We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not sound proof”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingsford Smith Motel
Ranked #6 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
pippigirl
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Definitely not sound proof”
Reviewed 16 October 2008

We booked this hotel for our last night living in Brisbane on our way home to The States because of it's location being near the airport and because they advertised as sound proof and we needed a good nights rest. This place was one of the noisiest hotels I've ever stayed in. We had a neighbor that was so loud we could hear every single word he said on the phone and he had company until 2 a.m. just jibber jabbering, but there were no spare rooms with a wedding group that was staying there. Also, there was a good deal of traffic noise and noise from the back stairwell where we were located. Also, the bed was like a rock!
On the bright side of this hotel though, the staff was very, very nice and helpful. They made great recommendations for food etc. There is a wonderful new, happening area called Wharfside (I think...) two blocks from the hotel with great shops, restaurants and a movie theater. Also there is a beautiful park just across the way that is a great recluse. The in-room breakfast was pricey and pretty standard, but if you've stayed in Australia you know room service is hard to come by, so it was a nice treat before a log trip.

  • Liked — Location and conveniences nearby
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank pippigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    127
    43
    6
    5
See reviews for
87
185
33
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
noosa, qld
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Kingsford Smith Motel as we had an early flight to catch the next day. We stayed in a good sized room with a queen bed. The bed was comfortable and the room was quite modern and very clean. The bathroom was average in size however spotless and well appointed - and the towels were not the normal little sized ones, but larger almost bathsheet sized. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only negative was that there was no restaurant however we were directed to a restaurant just around the corner that was excellent. We have stayed at a few hotels near the airport, and this has been by far the best experience and value yet.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendly staff
  • Disliked — No restaurant
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank magnus1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Kingsford Smith Motel for one night on new years eve. We were going to Gianni's at Portside for the masquerade ball so for this reason the hotel was a great choice as far as location goes because it was only a short walk home for us. It would be very convenient for anyone who needs to be near the airport also.

The rooms are rated as 4 star and I would largely agree with this. They are very clean, of an average size and the bathrooms are a decent size as well. I certainly didn't expect the rooms to be as good as they were considering it is called a "motel" - I think they are more of a "hotel" quality. The owner said that they were even being repainted and revamped in the next two weeks so the rooms should be even nicer in the future.

The staff were amazingly helpful, polite and attentive. They lent us umbrellas because of wet weather - which I thought was very cute! The (husband/wife?) team had a real bed and breakfast style about them and were an absolute pleasure.

Best of all the hotel room only cost us $125 on new years eve! We couldn't believe it! On a night where everyone takes advantage and charges over $300 for even the most basic rooms these guys kept a reasonable price.

I would definitely recommend this motel to others. It was a great find.

  • Liked — Very close to the airport/breakfast creek/portside
  • Disliked — price of breakfast
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunnyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2007

I can recommend this motel if you need accommodation near Brisbane aiport. It is situated on Kingsford Smith Drive, the main road to the airport. We had a spotlesss, king-sized reasonably sized room, furnished basically and similar to Travelodge in the UK. The bathroom was small and had a shower. The owners were extremely helpful, friendly and efficient. The rooms were advertised as being soundproofed and certainly we were not disturbed by the traffic or any aircraft.

The owners of the Motel directed us to a nearby fish restaurant in Nudgee Street for dinner, called Seagrill. It was reasonably priced and we had a good portion of fish and chips.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank Milonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
3.8 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
3.3 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 159 in Brisbane
1,063 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Brisbane Airport
Novotel Brisbane Airport
#37 of 159 in Brisbane
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
3.3 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#10 of 159 in Brisbane
613 reviews
2.4 mi away
Brisbane International - Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsford Smith Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsford Smith Motel

Property: Kingsford Smith Motel
Address: 610 Kingsford Smith Dr, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#7 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#10 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
#18 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#28 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsford Smith Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsford Smith Motel offers expert customer service,high quality and comfortable rooms as well as all the nearby restaurants, bars and shops near the picturesque portside wharf, not to forget the Eat Street Markets and Eagle farm racing. We are here to accommodate you the best way we can. We offer 24 hour check in service and a free shuttle to drop you off at the airport and also to the cruise terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kingsford Smith Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsford Smith Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing