We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Urban Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingsford Smith Motel
Ranked #6 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Nice Urban Motel”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This is a very accessible motel. Free parking, and we liked the convenience to the airport. Also, appreciated the friendly advice by staff on how best to go downtown. (The CityCat boat dock is a short walk away.) The room was basic but comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HK_Observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    127
    43
    6
    5
See reviews for
87
185
33
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 5 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This hotel was good value. Lovely clean room with excellent bedding close to the airport.
A very good plus was the management who were extremely accommodating..even supplying a bandaid for blistered feet:)
Will def be booking this hotel on my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jubillee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

After a few weeks in Queensland, we handed back our hire car and spent a couple of days at this motel. We were impressed by the quality and cleanliness of our room. The bathroom was absolutely spotless and all fitments of a very high quality. We had a back room ovelooking the car park. The wooden "plantation shutters" on the windows are very nice and are a feature of the room. It was good to find the hotel had an elevator as that made it convenient for moving our large and heavy bags. We didn't use any in-house services, so can't comment. I tend not to notice Internet access in Australian hotels now. I've given up on them totally - nearly always too expensive or unreliable and use a 3G modem instead. The conditions inside the Motel were not the quietest we've experienced. There was a room near us which either had a defective door closer or a very angry person staying in it, as the door made a colossal bang every time they came and went - which was very late at night and did disturb us on several occasions.
The motel is a convenient walk from the cruise ship terminal, which has several nice restaurants and a movie theatre. It's a little further, about 10 mins in all, to the nearest river ferry terminal at Brett's wharf. The walk is easy though. Just be wary at night on Kingsford Smith Drive - there is some very uneven paving and you could easily trip and fall. The motel has a nice hotel (which does excellent steakhouse style meals) within a few minutes walk, plus several restaurants, all along or close to Kingsford Smith Drive. We dined at a nearby Italian restaurant one night, and it was excellent.
When it came to leaving, the desk staff advised us of the cost of using the shuttle bus vs. the taxi (for us the taxi was much better value) and it was great that they were so honest about this. The DIY taxi phone in the foyer was a bit unusual though - one gets used to the desk ordering a taxi for you.
We had quite a good experience overall with this motel, which I'd researched through Tripadvisor before booking, and overall it was a pleasant and relaxing stay before flying home to Tasmania.

Room Tip: Although the frontrooms are apparently double glazed, the back rooms may be quieter and with less li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Located close to Brisbane Airport this hotel is more than suitable for a transit stop at a reasonable price. The check-in staff were very helpful. The rooms are clean and a good size with a fridge. The hotel is 5 mins walk from Brett’s wharf which is a very pleasant place to have dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CricketGirlDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barooga, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I have stayed in most of the motels on Kingsford Smith Drive, and I think this is the best of the bunch. It is far from the cheapest mind you, but the rooms are immaculate, the beds very comfortable, and they have a mini bar, which is a nice touch I was not expecting. It is not quite as close to the Racecourse Rd precinct as some of the other motels on this strip, but it is only a 5 minute walk. Plus it is only across the road from the new Portside complex, so it is handy to a lot of things in this area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbrown101272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Our ship was set to sail on the 6th, so we flew over from NZ the day before and spent the night here. The location was perfect! Unbeknownst to us prior, we were barely a five minute walk to the wharf! I don't think there was any place closer!

Plenty of restaurant selections locally, but no restaurant on the premises.

Our room was nice and comfortable.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

A very pleasant stay!

We stayed for a web special price of $150 AUD for the two of us. I wouldn't want to pay more.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usakiwimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

This place is great super comfortable king size bed . Great food only short walk/drive down at the port. Easy trip to airport or P&O cruise in morning plus super friendly helpfull managers running the show.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mutts_Nuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
3.8 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
3.3 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 159 in Brisbane
1,063 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Brisbane Airport
Novotel Brisbane Airport
#37 of 159 in Brisbane
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
3.3 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#10 of 159 in Brisbane
613 reviews
2.4 mi away
Brisbane International - Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsford Smith Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsford Smith Motel

Property: Kingsford Smith Motel
Address: 610 Kingsford Smith Dr, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#7 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#10 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
#18 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#28 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsford Smith Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsford Smith Motel offers expert customer service,high quality and comfortable rooms as well as all the nearby restaurants, bars and shops near the picturesque portside wharf, not to forget the Eat Street Markets and Eagle farm racing. We are here to accommodate you the best way we can. We offer 24 hour check in service and a free shuttle to drop you off at the airport and also to the cruise terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kingsford Smith Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsford Smith Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing