We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Sapphire Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sapphire Resort
Ranked #143 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Don't know whether the pure stench of pine o clean, zero reception on the tv or the fact I found bed bugs was the best part out of my stay at this "resort". Only lasted 2 nights and I was out of there.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mae lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    39
    53
    20
    24
See reviews for
13
52
17
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

As a disabled person we arrived to find both parks taken by non-permit holders. Them embarked on a journey of epic proportions up 3 flights of stairs with lock on every door, ironically making this place safe.Beds left over from medieval torture chamber made for a VERY rough night. Not helped by intermittent TV reception. On a positive not great ocean sounds, oh wait delusional from no sleep that's traffic!!

Has hot shower, plumbed toilets and is clean and BASIC!!

Should be named more aptly named "Last Resort".

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lachie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Got to this place yesterday for work. Guy on desk was not friendly in the slightest. The room was terrible: air con hardly worked, tv terrible, bed on a slant, bathroom and balcony dirty. It felt like a terrible backpackers. Unsavoury characters were already on their balconies at 5pm drunk and partying. I felt really unsafe.

I travelled Oz last year in a caravan and stayed in some pretty remote and weird motels so I'm not usually too precious, but this one, I just could not handle.

Forfeited my money and left to stay in an apartment down the road.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Not the greatest accomodation around but it was easily the cheapest in the area so I had low expectations to begin with, stayed here for 3 nights but after one night had to move rooms as our room had an overwhelming rotten carpet smell that made it very uncomfortable to be in. Kudos to the manager for quickly moving us but the room possibly shouldn't have been sold to us in the frirst place? the location is great with the fantastic southbank parklands a 5 minute walk away and the cbd 10 minutes away. the single room we had was rather small and hard to move around the bathroom was nice enough, and clean but overall everything was a bit run down and the pool was pretty dodgy looking which is probably why I never saw anyone in it the three days I was there. Overall I wasn't disappointed with Sapphire Resort but I can't really recommend it to anyone unless you're on a very tight budget or desperately need somewhere to stay in South Bank

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cozza22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

There are many places in Brisbane that are cheap and clean. Please do yourself a favor and never stay here. I write alot of reviews having stayed at many hotels and this is the first time I have given a bad one.
Whether it be the poor service, the smells, the bed bugs in the sheets I stress do not stay here I have looked around and there are much better places in Brisbane for around the same price. The location is good but what you will find as others have said for such a poor quality hotel one does not expect to pay a security "key" deposit especially when you are rubbing shoulders with the
quality of the people that are clearly permanant residents of this "resort"
This place was supposed to be just a bed and a shower for us but the experience ruined a sleep for us. We witnessed a drug deal and thought wow why did we not listen to our gut instinct and choose elsewhere. 1 night from hell

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AccomodationAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gympie
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Booked here with a bit of apprehension due to some of the reviews.. There was very little accommodation available at the time (due to the 1st Cricket Test at the Gabba). However, we were very happy with our stay. Room was comfortable, staff very friendly and obliging. Paid the $150 security deposit in cash which was refunded when we left. Good, free undercover parking and best of all within walking distance to the Concerts we went to at QPAC.

We didn't eat at the Restaurant, I unfortunately had an infected tooth, which prevented me from eating. However, my partner enjoyed T Bone steak in the Café Briz?, also on site. There is also a kitchen with microwave, toaster etc and laundry downstairs for the use of guests.

Left the car in the secure carpark and used the bus system, stops only minutes away.

I would recommend the Sapphire for comfortable budget accommodation and we will be back.

Room Tip: No lifts so choose what suits your fitness level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MooballGympie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Everyone agrees it is not a resort, but it's not too bad either. It is very good value for the location, just walk across the river to the city (only 1.5k to Myer), 3 minutes to supermarket, lots of great restaurants in easy walking distance. We found the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms were adequate with a balcony that is just big enough for two to sit on (take chairs from inside), could have been cleaner but was acceptable. One or two nights would be fine if you are not too picky. Bed was OK, no mini bar, air-con a bit noisy but more like white noise rather than really annoying. Secure parking a bonus, some under cover but not all. Stairs only, no lifts. We will stay here again because of the price and location. It could be a great hotel if more attention was given to cleaning and rooms were updated. Didn't use pool or onsite restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaricAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.5 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#33 of 159 in Brisbane
2,048 reviews
0.1 mi away
West End Central Apartments
West End Central Apartments
#26 of 128 in Brisbane
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
South Central
South Central
#73 of 128 in Brisbane
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Capitol Apartments
The Capitol Apartments
#22 of 128 in Brisbane
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Botanica Residences
Botanica Residences
#61 of 128 in Brisbane
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Resort

Property: Sapphire Resort
Address: 5 Brereton Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sapphire Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing