We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor for the Price”
Review of Mantra on Queen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra on Queen
Ranked #53 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor for the Price”
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Stayed here three nights on business.

The room was poky with very soft dull lighting (which I hate) and a lot of traffic noise from Queen Street. Staff bordering on rude. Something needed to be fixed in the room with two tradies entering while I was changing with the lame excuse, "Oh, we thought the room was empty." For the price it's incredibly bad value and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jem_lonewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    343
    176
    67
    36
See reviews for
101
229
50
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Stayed here while on a business trip in Brisbane. Other then a great view and very helpful staff not much else positive I can say about this place.

The room I had was tiny. I've stayed in hotels in Japan that are known for being small and this was smaller.

There was mold on tiles in bathroom and generally looked like it hadn't been cleaned for a few weeks.

It's also very noisy in the rooms. I was on an upper floor (above the 20th) and could still hear the street noise. Being on a major road every time a emergency vehicle needs to go somewhere it drives past the hotel with sirens going and it is just as loud on top floor as in street.

The bed was so soft it was actually uncomfortable as the matress just seemed to want to swallow you.

Also ate in the restaurant down stairs, the SSS, the steak was good but the ribs tasted boiled rather then BBQ and had very little flavour.

Staff at hotel were very helpful and friendly and as I said the views over the river and city were great. Still not enoughto get me to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vaino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, Yorks
Level Contributor
252 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

We had planned to stay here for four nights we managed two before moving to another hotel, it is more like a back packers hotel then a proper hotel, the reception were friendly but the room was bad, it was old and tired.
The bed was shot, no safe for valuables and the bathroom outdated, our second night we were confronted with insects running all over our bathroom, when I asked reception for something to be done they said do I want to pit down some powder, this I refused so someone appeared with cleaning spray, this just angered the insects.
We asked for extra towels which you can only get from reception which we did but next day these had gone.
All night a party was going on in an adjourning room we complained they stopped for a while and then started again, this time in the corridor.
At 6:00 in the morning we were then woken by a banging on the wall. So we moved hotels.
I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.
After our stay at Mantra in Lorne, it seems the group of hotels are as bad as each other

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — All of it
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prs54fmpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

Myself and three collegues stayed in the mantra for the month of September 2008, each in 1 bedroom apartments.

I have to say there isn't a whole lot bad about this place, it just isn't great either.

The apartments are roomy and are self contained, being able to have a kitchen and washer/dryer is a huge benefit for longer or business stays. Higher rooms will get great views and the hotel is in a really convenient location.

The televisions get patchy reception, the beds are very hard, the internet is extortionately priced and the parking garage may as well be full of land mines with the most ridiculous placing of pillars I have ever seen (including during stays in Africa & India). The rooms are poorly insulated, so lower rooms will suffer form the street noise, and good luck to you if there is a rugby game during your stay because you will not get any sleep as rowdy drunks pass by.

This place is comfortable to stay in, but it may be worth paying the little extra to get a bit more than OK

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank shell_81_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2008

I stayed here one night late July 08. The room was not in great nick e.g. bedspread was stained and the cleaning in the bathroom was perfunctory. I did expect slightly better quality for the money. The windows in our room opened, which is great for a bit of fresh air and the aircon was quiter than at many hotels I've experienced. Location is very good, handy to the river front, supermarket and there's a really great cafe next door too. Staff at the front desk were helpful and let a friend of ours park their car for downstairs for a few hours without charging. Would stay here again but only if I got a better deal on the room rate.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Standards of decor and housekeeping
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LaundryQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

I have stayed more than once at the Manta (formerly International Pacific Apartments) because they are comfortable and central apartments.

All that has changed, is the name change over is the back of front desk and the naming on the building.

if you're in Brisbane for a few nights it was a Woolworths across the road and you can cater for yourself - avoiding several nights of room service. It's also easy to walk anywhere you need to in the area.

My main gripe with the Hotel is their taxi management attitude. They are positioned with an unconventional rear access which is not on Queen st. This means most taxi's don't know how to get into the hotel.

Furthermore, the staff have a public phone and take no interest or responsibility for your getting a taxi. When I travel it's one of the most important things. Considering another guest waited 2.5 hours for a cab with three staff members doing nothing on the front desk it doesn't say much. At another hotel, I recall a staff member drove me somewhere after an hour in their own car and they have my business after five years.

In balance I'd shop around for another hotel if you expect to be anywhere in a hurry.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — their taxi system
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank imagosumlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2008

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment with another couple. Nicely appointed, comfortable serviced accommodation. On quite a busy intersection in town, but no noise. Woolworths supermarket right next door. Approx 12 minutes walk into town, or take a bit longer and walk along the riverfront walkway. Nice restaurants within 10 minutes walk on the riverfront.

All in all a good Brisbane base. Watch out for their covered car park though - it is very tight! Cost A$15.00 per day.

  • Liked — Apartment style. Location
  • Disliked — Car park!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane
0.3 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#49 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra on Mary
Mantra on Mary
#65 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Richmont Hotel
Mantra Richmont Hotel
#12 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
#57 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Queen

Property: Mantra on Queen
Address: 570 Queen St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Queen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sweeping river or city views just minutes away from the cosmopolitan city centre of Brisbane, Mantra on Queen's central location provides the perfect base to sample local and international restaurants, designer fashion boutiques and the popular Queens Plaza and Queen Street mall shopping precincts. The hotel offers spacious, well-appointed Hotel rooms, One and Two bedroom apartments all with sweeping views across Brisbane city and the Brisbane River. All accommodation features laundry facilities, wifi internet access (fee), cable TV and in-house movies while our one and two bedroom apartments have the added convenience of a full kitchen. Our hotel boasts superior guest services including 24 hour reception, security undercover parking and conference facilities. Leisure facilities onsite include an outdoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and fully equipped gym. Located downstairs guests will find Cook & Co. Bar and Grill, showcasing locally sourced produce from land and sea using an array of cooking techniques with a significant spot light on our char grill. Our city hotel offers the ideal blend of business and leisure just minutes from Brisbane's CBD and just 20 minutes from the Brisbane Airport. The hotel has a strict 'no party' policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Queen Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing