We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE MANANGER & HOTEL”
Review of Sapphire Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sapphire Resort
Ranked #151 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My partner stayed at the hotel 3 days ago. He said it wasn't much of a hotel and that he had stayed in better in small country towns. They took $150.00 dollars as quick as lightning from our bank account as a security deposit. We have stayed in many top hotels all over the world and have never had the security deposit actually taken from our bank account. Any hotel only takes an imprint of your credit card, that's all that's needed. It's been 3 days now and we have not received our $150.00 refund back into our account. The manager offers no apology for this. Instead keeps insisting it is the banks fault. There is no hold up with my bank, it's only waiting to receive. It's not a good situation and one that should not happen.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Karyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Sapphire Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Clean, comfortable and close to places I needed to go to while I was in Brisbane. The downside is that it's quite basic and the layout of the place makes carrying luggage a real hassle. I would hesitate in calling this a resort; it's more accurately described as a motel. I didn't get a chance to try out the pool, though. Very friendly staff

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pondo873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Sapphire Resort last night and were not disappointed. The room was spacious and quiet and the staff very helpful. We also took advantage of the undercover secure parking (not all spaces are undercover). There is a small balcony, a bar fridge, hairdryer, very useful bench for our bags, a sink and tea and coffee-making. We took an afternoon stroll around the West End shops and the interesting weekend market. In the evening we walked the 200 metres to catch the bus on Melbourne Street to QPAC for a ballet performance. It is definitely 3-star and probably would have rated a little higher in its heyday. We have already booked a return visit on booking.com which does not charge for the service. By the way, breakfast at Cafe Britz was first class.

Room Tip: As there is no elevator ask to have the first or second floor and access your room from the front e...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We were a little apprehensive to book here after a couple of bad reviews but if you look at these carefully most of these have only 1 review in their history, to which I always treat with suspicion.

The place is not really a resort more of a standard motel. Whilst it is a little dated, the room we stayed in was clean and everything worked in it. I found others staying here to be quiet and pleasant other than a little early morning noise on Sunday morning pretty quiet.

The location is a real plus for this place. You can walk everywhere, coles is not far and you are on the doorstep of some trendy cafés and restaurants. I walked to Southbank and only 15 mins walk to Brisbane CBD.

We had dinner in the on site chinese restaurant and found it to be good chinese food at a great value.

We didn't go anywhere near the pool, and personally Im not really a pool person and there is so much else to do around here.

Essentially you get what you pay for, so its clean but basic but at a great location. We struggled to justify the hefty prices other places around this area are charging so with that in mind it is a good budget option.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Don't know whether the pure stench of pine o clean, zero reception on the tv or the fact I found bed bugs was the best part out of my stay at this "resort". Only lasted 2 nights and I was out of there.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Mae lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

As a disabled person we arrived to find both parks taken by non-permit holders. Them embarked on a journey of epic proportions up 3 flights of stairs with lock on every door, ironically making this place safe.Beds left over from medieval torture chamber made for a VERY rough night. Not helped by intermittent TV reception. On a positive not great ocean sounds, oh wait delusional from no sleep that's traffic!!

Has hot shower, plumbed toilets and is clean and BASIC!!

Should be named more aptly named "Last Resort".

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Lachie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Got to this place yesterday for work. Guy on desk was not friendly in the slightest. The room was terrible: air con hardly worked, tv terrible, bed on a slant, bathroom and balcony dirty. It felt like a terrible backpackers. Unsavoury characters were already on their balconies at 5pm drunk and partying. I felt really unsafe.

I travelled Oz last year in a caravan and stayed in some pretty remote and weird motels so I'm not usually too precious, but this one, I just could not handle.

Forfeited my money and left to stay in an apartment down the road.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Kristal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.6 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#102 of 168 in Brisbane
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.5 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#34 of 168 in Brisbane
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parkview Apartments
Parkview Apartments
#32 of 136 in Brisbane
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
West End Central Apartments
West End Central Apartments
#31 of 136 in Brisbane
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Botanica Residences
Botanica Residences
#64 of 136 in Brisbane
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Resort

Address: 5 Brereton Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sapphire Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing