodation in Brisbane CBD is so horribly expensive compared to NZ, obviously just to rip off travellers. I have travelled the world, booking on various sites such as booking.com, venere, wotif and despite occasional reservations, always been absolutely happy, but I would not recommend this place at all.
Only once before I have been given accommodation that was absolutely so different than that viewed on websites ....dishonest advertising - irks me big time, but not something I've encountered often.

Room Tip: if you're wanting lower end pricing, good location and nothing else this is your place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KiwiKerry53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We booked through wotif and the price was about right (wouldn't like to pay rack rate). The photos on the website show spacious rooms and talk about modern décor! This is not what you get. I have travelled and stayed in hotels all over Aus for 25 years and this was definitely the smallest and most cramped space I have seen. The view from the 1metre square non opening window was of an alleyway- very uninspiring. This hotel has so much potential, its location is perfect, and the staff were friendly. The good - location location location. The bad - tiny rooms, no fresh air, the only thing smaller than the room was the entrance to the carpark. I would pay a bit more next time and get some room and air!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pagey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Hotel has decent location.
We arrived at 20.20 at the hotel after a long flight. We saw the inhouse restaurant had a special meat deal on and we were asked if we would like to dine there. It seemed a good idea. The reservation desk said they would look after luggage and we should go straight to restaurant as it would be closing shortly. We went straight through without going to our room but was tokld the restaurant was no closed - time 20.25pm !! I went back to reception to mention no service in restaurant and receptionists asked whether we would like a casino recommended to us !
Very disappointing this is a city centre hotel but this was very poor service for its guests.
When we finally reached our room - it was very small with hardly enough room to move around the bed. Furnishings were clean and modern though.
Conclusion pretty disappointed and worst hotel of our entire 6 week trip to S Africa, Australia and USA

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ItsAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.0 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#62 of 168 in Brisbane
1,583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#57 of 168 in Brisbane
1,734 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Hotel
#75 of 168 in Brisbane
1,449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#11 of 168 in Brisbane
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Williams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Williams Hotel

Address: 317 - 325 George St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £58 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — George Williams Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George Williams Hotel has undergone an extensive, $2.5 million dollar refurbishment of all 103 room. Offering visitors to Brisbane an affordable contemporary accommodation. Located in the heart of the Brisbane CBD (Central Business District), George Williams Hotel is just a 5-minute walk to Roma Street Train Station, Treasury Casino and the shops and boutiques of the famous Queen Street Mall. George Williams Hotel is a 15-minute walk from Southbank Parklands which features the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, and QLD Museum. Suncorp Stadium is also just a 15-minute walk away. All rooms at George Williams Hotel include TV and en suite bathrooms. Each room is equipped with a work desk, refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities. Reception is open 24 hours. The hotel offers daily breakfast packages, available 7 days a week. The on-site restaurant, 325 on George, offers casual indoor and outdoor dining, and features a variety of international dishes. Guests can enjoy a wide selection of beers and wines at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your George Williams Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Williams Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing