We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean but tired”
Review of Sapphire Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sapphire Resort
Ranked #143 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good location, clean but tired”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Helpful staff, reasonable value but needs an upgrade. This is a 70's style motel and reasonably priced so I guess you get what you pay for. The location is central to shops and easy transport links to the city. Free parking available

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    39
    53
    20
    24
See reviews for
13
52
17
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This motel is fine if you are just looking for somewhere to lay your head at a good rate. It is walking distance to South Bank and also is in a trendy cafe / restaurant area.
The room smelt bad when I arrived, airing did it some good.
The bed was large enough for one person, and the room was ok for one, though two people might have been tripping over each other. It was good to have a fridge available.
The shower was adequate, the bathroom was 'surface clean' but could do with a really good spring clean.
I didn't use the pool, it did not look too appealing.
The staff were efficient both at check in and check out.
The $150 deposit for the key is unusual, but I knew about it in advance and had no problem with the refund upon departure.
There are no lifts, but their is secure parking on-site.
Unfortunately there were roadworks happening at night time when I stayed there, so I didn't sleep that well.
Basically, you get what you pay for, and in this respect I would use this motel again as somewhere cheap to stay in a great area where everything else is quite expensive!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FleurP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Clean and tidy, great place to stay if you are planning a night out in West End.
Nothing flash but comfortable and good location. Good free off street parking too and under cover. A group of us stayed and all were pretty happy with the location and the sleep quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Decent enough room (306), a bit worn & tired but at their weekday rate (99 bucks), can't fault it.
Nice little balcony, tea & coffee facility in room.
Downside is that there's no lift, and a maze-like open air foyer system.
Walking distance to West End restaurants (7 minutes), which are again good value.
For a more upmarket dining experience walk down to South Bank (12 mins).
City can be reached by bus No 60 (city glider) that stops within a couple of hundred metres from the hotel.
Overall recommended for a value stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rekaoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A group of three of us stayed here for one night, each in single rooms. The location is great, near excellent and diverse food and cultural outlets. And it's less expensive than anything else in this neighborhood. But it's really a motel, not a resort at all. The front desk is not staffed overnight so if you need something or there is a problem, you are probably out of luck. Don't loose your key, which may be difficult since they are huge, old style keys (you don't see that much anymore). And you have to leave a $75 key deposit! However, they only charged a single deposit for the three rooms. Anyway, minimal amenities, kind of low budget in terms of quality but we just needed a place to sleep and then get up early for a flight.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulDresher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Sapphire Resort does not have a 24hour reception. One of my colleagues did not realise this when she left her key at the reception one morning. When she arrived back after 10.30pm the reception had closed. We tried calling and SMSing the emergency number on the reception door more than ten times between 11pm and 12am, but there was no response. At midnight, we realised that the emergency number provided on the outer door was different, so we tried calling and SMSing this other number several times. Still, there was no response. In the end we gave up and my colleague slept on the floor of the room another male colleague and I were sharing. If she had been travelling alone she would have had nowhere to sleep, especially because most hotels in Brisbane were fully booked that week. Someone has suggested that the best option would have been to call the Police. The next day, the hotel refunded her for that night and apologised for a 'technical problem' with the emergency contact number(s?). The management need to make sure that this never happens again, ideally by having a 24hour reception.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Benjamin_S_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

As others have mentioned, this is neither a resort nor a jewel.
We stayed there when Brisbane hotels were full and expensive due to the Lions tour (June 2013),
Hotel was one of the cheaper ones for that weekend and good value relative to the others in Brisbane which were all gouging tourists.
Clean and reasonably comfortable and well located for Westend restaurants etc.
There is also free parking on site.

This is no frills accommodation.
Rooms a bit tired.
No reception after 10 pm and a threat of a $50 call out fee if you lose your key.
Did not affect us but the computer with internet was not working while we were there.
We had to ask for towels after the cleaner left us with none on the second day
Fine if you are on a budget but do not expect a resort or a sapphire

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Central Cosmo Apartments
Central Cosmo Apartments
#75 of 159 in Brisbane
151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Regis North Quay Hotel
0.1 mi away
West End Central Apartments
West End Central Apartments
#28 of 129 in Brisbane
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
South Central
South Central
#70 of 129 in Brisbane
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Capitol Apartments
The Capitol Apartments
#21 of 129 in Brisbane
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Botanica Residences
Botanica Residences
#61 of 129 in Brisbane
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Resort

Property: Sapphire Resort
Address: 5 Brereton Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sapphire Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing