We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed.”
Review of Mantra on Queen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on Queen
Ranked #58 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed in Mantra on Queen in October 2013.We were travelling for 5 weeks and booked good apartments/hotels as this trip was a special holiday.The lady on reception when we arrived was not interested in making eye contact or making a smile.As reception is the first point of welcome this was not a good start .We enquired about WIFI to be told that it would cost $25.This is outrageouse in this day and age.We were told we could use the hotel computer in the lobby but as this is situated beside the reception desk and front door it did not afford us any comfort.American visitors we met were also annoyed at the charge.The bedroom was clean but dull and boring.To cap it all the bar did not open till 4 in the afternoon. This is not a Mantra I would stay in again.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doogue186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraonQueen, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Queen, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear doogue186605,

Firstly, thank you for your review and constructive feedback. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the service encountered upon arrival. As you can see by our recent reviews, this is absolutely not the regular level of service you will see at the hotel, where our team are renowned for providing consistently friendly and helpful service.

We were also disappointed that we were not able to provide you with a better stay due to our Wi-Fi fees. Australia in general is lagging behind the rest of the world in regards to providing free Wi-Fi, however we don't think it will take too much longer for third party providers to supply hotels with a much better deal for themselves and their guests.

Thank you again for your feedback, we always take feedback seriously and use these reviews as opportunities of improving our service.

Kindest Regards,

Stacey Groom
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    377
    211
    79
    37
See reviews for
118
254
52
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Goondiwindi
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Arriving tired after a long journey to be warmly welcomed in a sparkling and beautifully appointed environment is a real treat.
The staff are professional and very helpful.
The room is a pleasure and has a great view.
We will be staying here again.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Belindaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraonQueen, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Queen, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Belindaan,

Thank you kindly for your review. So nice to read that you enjoyed your experience.

We hope to welcome you back to Mantra on Queen the next time you are in Brisbane.

Kindest Regards,

Stacey Groom
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in November and had a tastefully decorated, large room on the 18th floor which was very well equipped - even had a washer / drier (shared with next room) & washing liquid. Staff were very helpful, especially Nick on reception. Although parking is a bit tricky, it is considerably cheaper (A$20) than city car parks that quoted A$70 upwards.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devonian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraonQueen, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Queen, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Devonian B,

Thank you for such great feedback. We're pleased to hear that you found our rooms met your needs perfectly and that our team also looked after you very well. Thank you for mentioning Nick (he is one of our stars) and we'll make sure he receives your comments.

We hope to see you back again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Stacey Groom
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Very pleasantly surprised by the price and the quality of the appointments in the room. We stayed in a hotel style room, which still had everything you needed to prepare a snack or light meal. Microwave, plenty of crockery and cutlery ... even a corkscrew/bottle opener. It is a little tricky to get to Perry Lane if you are not familiar with Brisbane roads in this area. The hotel address is Queen Street, but no entrance there. Also the car park is very tight and there are a few hazards. We found the bed very comfy, linen good quality and the small balcony was perfect for enjoying the city views. Only negative was the noisy housekeeping staff outside our room from about 8 am onwards

Room Tip: The views from the high floors are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaChris09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraonQueen, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Queen, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear AustraliaChris09,

It is always great to be provided with informed feedback from Trip Advisor's top contributors, such as yourself. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay overall and will be sure to pass on your comments to our housekeeping team as a reminder to keep noise levels to a minumum.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Stacey Groom
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orsett, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights, and couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel staff were efficient and helpful. The room was superb, spacious, comfortable, clean with some kitchen facilities and a well needed washing machine/drier. We were quite happy with the position, as all the places we went to were within walking distance. Would most definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraonQueen, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Queen, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Tracy P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mantra on Queen. I am delighted to hear that your stay with us was such an enjoyable experience and I thank you for your kind words about the level of service you encountered throughout the Hotel.

We hope to take care of you again the next time you are in Brisbane.

Kindest Regards,

Stacey Groom
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed for three nights whilst working in Brisbane. Great views and close to all amenities. A shame that the restaurant attached doesn't offer breakfast, but the deli/cafe over the road serves great breakfasts.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and had good views.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraonQueen, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Queen, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Tracy S,

I appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at Mantra on Queen. I'm so pleased we met your needs whilst you were away on business and thank you for highlighting the friendly and helpful nature of our staff.

We hope to see you back next time you are in Brisbane.

Kindest Regards,

Stacey Groom
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here recently and had a great time. Close to Queen St Mall and river. Apartment was very clean and had a great view. Lovely staff on reception and they were very helpful with the questions we had. Will reccommend to all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraonQueen, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Queen, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear OzVagabond,

I am delighted to hear that your stay with us was such an enjoyable experience and I thank you for your kind words about the level of service you encountered from our Reception staff.

It is great to read that you would still stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back soonest.

Kindest Regards,

Stacey Groom
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
#64 of 160 in Brisbane
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane
0.7 mi away
Mantra on Mary
Mantra on Mary
#66 of 160 in Brisbane
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
0.4 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#18 of 160 in Brisbane
401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Richmont Hotel
Mantra Richmont Hotel
#7 of 160 in Brisbane
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Queen

Property: Mantra on Queen
Address: 570 Queen St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Queen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sweeping river or city views just minutes away from the cosmopolitan city centre of Brisbane, Mantra on Queen's central location provides the perfect base to sample local and international restaurants, designer fashion boutiques and the popular Queens Plaza and Queen Street mall shopping precincts. The hotel offers spacious, well-appointed Hotel rooms, One and Two bedroom apartments all with sweeping views across Brisbane city and the Brisbane River. All accommodation features laundry facilities, wifi internet access (fee), cable TV and in-house movies while our one and two bedroom apartments have the added convenience of a full kitchen. Our hotel boasts superior guest services including 24 hour reception, security undercover parking and conference facilities. Leisure facilities onsite include an outdoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and fully equipped gym. Located on Reception level Cook & Co. Bar and Grill is open for breakfast daily. Our city hotel offers the ideal blend of business and leisure just minutes from Brisbane's CBD and just 20 minutes from the Brisbane Airport. The hotel has a strict 'no party' policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra on Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Queen Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing